We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Riad in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Joya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Joya
Ranked #99 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exquisite Riad in Marrakech”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This Riad is very elegant and tastefully decorated. The suites were lovely and huge with magnificent bathrooms. Service was exceptional - and the people running the Riad went out of their way to help. Excellent breakfasts were served each morning in the gorgeous dining room. An unforgettable experience - I highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrieleo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Gabrieleo1

Thank you for staying at Riad Joya! We are thrilled at your feedback.

Please come back to Riad Joya, your home in Marrakech.

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
158
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This Riad is well located in the Medina. Our Room was large and well appointed. The management went out of their way to help us with questions and places to eat. Breakfast was good but no options for protein. I recommend that this Riad be chosen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priscilla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Priscilla R

Thank you for your preference to Riad Joya. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and cannot wait to welcome you back.

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights recently and would not change anything about our trip. From the home cooked meal, to the location, and most importantly the people at Riad Joya, we had the best possible experience. The location is tucked away within the Medina, but still very accessible to all the sites and was also quite peaceful despite how quickly the main square and other crazier parts of the Medina are accessed. The service was top notch. Whenever we left our room, fresh fruit, bottled water, and towels were replaced as well as a general cleaning. There was always someone to greet us when we arrived back and also offer directions, an escort or guidance when we left.

Overall, we would recommend Riad Joya to anyone going to Marrakech with the highest possible regard for both the property and the people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turk1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Turk1923

It was great to have you staying at Riad Joya!

Please remain in contact and come back soon to Marrakech.

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Having read reviews and looked at location, we could not have chosen a more perfect place. From the efficient and friendly booking process to the welcome at the station, we could not fault the service. The first walk to the main square to get our bearings and find the landmarks to get back through the medina set the tone of our stay. The ice cold slices of melon on our return after our first day's sight seeing, the cool of the terrace for breakfast and the peace were lovely. Independent travellers, we did not take advantage of the escorted walks to restaurants preferring to make our ownway but Noredine's help was offered at every turn. way

Helpful?
1 Thank Springhil
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Springhil

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Riad Joya in Marrakech. This is really important that you keep good long lasting memories of your visit.

It is delightful to read about your satisfaction with your stay in every detail and that you were able to stay with us long enough to feel at home.

Please stay in contact and come back!

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Having done much on-line research, my wife and I chose Riad Joya for our first three nights in Marrakech. This was an excellent choice. The Riad is hidden away in the Mouassine neighbourhood, in the heart of the Souq area/Medina, only a few minutes walk from 'The Square' (Place Jemaa El Fna). We were met at the Airport by Noureddine (aka Nordin), who continued to look after us throughout our stay. He showed us how to reach the Square, and the souqs, and local restaurants. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. One morning we, alone, took breakfast on the rooftop terrace. There are only seven rooms. We were shown over most of the rooms, and had chosen the Ottoman, which, like all the rooms, has windows facing the Courtyard, and is on the ground floor. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.
Nordin suggested that we use the 'hop on and off bus', which is easily accessed at bus stop 15 near the Square. This was excellent advice and we purchased a 48 hour ticket, during which time we were able to use the buses (every half hour) as often as we wished. Another tip! - a very short walk away is the popular Cafe Arab. There is a superb rooftop terrace, from where we watched beautiful sunsets whilst enjoying great cocktails - in the distance the Atlas Mountains.
We had a marvellous time in this Riad, and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seronok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Seronok

thank you for staying at Riad Joya while visiting Marrakech.

We are thrilled at your feedback and hope that you will keep excellent memories of your visit forever.

Please stay in contact and come back!

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

After much research we chose the Riad Joya for a 4 day break away in May and we were not disappointed in any way with our choice.

The break was to celebrate a special occasion and the criteria for booking was somewhere small enough to give good service, close enough to walk to most things and traditional in style and appearance and I'm pleased to say this Riad performs on all levels.

The booking process was easy, we had the same contact throughout and adding special touches or making amendments to our plans was straight forward. We were collected from the airport by a driver and also one of the waiters from the Riad, after about 15 minutes we were driven to the walls of the medina, where we then had a 5 minute walk to the Riad, upon arrival we were offered a traditional Moroccan welcome and the obligatory mint tea and sweets which was a lovely start to the holiday.

We stayed in suite Naos for 2 nights and then moved to Ambregris for the final 2 nights, we had tours of all but one of the seven suites during our stay and they all looked light, spacious and had everything you'd need. The Riad is so peaceful and tranquil that you could easily forget your only a couple of alleyways away from the hustle and bustle of the medina but that's what makes this Riad so special.

All the staff at the Riad are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble but special mention must go to Noureddine, he greeted us upon arrival, was our butler and tour guide at times! He was our first port of call for help or advice on what to see and where to go during our stay, he's a credit to the Riad, he works so hard, is genuinely helpful and clearly enjoys his job and this made our stay perfect. Mehdi is the chef but he also served us our meals on occasion, he explained the menu's to us, made dishes especially for us, prepared the most amazing private dining meal on the terrace with traditional Moroccan musicians and open fire and even suggested going into the kitchen to see how the traditional tagine's are prepared.

Consistency is the key to a pleasurable holiday and all of the staff at the Riad clearly work hard to maintain this, even the housekeeping was exceptional, fresh water and fruit was replenished every time we had left the room, beds were made and the room cleaned with minimal fuss and without disruption in any way. We loved our 4 days at the Riad and cannot recommend it highly enough, I personally think you'd have to be extremely picky to find fault and its on our tick list of places to return to. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank azizam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Azizam1

We are glad that you have enjoyed your special celebration while at Riad Joya in Marrakech. This is really important that you keep good long lasting memories of your visit.

it is great to read about your satisfaction with your stay in every detail and that you were able to stay with us long enough to feel at home.

Please stay in contact and come back!

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went to Marrakech for 8 days and stayed for 4 days in Riad Joya. When we arrived at the airport, a staff member of the riad was waiting for us and when we were dropped off just outside the medina, another staff member helped us with our luggage and brought us to the riad. We were welcomed by the majordomo, Nourredine, a charismatic and extremely helpful man. He arranged a day trip to Ourica valley for us and helped us with booking a quad ride. All the other staff members were incredibly friendly as well, from the guy who served us breakfast every morning to the housekeeping lady.
The rooms we had were both very spacious and beautifully decorated (we had the Ambregris and the Tuareg), the housekeeping did their work properly and every time we arrived in our room, fresh fruits were waiting for us.
About the location: the riad is situated in a quiet alley at only 3 minutes from Jamâa el Fna, so the location couldn't have been better.
The food was very good too: every morning there was Danish pastry, yoghurt, omelettes, fruit, freshly baked Moroccan bread,... and the optional dinner consisted of a perfectly cooked tagine.
In short, we had a fantastic experience in this charming riad with the most friendly service I've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouisDeloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Luois Deloz

Thank you for this fantastic feedback! We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Riad Joya and Marrakech.

It is good that you had the chance to go to the Ourica Valley from the Red City: Marrakech is a good starting point for many excursions so please come back to enjoy more!

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#87 of 499 in Marrakech
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#59 of 499 in Marrakech
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#38 of 499 in Marrakech
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#88 of 499 in Marrakech
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#69 of 499 in Marrakech
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Property: Riad Joya
Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Joya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing