We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best experience ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad l'Etoile d'Orient

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
Ranked #136 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful Riad in October, 2012 based on previous reviews and photos. I can tell you that there is nothing negative to say, only excellence in every respect. Location was just a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of the Jamaa El Fna yet very tranquil. Souqs were minutes away. Decor very modern which for us was a nice change from the older riads and hotels we had just stayed in on a tour of Morocco. It was extremely clean, breakfast consisted of an omelette, fresh juice, toast, cheese, jams etc. All staff very friendly and efficient and our special ladies Mahjouba and Alba really made our stay a memorable one. Very helpful with places of interest. Nothing was too much trouble. We cannot speak highly enough of this Riad.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms (we stayed in the Brahim) opened onto courtyard and we had no stairs to climb whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank humphrey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    44
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
138
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

A reviewers have said before this riad has a great location and comfortable rooms. The outstanding experience for us was the staff, especially Abla at the front desk. She happily provided a wealth of information which made our introduction to Morocco so positive. Every request was met with a smile and helpfulness. Very much appeciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footlooseCanadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

First of all the location, this riad is a 5 minute walk from the square, located a couple of hundred yards from the main routes to the southern tourist spots (palace, tombs) and a short walk to the northern sports (museum, islamic school). The close proximity to the square allowed us to eat out every night in or on the square and have no concerns about walking back to our riad at night.

The riad is very very modern inside, every room have AC a TV (with the 1000+ free Moroccan channels) and all the modern touches you'd expect from a top hotel. Bed was comfy and the AC kept the room a very pleasant temperature. Another plus was the mini bar fridge, we didn't use from the mini bar but the fridge was handy for cooling our own drinks. The only downside about the riad was that because it was so modern it lacked some of the character the older ones have, for this reason It's got 4/5

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, we stayed in the cheapest Atlas room, this was "cosy" but stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

L'Etoile d'Orient is perfectly located next to the main square but off the main road, which allowed us to spend a very relaxing night.
The manager and staff of the riad were very kind and attentive to our demands. They were especially very helpfull in sugesting places to go to eat and visit. Special mention to their tea which was excellent.
The Riad is quite new and beautifully decorated and has all the required amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

L'Etoile D'Orient is a small 7 room inn just off Jm'a El Fnaa. It is very attractive,clean, comfortable and the manager was great!. However it was given a 5 star rating when I booked it. It certainly did feel like a 5 star among RIADS but nowhere near a 5 star HOTEL. The riad booked a taxi for us from the airport and someone picked us up at the big square and took us to the riad. On the way back, that wasn't necessary as by then we knew our way (10 min walk) . We took our own luggage to the square and took a cab from there. It cost around 60 din. During our stay, we booked a tour to the waterfalls through our riad.The guide took us and tried to scam us once we got to the mountain. We found out there is a distinction between a guide (who only does 'driving') and a guide who took us up the mountain and charged us 200Din more than agreed. Upon our return, the riad manager intervened and made the tour company refund this additional amount. That left me with a very positive impression of the riad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllenHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

A place to return at anytime. We highly recommend this Riad. The staff is very friendly but also very professional. The Manager of the hotel is very attentive and helpful. Please seek her advise for places to go and eat in the center.



Hint: Highly recommend to use the Airport pickup service from the Hotel. Finding the place for 1st timers will be an adventure you may want to avoid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakdosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Riad l'Etoile d'Orient was beautifully decorated and in a great position for access to the square. Our room was lovely and had everything we needed, the hot tub on the roof terrace was fantastic and mint tea was available whenever we wanted it! Breakfast wasn't great but it was acceptable, other than that and the 5am call for prayer which I guess you have to expect (they were fitting triple glazing during our stay!) the Riad was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynManx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#99 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad La Rose D'Orient
Riad La Rose D'Orient
#312 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Pourpre Medina
Riad Pourpre Medina
#106 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Ba Sidi
Riad Ba Sidi
#76 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#25 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Alkaderi
Riad Alkaderi
#391 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Etoile d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Etoile d'Orient

Property: Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
Address: Derb Dabachi, Derb Moulay Abdelkader no52, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad l'Etoile d'Orient 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely rebuilt in 2010 the Riad Etoile D'Orient offers a refined setting combining tradition and modernity, reflecting sweet life and voluptousness. The Riad is exceptionally located at the heart of the bustling Marrakesh, at a two minutes walk from the Jamaa el fna square.Staying at Riad l'Etoile d'Orient is to discover the magic of a unique place in Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad l'Etoile d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing