We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - highly recommended!”
Review of Ensemble Artisanal

Ensemble Artisanal
Ranked #4 of 130 Shopping in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent - highly recommended!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Marrakech and thoroughly enjoyed it! The Ensemble Artisanal is a little gem - a fantastic Government run shop/workshop centre - it's located through a very beautiful archway, which is how we stumbled across it! The staff are absolutely lovely, with no hard sell or pressure whatsoever, just leaving us to browse for as long as we wanted. They sell amazing carpets, leather goods, stunning pottery, lamps etc etc - the prices seemed very good to us and we bought souvenirs here because we found the souks incredible but we found it hard to buy anything because of the constant hassling - where at the Ensemble Artisanal, there was no pestering and you could enjoy browsing - yet the staff were on hand and would give lots of information about the making of the rugs etc - well worth a visit! The staff also wrapped our purchases so beautifully to ensure the pottery we bought would make it home safely. Absolutely recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BLMHCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    383
    129
    28
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stress free”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

You can shop quietly and enjoy although it seems a bit sterile after the Souks!! Goods are could quality and the looms are interesting! You will see people making all sorts of things..

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No need to haggle”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We wanted to buy things in the souk but found the haggling off putting. Here at Ensemble Artisanal you get local goods at a fair price and don't have to haggle. They even have the prices on the goods. We went one day and then again another day to buy all we wanted. They have a wide range on offer - carpets, leather goods, even hand crafted musical instruments. The café is excellent too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 412Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Low pressure shopping”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

They have parking.
They have a nice coffee shop.
They have an ATM machine and open air areas.
They have well crafted goods of better-than-medina quality.

But mostly, the shop proprietors leave you alone to browse. Attentive but low key.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Everything you want without the haggle”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

There are a good variety of shops here selling good quality goods. The man in the carpet shop was so helpful to my friend. She wanted a red patterned rug and he helped her go through the pile until she found the pattern she liked. The man in one of the shops selling wooden goods told us about his family who made the goods. The man in the musical instrument shop gave us a demonstration of the little drums. All this without any pressure to buy and we came away with lots of shopping. It is a nice relaxed place to shop. However you must also go to the souk and square so you can enjoy haggling over a few dirhams as it's fun once you get used to it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ensemble Artisanal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ensemble Artisanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing