We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I place to enjoy and trust”
Review of Riad Ghemza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Ghemza
Ranked #283 of 1,145 Marrakech B&B and Inns
La Coruna, Spain
1 review
“I place to enjoy and trust”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I had a very pleasant stay at Riad Ghemza. The decor, comfort and VERY friendly service, not only of the owner Fabien, but also the lady that serves breakfast and cleans the rooms, makes all the difference. Fabien really goes the extra mile to serve and orient his guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
103
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Riad Ghemza was a most pleasurable stay, it's located near the Souks/Medina and some fantastic restaurants. Fabians and his wife were our wonderful hosts. Before we arrived to the Riad, he sent us some informative ifnormation to prepare us for the trip. Additionally, he arranged for a taxi for 7 of us. We arrived, and the rooms were absolutely immaculate. Breakfast was served at the time of our chosing. Fabian took the time to tell us where all of the sites were, as well as personally escorting us to some amazing Morrocan restaurants.

The best part of the trip was when Fabian arranged for us to go to the beautiful beaches of Essaouira. He listened very attentively to what we wanted to do, and assisted us into making a plan for the second part of the trip (we were a large group and could not come to an agreement as to what we wanted to do, so once we were done discussing, he prososed an idea that would suit all of our needs). He had the taxi come and pick us up, and the driver stay with us all day. We made plenty of stops along the way to eat and shop.

Fabian also warned us of the merchants in the market, when in doubt, we would wait until the end of the day...take Fabian back with us to see if we were getting a "good deal" or being ripped off. He told us when to walk away, or would bargain on our behalf.

I highly recommend Riad Ghemza. The reason why it is low on the list of rankings, is because it is still fairly new on the map. Fabian and his wife renovated the Riad, constructed and remodeled it into what it is today. They commute between France and Morroco.

Chose the Riad, you will NOT be disappointed!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eunice175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pesaro, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Very good location, close to the souks and the main square.
Fabien has been a fantastic host, available all the time to any kind of request and information needed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The Riad is a fantastic place to stay for all types of travellers, with its great location (just North of the Souks - do not listen to Google Maps!) and beautifully furbished Morrocan-style rooms. Most importantly, the wonderful host Fabien was there to answer all our questions and once even took us to a restaurant that we could not find on the map! Amina the housekeeper made all the guests a beautiful breakfast every morning. All at a great value for money. Highly recommended! Tom and Rina.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The Riad was Close enough to the souks and the main square to get stuck into the action, but far away enough to relax in peace after a hard days haggling. The hospitality from Fabien, Amina and Fatima was amazing. On our first day, Fabien gave us all the info we needed to find our way around Marrakech, including a handy hand-drawn map which was much better than the standard tourist map. He also took time to show us the way to the main square and other places of interest. A wonderful Breakfast was served by Amina, along with a warm smile - a great way to start the day. The room was very comfortable (Sahara room) and was always spotless.

All in all an amazing stay and a great introduction to a beautiful city.A big thank you to Fabien for a great stay and being a great host. See you soon :-)

Room Tip: Sahara room was great, bed was really comfortable. Walk-in shower was great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We (a family of three) had a wonderful stay at Riad Ghemza. The Riad is perfectly located in a quite residential area of the Medina but still only 10 minutes walking distance from the bustling main square.its an oasis of calm in the middle of a marrakesh medina. Very close to the main souks and the famous Restaurant Le Fundouk!
Rooms were very clean and spacious ... Minimalistically decorated with a touch of Maroc. Bathrooms are spotless and the breakfast was excellent. Fabien, the owner, made us feel at home the Minute we stepped into the Riad! We cannot recommend Riad ghemza high enough! Thanx Fabien

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aixlachapelle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Riad is newly refurbished and located in a good position, 15 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fnaa. Fabien, the owner is a great host and he will make sure that you are having a nice stay. Amina, the housekeeper is a very nice lady too and also an excellent chef!
The riad is excellent value for money and I would recommend the place to anyone. I cannot imagine anything going wrong in Riad Ghemza!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Camilia
Riad Camilia
#3 of 499 in Marrakech
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#13 of 1,145 in Marrakech
271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#235 of 499 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#45 of 499 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#78 of 1,145 in Marrakech
303 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ghemza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ghemza

Property: Riad Ghemza
Address: Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 1,145 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad GHEMZA is the Winner of TRIPADVISOR 2012 Certificate of Excellence ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing