We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Marrakech
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience CAMEL TREKKING EXPERIENCE
from $1,482.91
More Info
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
20
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arranged everything berber pizza berber music great company once in a lifetime tour company desert camp an amazing experience day trip communicative omar dunes merzouga gorge camel journey driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 20 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2019

The prologue....
....we went to the desert (without a horse with no name) on dromedaries called Ali and Hassan....

.The Sahara...
...... a place of overwhelming beauty at every turn and much much more...

"Berber whiskey makes you frisky, but it isn't risky"
...ancient Moroccan proverb...told to us by our taxi driver...it actually refers to Moroccan tea...ha

We find ourselves on a sand dune in the Sahara, under a November supermoon, a scant 15 km from the Algerian border...

OK.... let's rewind this story and start back several days earlier......

Paul Bowles; author of The Sheltering Sky and more...writes the following about the desert...

..."The coming of day promises a change; It's only when the day had fully arrived that the watcher suspects it is the same day returned once again - the same day he has been living for a long time over and over".....PB

His words strike a chord with us....a timeless cycle, sand, sunrise, sunset...the wind shaping, shifting dunes...yet, the rhythms of the desert continue on..

To us the desert is like a lover we all desire... intimate and close.....it gets under your clothes, lingers on your skin, slips into your bed, runs its fine, wind-driven fingers through your hair and caresses places only a lover knows....

...it is a place of silence and solitude...a place where dreams and mirages merge; where beauty lies in the sameness, the wind, the quiet....it is unhurried and reflective...it is to sit silent, watching the dunes in a Sahara sunset capture shadows and spirits like a Berber storyteller gathers tales... it is a place for footsteps to vanish, to return to the grains to be cleaned once more...where the vast emptiness speaks to our hearts and grabs our soul....it....is.....to breathe...

We meet Mohamed on an internet camel site... OK... actually, it was a blog that mentioned his outfit.... Camel Trekking Excursions...he sounded good online....and, as several other Trekking outfits hadn't bothered to respond - we were left with little choice.... upon reflection...it was a great choice....

After several back and forth emails between us, sight unseen, we have a Camel Date with Mohamed in Merzouga.
Mohamed and his driver come to pick us up 2 hours north in the town of Errachidia. From here we travel with an SUV south through spectacular gorges, villages and palmeraies.

Later that day, with the sun setting over the desert dunes, we are now in the wild, empty, vibrant, silent Sahara... alone, spending 2 nights in the desert at Mohamed's camp with our camels.

Trust got us here. To this point. In Time. In Morocco. With Mohamed. Trust gets us everywhere we want to go when we travel. No different in Morocco.

We see how that the little voice of fear, pounded into us by the everyday noise and naysayers, erodes and poisons one's dreams and journeys. It paralyzes all of us, yearning to live a life. We ignore the doubters and are here, under the deep blue sky and golden sands of the Sahara...it seems to be at the ends of the earth near the Algerian border.

We ride the camels. Over 3 days, we spend 6 hours on these quiet ships of the desert. Just us in the Camp, along with Mohamed and several others to watch over us, feed us and guide us among the dunes.

We visit an oasis, eat Berber pizza made fresh in a simple ground oven, wander through an old, abandoned Kasbah and climb a sand dune to watch the setting sun.

The oasis full with solar panels, water lines being pumped from the well and woven mats to walk on in the dining area.

For 3 days, we sleep in and wear the same clothes. We do have a western-style toilet, a 6 person tent to ourselves and a wash basin. It is cool at night, so we layer up on our clothing and pile on the extra wool blankets. So cozy as the wind whistles through our woven door flap.

The young man that guides our camels walks for hours over dunes and on the hard packed, flat desert.

He has a few Arabic camel commands and, it seems, only a few English words..."Good"....either inflected with a ? or ! and, "hold on" as we descend a dune while holding on tightly.
We spend hours together, just the 3 of us (hum that tune) tethered by rope and the stillness, alone with our thoughts, as our able footed friends... (Ali and Hassan as the camels were named)...plod along.

Our last morning starts early.... to capture the blossoming sunrise. We eat a simple breakfast of bread, jam, cheese and tea. We pack, say our goodbyes and shokrans. Then, we climb onto our trusty rides for one last hour, rise up awkwardly on their backs, and head back to Merzouga.

Our time in the Erg Chebbi is over. We leave with an appreciation of the ancient camel trains that traded these routes.... bringing spice and cloth....sharing knowledge and passing history...
We leave you with another quote from P Bowles....

"The only thing that makes life worth living is the possibility of experiencing now and then a perfect moment. And, perhaps, even more than that, it's having the ability to recall such moments in their totality, to contemplate them like jewels"

......our moment in the Sahara was just such perfection....to remember....will be to cherish..

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 460ShayneK460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet59954458522, Owner at CAMEL TREKKING EXPERIENCE, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2019

Thank you so much

We are glad to know that you have very nice experience with us we are so happy when all our guests are happy,and that they found what they come for. We value the visit and the dream of traveling and the distance you come from ! :) so all in all its more than job .we hope we well have chance to meet you and to hear from you again Thank you for the lovely review Greating from the Sahara Merzouga Morocco

Thanks for trusting us

Best regards

Camel Trekking Experience Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019 via mobile

Prior to coming to Morocco , I was hesitant on how our trip will be like. My best friend made all the arrangements with regards to booking our tour into the desert with Camel Trekking Tour and requested Mohammed (after reading all the positive reviews).

Omar and Mohammed showed up at our Riad in Marrakech on time the morning we were headed to the desert. They were knowledgeable about the history, culture, and landscape and surroundings.

We knew it was going to be an epic journey with them as our tour guide and driver for the entire trip. Mohammed is always smiling and positive. Omar is always smiling and patient with answering all our questions.

We all jammed out to songs in the car and at the end of our trip, it felt like we knew each other intimately! They were very flexible in our schedule - always asking us what we would prefer and what we’d like to see or do. They made sure we were comfortable and accommodated a change in our schedule with regards to an additional drive to Chefchuaoen.

These guys are the best the industry has to offer! You won’t regret going with them! They offer first class service. I’d love to come back to Morocco just to see them and to see more of this awesome country.

Thanks guys for showing us the best time of our lives in Morocco! “Brother from a different mother!”

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank tmlieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet59954458522, Owner at CAMEL TREKKING EXPERIENCE, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2019

Thank you so much

We are glad to know that you have very nice experience with us we are so happy when all our guests are happy,and that they found what they come for. We value the visit and the dream of traveling and the distance you come from ! :) so all in all its more than job .we hope we well have chance to meet you and to hear from you again Thank you for the lovely review Greating from the Sahara Merzouga Morocco

Thanks for trusting us

Best regards

Camel Trekking Experience Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2019 via mobile

The trip was amazing! We chose the private 2 day trip to the merzouga desert since we would only be in Morocco for 5 days, and this agency was the only one which offered a 2 day trip to the merzouga desert. Our driver Mohammed was so kind and helpful and he upgraded our experience to a whole new level. He showed us around all the amazing sights and landscapes we passed by (even though we didn’t have much time since we were supposed to arrive in less that a day to merzouga from Marrakech),he told us interesting stories and historical facts, took great photos and kept great company. Not to mention his sense of humor! The Jeep was very comfortable and we enjoyed the ride. The desert camp was very nice and the food we had there was one of the best we actually had during our stay in Morocco. The camel ride was fun, we went sand boarding, rented buggies and rod the dunes, sang around the fire and watched the sunrise and sunset, which were both stunning. Would definitely recommend and would do it again any time soon!!!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank kostaskoukovinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet59954458522, Owner at CAMEL TREKKING EXPERIENCE, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2019

Thank you so much

We are glad to know that you have very nice experience with us we are so happy when all our guests are happy,and that they found what they come for. We value the visit and the dream of traveling and the distance you come from ! :) so all in all its more than job .we hope we well have chance to meet you and to hear from you again Thank you for the lovely review Greating from the Sahara Merzouga Morocco

Thanks for trusting us

Best regards

Camel Trekking Experience Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2019

I really dont know from where to start. these people, this experience, these memories. i am grateful for that moment i decided to book this company among so many others. this company is the only trustworthy one to make trips only for 2 days from marrakech to merzouga and then back to marrakech. i consider myself blessed to have met mohamed who was our driver. this man is so kind so helpful and never loses his smile.he came to pick us just outside the door of our riad and then he returned us as well. we made him soo many questions and he always answered with his best smile and mood. he never got tired despite the long distances. i have never thought that someone can be so kind and true. with this man my hopes to humanity are restored. he is a real berber man he loves his country and culture, so he loves his job. that is what makes him such a professional. he knows the regions the places, he knows where is the right place to stop or to eat. he showed us how argan oil and rose extracts are made, he went us to listen berber music, we dressed like berber and took some photos.... on the road we felt so much safety he is a really good driver. and although we have booked shared trip to save money they made us private drive. as far as the desert facilities are concerned all services were excellent. the berber men made delicious food for us and they played berber music. we had the time of our lives. the tent was totally safe and comfortable but if you have any problems they can return you to their hotel which is also really cool. we had dinner and breakfast for free as well. everyone was so kind and helpful.
we loved every minute of this 2day trip to the desert. i recommend this company to all . they are the best!!!!!!!!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank buromarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet59954458522, Manager at CAMEL TREKKING EXPERIENCE, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2019

Thank you so much

We are glad to know that you have very nice experience with us we are so happy when all our guests are happy,and that they found what they come for. We value the visit and the dream of traveling and the distance you come from ! :) so all in all its more than job .we hope we well have chance to meet you and to hear from you again Thank you for the lovely review Greating from the Sahara Merzouga Morocco

Thanks for trusting us

Best regards

Camel Trekking Experience Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

This experience was once in a life time and we were incredibly lucky to have Mohammed as our guide during this excursion. Could not have asked for a friendlier, kinder, and more pleasant person to drive us 10+ hours from Marrakesh down to Merzouga and then back the next day. 100% would recommend doing this trip and hopefully getting Mohammed as your guide because then you won't have to worry about anything except enjoy the beautiful desert.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank amytey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet59954458522, Manager at CAMEL TREKKING EXPERIENCE, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2019

Thank you so much

We are glad to know that you have very nice experience with us we are so happy when all our guests are happy,and that they found what they come for. We value the visit and the dream of traveling and the distance you come from ! :) so all in all its more than job .we hope we well have chance to meet you and to hear from you again Thank you for the lovely review Greating from the Sahara Merzouga Morocco

Thanks for trusting us

Best regards

Camel Trekking Experience Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews