We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Surprise Lunch at Ourika Valley!”
Review of Au Bord de l'Eau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Bord de l'Eau
Ranked #452 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 13, 2012

During our stay in Marrakech we decided to go to see the mountains- the High Atlas Mountains a few hours away from Marrakech. Our driver was wonderful and showed us the best sites in Ourika valley including the Berber villages and the women's cooperative that makes Argon (Almond) oil. The day was rainy and cloudy but extremely lovely. Our driver promised us a wonderful lunch where tourists don't go. We were welcomed to Au Bord de l'Eau by Poulou and Martine, the owners into a cozy and beautiful home. It was as though we had stepped into a home in Europe with Moroccan touches and were made to feel so comfortable and warm by the owners. We ate an out of this world meal served with their home made citrus wine and to die for home made sorbet dessert. We were completely surprised by our lunch!
The house is located on the river with fruit and flower trees, a perfect site for being one with nature. The home is decorated in a simple and elegant style just like its surroundings.
We can't wait to go back to Marrakech and stay a few nights at Au Bord de l'Eau. Lunch certainly whetted our appetite for more!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KaajandNaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 59 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

I did not stay at the inn overnight, but I did have a meal here. Poulou, the owner, is an easygoing and earnest man; I would love for others to enjoy a meal or a night in this quaint location.

I was staying in the Medina in Marrakech and took a day trip out to Atlas Mountains. One of our stops was at the waterfalls. Our driver asked if we liked French food, which we definitely do. He promised us a good meal "without any tourists" after we were done with our hike. The waterfalls are surrounded by what seems like hundreds of restaurants along the banks of the river. As our driver took us further away from the main strip of restaurants, we were a little concerned. We walked down a set of stairs and much to our surprise, we approached a calm and cheery oasis. We were taken to the back, where a table was set up for our lunch. We sat under a blossoming tree, with the river behind us. There were monkeys off in the distance and Poulou's friendly cat sat by my feet.

For 150DH, Poulou served us a 3 course lunch. He also harvests his own wine on site and has imported wine for a little extra, which you can enjoy with your meal. The first course was a salad with goat cheese. My husband is not a fan of goat cheese, but he said this was the best he had ever tried. I love goat cheese. But, I also did notice the goat cheese he served was not as "game-y" and thick like the kind served in the USA. It was a nice, creamy, mellow kind that worked well with the salad. The main course was seared duck, which he served with roasted vegetables and potatoes. He then served homemade strawberry sorbet. It was such a relaxing and enjoyable meal.

He gave us a tour of the inn; he has a smaller room and a suite on site. He is currently in the process of building another 3-4 suites, which will be complete by April 2012. He gets most of his food locally and from Marrakech. Some items on the menu are imported from France. So, you definitely get high quality, fresh ingredients in your meal and it shows!

If you can't stay here for the night, ask to stop here for a lunch when you are visiting the waterfalls! The French food is amazing and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queenbee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed with Martine & Poulou 2 years ago, and I must say the 3 days that I spent with them were just marvelous!!! I went to Morocco in order to practice French and enjoy the winter in some nice warm place and as I spent there a little more than a month I had a chance to travel and experience big hotels and riads, fancy restaurants and nice little cafes. I have traveled around the country mostly in the cities trying to perceive the culture of that beautiful country, but what I saved for the last days turned out to be the best experience of Morocco!
Martine & Poulou are an amazing Belgian-Portuguese couple who will certainly make their best for you to have amazing time with them! They make anyone feel more than welcome, and you understand what the hospitality means once again when you sit at the table with them and share the delicious meal that Poulou has just prepared! Trust me, it's way better than any Moroccan restaurant can offer today!!!! And you just can't miss the wine that Martine makes!!! The place is very calm and beautiful. They have a great fireplace, that makes every evening very special! The owners know everything about the area and they can recommend you the best guide (u will need one if interested in checking out the area and distant villages!)
In brief, what I want to say is: these people made me feel like home, like family! If you feel homesick when traveling or you just want a lovely place to stay, great meals and friendly people to talk to, you know where to go now! 
Thank you Martine & Poulou!   

Room Tip: When I was there there was just one guest room, but they were preparing others. The suit where I sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stéphane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank josimon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#246 of 1,186 in Marrakech
205 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Layla Rouge
Riad Layla Rouge
#267 of 1,186 in Marrakech
211 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Bousskri
Riad Bousskri
#493 of 1,186 in Marrakech
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Aday
Hotel Aday
#401 of 1,186 in Marrakech
142 reviews
0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 499 in Marrakech
2,134 reviews
0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Bord de l'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Bord de l'Eau

Address: Douar Assgaour km59 route de l'Ourika, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #452 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $21 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Au Bord de l'Eau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing