We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Oasis of calm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Donab Le Restaurant

Dar Donab Le Restaurant
Ranked #144 of 830 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

On our penultimate night in Morocco and our first in Marrakech, we fell gratefully into this calm, beautiful palatial place when lost, trying to find somewhere someone had sent us.
Our young waiter - another highly educated Moroccan speaking perfect English (what a resource Morocco has -is wasting?- in its wonderful people) was informative, interesting and interested.
I am ashamed to say we ate Italian, maybe there is an Italian chef here as several Italian items were on the menu, as we were completely tagined-out after 10 days in Morocco. It was very good.
And not expensive, and they took cards and served very cold beer and good red wine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AquitaineHirondelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    64
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
257 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful Moroccan food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our family recently had lunch at this beautiful venue. The architecture and decor of the building are just magnificent! The restaurant is set around the tranquil swimming pool in the courtyard. It's a really quiet space in the heart of hustling and bustling Marrakech. The service was excellent and the food also really delicious. They serve traditional Moroccan food like tagines etc and they have a good wine list to choose from. The prices were really good, especially if one takes the setting and the quality of the food in mind. All in all it was a great experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dia_Carstens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What a lovely experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

After the hustle and bustle of the streets and alleyways of Marrakech, the Donab restaurant was a little like finding an oasis.....it is a beautiful spot located in the palace of the Pasha once upon a time...and it felt like a palace! We ate outside by the pool...watched the full moon above the open courtyard, smelled the flowers and spices and were waited upon royally! The food was delicious, the prices reasonable and the staff friendly and helpful. We also looked around the place so my esteemed spouse could take pictures...and what a beautiful place it was indeed! It is located in the Riad Donab, but you don't need to be a guest there to enjoy their restaurant...so when you need a quiet spot in which to feel spoiled...try this! It is located right on the Dar el Basha...so not too difficult to find...by Marrakech standards!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank acandkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious moroccan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our best dinner in Marrakech. The building is simply beautiful and the food is very delicious. We had the lamb tajine shish kebab, which both were made of high quality meat. In addition they serve alcohol. The waiters are very attentive. Best value for money we found.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
195 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Recommended visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not so well-known restaurant. The building is very impressive (palace of the old Pasha Glaui) and alone worth the visit. The food was very good and at lower prices compared to other high-end restaurants. We were the only people eating there and the service was very good. It was romantic to eat alone in the grand room.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klasherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Donab Le Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Donab Le Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing