We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Easy shopping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ensemble Artisanal

Ensemble Artisanal
Avenue Mohammed V, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-86758
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 110 Shopping in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Easy shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Not quite the experience of the souks but certainly less stressful! everything has a price and this removes the need to haggle. there are some really beautiful things for sale here. It is also a great way to know what prices to pay in the souks. We looked at some paintings here but didn't see anything which really took our fancy - however we did price certain artists and sizes of paintings which meant when we went to the souks that evening we were able to get two decent sized paintings for 650DHS rather than 1100DHS! worth a trip! very pretty inside too!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    332
    114
    26
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Henna tattoo at the ensemble artisanal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Tourist guides for Marrakech warn you, not to get a henna tattoo at the "Square", because there is no control about professionalism and toxic ingredients like PPD. But if you think, you are better off, if you go to the Ensemble Artisanal, you are wrong. The young woman, who is doing henna tattoos there, uses PPD without any warnings. My daughter got a terrible infection and a dramatic allergic reaction after getting a tattoo there. She will suffer for the rest of her life from it. Therefore, don't go for a henna tattoo at the ensemble artisanal - there are other shops, however, which offer quite good products. I don't want to condemn the whole institutions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Gilbert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Just like the inner pay off the souk, you get to see craftsmen at work and products to purchase. It's a good place to gage the price of local handicrafts. The cafe serves good and cheap food too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angeline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This place is great for a browse. If you have no idea what typical moroccan goods should cost you are obviously going to be completely lost and ripped of in the souks. It does have the same goods that you can get anywhere else, but here you can relax and really have a look at things without it being assumed that you are going to buy. It has a selection of shops each specialising in something from lanterns to baskets and so it also really showcases the beautiful crafts unique to morocco. Although the building does not look like much from the outside, as with many buildings in morocco it is beautiful on the inside. I love the perfume shop here as you can really explore the scents without feeling under pressure. If you want a scent that can bring you back to marrakech in an instant, buy a small block of amber perfume leave it in a drawer.....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Orfhlaith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

It was fun to shop here after our souk visit to buy the items that we still needed. Quite different from the souks, no worrying about being hit with a donkey cart or scooters!
You need to shop in the Ensemble and the Souk, both very different experience, both with advantages and disadvantages.
The interior of the Ensemble is worth seeing, tile work, flowers, all exquisite.
There's an ATM on site, a spot for a light lunch, and a henna artist.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJLAlberta_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ensemble Artisanal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ensemble Artisanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing