We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Middle of the Medina”
Review of Riad Joya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Joya
Ranked #99 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Middle of the Medina”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My title may be repetitive, but it truly summarizes Riad Joya. There is no better home base than the Riad Joya after fighting through the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The service is impeccable. From the pickup at the airport to the personal chaperones to the restaurants in the evenings, the attention to guests is remarkable. Nor and Staff can't be beat. Fresh fruits, juice, and water each evening, sumptuous breakfast, evening turndown service, gorgeous guest suites, knowledgeable and attentive staff, perfect location, and beautiful atmosphere. Once you get there you realize that the service and location was well worth the cost. There is no better value within the medina than Riad Joya. Absolutely remarkable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMacallan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Mark R

On behalf of Noureddine and the rest of Joya family thank you for your very kind words.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our hospitality, the service and the comfort of our home.
We will keep a great souvenir of your visit and cannot wait to welcome you back again.

Khalid & Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
158
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolframs-Eschenbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Simply charming visit to a hidden oasis within the city. The staff defines Moroccan hospitality and instantly makes you feel at home and at ease. The location cannot be beat, it is centrally located for daily souk shopping or exploration of the city. The hidden alley way leading to the riad extinguishes the hustle of the busy streets. Perfect vacation, cannot wait to return to the riad joya!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Amy B

What a true definition of our little gem Joya.

We were very pleased of your presence in our home and we hope that you will be back soon.

Khalid & Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a fantastic time in Marrakech and staying at the Riad Joya was one of the highlights. The service was amazing, the rooms were wonderful and the dinner was superb. The staff were all attentive and helpful, guiding us through the streets of the medina and suggesting restaurants and excursions for us. We would stay here again in an instant, and can't wait to return someday!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Jasaew

Your words make us really happy!

We are delighted that you enjoy our hospitality and our cuisine.

We hope that you will come back soon and invite you to stay in contact.

Khalid & Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you really want to experience the delights of Marrakech - stay here!

My family organised this stay for my 21st birthday as a surprise and it couldn't have been better!!!This amazing riad is situated right within the medina so gives you a chance to really witness the culture such as the souks, market life etc...
The moment you arrived in the country, the staff couldn't have been more welcoming, helpful and fun! Attending your every need and organising ANYTHING you wanted, as well as making it a relaxing easy stay!
Fabulous morrocon style food was provided whenever you wanted it, fabulous decour all over the riad (tasteful and stylish) a real taste or Morocco.
It has made my 21st birthday UNFORGETTABLE! I will really miss this place as it was a really unique and exceptional experience! Plus these people were the most polite and friendly community I have had the pleasure to meet thus far :)

THANK YOUUUUUUUU! <3

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Danielle A

Fantastic!! What a great joy to red that you spent a memorable birthday celebration with us.

We are really happy that you have enjoyed all, decor and food and regarding your comments about polite and friendly we are especially proud to contribute to give this image of our Country))

Come back with your family and friends and stay in contact.

Khalid & Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Everything about the Riad Joya exceeded our expectations. We have stayed at guest houses in the US, the experience at Riad Joya was on another level. Everything about the stay was exceptional, from the morning breakfast, to the staff assistance with sight seeing tours. We even took advantage of a dinner prepared by the Riad staff on our last night. The dinner was just wonderful, paired with great Moroccan wines.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Jeff

Thank you thank you thank you for the very kind words.

Chef Mehdi and we are thrilled at your comments on the dinner you enjoyed at Riad Joya.

Riad Joya is your home in Marrakech.

Khalid & Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Before arriving at Riad Joya, I read many reviews which described it as an oasis in the madness of the Marrakech medina. This couldn't be more accurate.

Based in an excellent location near the souks and jemaa el fna, one must make their way down a narrow alleyway to arrive at the entrance. The arrival just adds to the charm, as once you enter, you are amazed at the gorgeous and serene riad that awaits you.

Each of the rooms are uniquely decorated and you really can't go wrong. There are many small things and attention to detail that makes the experience special-- Mint tea upon arrival; fresh and dried fruit awaiting you each time you come back to your room; Fresh flowers in the room, as well as lit candles in the evening.

The staff is so friendly and helpful. Noredine went out of his way to assist us and really helped make the stay memorable. The free breakfast in the morning was excellent.

You cant choose this riad confidently-- You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank go12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear go12345

Thank you for the wonderful words.

Noureddine and the rest of the Joya family are delighted to read that you appreciated all the details that we prepared for you.

Please come back to enjoy more.

Khalid & Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, FL
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Don't let the narrow streets & alleys that lead to the entrance of the Riad Joya fool you. When the door is opened, you are looking at a beautiful riad. My wife, daughter, and I couldn't get over how luxurious this hotel was. The location is great (once you get use to the windy streets and allies that lead to it). The staff was professional and extremely courteous. The rooms were amazing. My adult daughter was able to stay in two different rooms during our two night stay while my wife & I stayed in a 3rd room. All were different and luxurious. You can't go wrong with picking a room here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Soigal

Thank you and your family for the very kind words.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Riad Jova in the future.

Khalid & Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#87 of 499 in Marrakech
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#59 of 499 in Marrakech
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#38 of 499 in Marrakech
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#88 of 499 in Marrakech
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#69 of 499 in Marrakech
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Property: Riad Joya
Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Joya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing