We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem - The play to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
Ranked #117 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The camera hasn’t lied!

OK, a wide angle lens has clearly been used for the website pictures however the effect allows you to see how amazing this riad looks, rather than trying to give a false impression of size. The Etoile d Orient is like an oasis located two minutes from Djemaa El-Fna.

We met by Franck, on arrival and were ushered into the amazing atrium where we sat after being offered some mint tea and the opportunity to pause a moment after our travels. Franck then gave us a tour of the riad and explained the procedures relating to use of the Hamman, Spa treatments and hot tub which is located on the roof terrace.

After our mini tour, Franck showed us to our room. He kindly upgraded us from the Atlas room to the Fedka. The Atlas was the smallest room in the riad and would have been adequate for our needs. The upgrade was a pleasant surprise. All the rooms in the riad are beautifully decorated and furnished to high standard. Each room has a fridge and free WiFi is available. Tea and coffee facilities are not available in the rooms however was provided on request as well as ironing services. at no additional charge.

The impression we received from the staff was that if they could they would. This was made clear when we asked about breakfast times. We said that we had an early start the next morning due to a trip to Essaouria. We were asked where our pick up point was and what time we had to be there, then without hesitation we were told that breakfast would be ready at 06:30! Teas, coffee, orange juice, hot and cold milk, cereal, yogurt, toast, pancakes, fresh fruit, cheese and preserves were a welcome sight and made a full and hearty breakfast.

We are pleased that we chose this riad and would definitely stay again. Franck, Rashid Bushra and Majoub helped us to have a memorable experience.

Tip; I recommend arranging a pickup from the airport unless you know the Medina well. This advice applies to all who are staying in this area. It is more expensive than a petit taxi but removes the shock of standing on the edge of Djemaa El-Fna thinking where the hell do I go from here!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 245 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

Staying at the Riad L'Etoile afforded us an excellent opportunity to sample the delights of Moroocco. Situated in the heart of the Medina, it is ideally located to explore the street markets and to enjoy the Moroccan experience. The Riad was beautifully furnished, comfortable and home from home with friendly staff and an amiable patron. The roof top jaccuzzi in the midday Moroccan sun is one of the precious memories that we brought home with us to treasure. We would definitely recommend as great value for money, a luxurious treat and an unforgettable experience. Enjoy!
J& A Portsmouth, UK

Room Tip: We stayed in upgrated room which was just amazing, spacious, with mini bar and all extras making sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgataSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Having spent 34 years in the Royal Navy, I consider myself to be a seasoned traveller who has stayed in many hotels around the world – my advice if visiting Marrakech – do not stay in a hotel, stay in this Riad. My wife and I had pre-arranged transfers to and from the airport; we were met by Mohammed who had been waiting patiently for three hours as our flight was delayed. From there we were dropped off at the main market place, our cases transferred by a man with a hand built wooden cart and our first experience of Marrakech was the short walk across the market place, through the hustle and bustle of snake charmers and traders. Once across the square and through one street of Souks, we were met at the door by the Riads instantly likeable and friendly French owner Didier. We were both made to feel at home and were welcomed like honoured guests. Although the souks attached to the main market place are no more than 40 yards away, the tranquillity of this tastefully and traditionally decorated Riad was blissful – nothing was too much trouble. No iron or ironing board is available, your clothes are pressed (free of charge) as or when required, breakfast was beautifully traditional and filling, and an early evening visit to the rooftop sun-loungers and Jacuzzi is a must. We visited a few hotels during our stay (for curiosity and comparison) but none even came close to the delightful Riad l’Etoile d’Orient.

Room Tip: There are two suites that provide additional space that we found invaluable some people may find the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Riad L'Etoile d'Orient is simply beautifuly designed. a delicate blend of modern and traditional while still maintaining well established class.
It was easy to find the riad about 5mins stroll from the main square.( could take longer in the evenings when the streets are full )
Didier welcomed us like old friends and even upgraded us to a bigger room (calva) on the ground floor.
The riad is quiet and everyone keeps their discreete distance.
I loved the breakfast in the morning well balanced and enough to last a few hours if you can keep away from the tasty marakesh food.
Rashid, Bushra are very friendly and helpful.Bushra even offered to iron my wifes delicate abaya (not easy to iron ) and she did it perfectly with asmile.
Highly recomend this little palace hopefullty the jacuzzi and bbq area will be ready soon.
Didier and His wife are good hosts.
Only draw for me was they have alcohol in the mini bar.Thats just me am sure other travellers will welcome teh mini bar in the room.
The shower is apacious , separate toilet and even had bath robes.

Room Tip: i enjoyed chambre calva. quiet if you can afford book the suites on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abduli06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Me and my husband booked our flights to Marrakech in April 2011 and spend some months deciding which hotel to stay at. There are so many to choose from, so many Riads! The l'Etoile d'Orient is a perfectly placed and wonderfully managed little Riad a 2 minute walk from the main square in the Medina.

The service was fantastic. The staff were always very friendly, bringing us whatever we needed or wanted. Free tea and biscuits. Our room was cleaned to perfection, fresh towels and even Moroccan sweets and fresh flowers left in our room every day!

We booked this trip for our honeymoon and had high expectations for everything. We weren't disappointed. We had free transfers from the airport when we arrived, we were upgraded to a suite room on arrival. We had mint tea and biscuits on arrival. We were given a tour of the Riad and once we had settled-in we discovered just how comfortable the bed was as we promptly fell asleep for a couple of hours!

We spend every day out discovering Marrakech which was hot and exhausting, coming back to this Riad was refreshing and a great oasis amongst the chaos outside. Stepping inside this hotel is refreshing. It's beautifully decorated, it's new and clean and there is always incense burning which fills the rooms with delightful smells!

Breakfast was served to us when we were ready, which suited us perfectly as we did sometimes sleep in a bit late in the mornings. The staff were brilliant though and had everything set out for us every morning.

There was some maintenance going on up on the terrace during our stay, which was not too much trouble. A little noisy in the mornings. They were building a jacuzzi which I imagine would be built very soon and will make yet another plus point for this beautiful Riad! Looking forward to returning here and seeing the finished work sometime.

A big thumbs up to Didier and his wife for making us feel relaxed, comfortable and welcome, and also for helping us find our way back from the maze of the souks on our last evening in the Medina!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThisUsernameIsMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

absoloute perfection to the core its was amazing
great great staff
frank the owner was awsume
book now!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMrsSAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful riad. The location is just perfect only a 2 minute walk to the big square.
A special thanks should go to dider and his wife including rashid and bushra - for looking after us so well during our stay here.
I would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ara_2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#15 of 499 in Marrakech
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#96 of 499 in Marrakech
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#9 of 499 in Marrakech
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 499 in Marrakech
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Etoile d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Etoile d'Orient

Address: Derb Dabachi, Derb Moulay Abdelkader no52, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $76 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad l'Etoile d'Orient 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely rebuilt in 2010 the Riad Etoile D'Orient offers a refined setting combining tradition and modernity, reflecting sweet life and voluptousness. The Riad is exceptionally located at the heart of the bustling Marrakesh, at a two minutes walk from the Jamaa el fna square.Staying at Riad l'Etoile d'Orient is to discover the magic of a unique place in Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad l'Etoile d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing