We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a 'little gem'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Joya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Joya
Ranked #82 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Truly a 'little gem'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have never written a hotel review before, but since I made my decision to stay here based on the previous reviews on Trip Advisor I thought I should add my opinion to the mix... My boyfriend and I stayed here for five nights. We only left a few days ago but are already planning our next trip back! Although we're both well seasoned travelers, this was our first time in Morocco. Riad Joya was everything I had hoped for my first Marrakech experience- and more! Nordin (and all of the staff) were extremely welcoming and had many suggestions of the 'must see' sights and activities of the city. We stayed in the Dar Arabe suite (the aesthetic was quintessentially Moroccan chic) and the room was immaculately kept. I fell ill for a few days during our stay and the whole staff accommodated the slight changes in our planned schedule. The location is wonderful- we were merely five minutes away from the souks and Djema el-Fna but once inside the Riad, it was like an oasis from the noise of the square and complicated maze that are the souks.

It truly is a 'little gem'... we were debating between some larger five star hotels and Riad Joya and I am SO glad we went with the latter. The attention to detail and customer service is astounding. Nordin noticed that my boyfriend developed a strong liking for Moroccan tea and so he offered to teach us how to make it on our own: you simply would not get this same treatment in a larger hotel (no matter how many stars). I cannot recommend staying here highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
157
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Ok----stop what you are doing and trust me on this (I know you have heard this before). This riad (small hotel) has a very high service standard. The staff will gladly drop what they are doing and literally guide you to a restaurant or shop. Not a large staff but a good one. They look after a mere seven rooms and will go to any length to make your stay wonderful. The enclosed photos and video link are very good at showing you the great location. Don't worry the staff will arrange your airport pick-up and meet the driver to guide you to the hidden and exotic space. Do NOT try and be a hero, just accept the hotels help to find the hotel within a strange little souk in an even more bizarre (pardon the pun) place.The hotel had a small orangewood fire ready upon our arrival and dinner ready as we arrived late. DO THIS HOTEL! you will be delighted.

Dennis& Brenda

video link (you will have to cut and paste to your browser) http://youtu.be/kPjuqbtlFME

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms that open into the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2-goodtimetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed three nights at Riad Joya this past November to our sheer delight. As it relates to the room, high-end finishes and linens made for a very regal setting. The room was immaculately kept on a daily basis, and was extremely comfortable and relaxing - very important after many hours spent navigating through the labyrinth that is the old city. Make no mistake, Riad Joya is very luxurious.

As it relates to customer service, Nordin contributed to our overall amazing experience in Marrakech. He was always available to offer advice, arrange tours, make reservations at restaurants, and engage in pleasant conversation. We cannot say enough about Nordin's service, let alone that of the rest of the staff who were always warm and very hospitable.

We highly recommend that any guest staying at Riad Joya have dinner in their restaurant. Truly one of the best - if not THE best - meal we had in Morocco. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious. A great way to start our days.

Riad Joya is an experience in of itself not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCandKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Riad Joya on recent trip to Marrakech for 4 nights - it was truly a unique experience to stay in such a beautifully restored building, amazingly decorated and with great service to match.

On location - the location cannot be beat - we were a 4 minute walk from Djema el-Fna, the souks and only a 15 min walk outside the Medina to Gueliz. All the best shops were right around the Riad as well, and it was incredibly convenient to be able to stop in throughout the day, drop things off, have tea, etc.

On service - Nordin & the rest of the staff are abolsutely amazing. They made staying in the Riad a unique experience with attention to detail, personal service, recommendations, and general help. Upon our arrival, Nordin mapped out eveything in the Medina for us and even escorted us to the square. Breakfast every morning was delicious - and you had the option of eating either downstairs in a nicer dining area or upstair in the terrace. At night, we were able to sit by the fireplaces and read and drink tea and eat pastries. We ate dinner in the Riad one night and it was hand down the best meal we had in our 11 days in Morocco.

It was a great experience to stay in such a wonderful riad and made Marrakech such a special place - I hope to be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
223 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent Riad for a wonderful stay in Marrakech.
Attention to details, great sense of hospitality, perfectly renovated riad and a truly customer orientated staff, make this place a 'must visit'.
Get there and ask the team to help out with your local needs: from golf to hammam, from getting a guide into booking a good restaurant, they will do it flawlessly.
Thanks a lot for the stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have never felt compelled to write a review of any hotel until staying at the Riad Joya- it was just so amazing and so unique that I must share! The Riad Joya was special for so many reasons. Aside from being absolutely gorgeous and impeccably designed the staff was unmatched. Nordin was available to offer any help, from picking us up from dinner late at night to ensure we did not get lost, to suggesting day trips that were not your usual tourist trap. He was one in a million.

At night, we would get home to candles lit, fresh fruit and figs replenished in our room. The food was also incredible to and completely catered to your tastes or restrictions.

They call their Riad a little Gem and I couldn't think of any better way to describe it- it is an absolute Gem within a very hectic part of town that offers the perfect level of peace and serenity you could ever ask for! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Taken as a whole package, undoubtedly the best hotel I have every stayed in. We recently spent a long weekend in Marrakech and Riad Joya was the highlight.

The riad is very beautifully designed. The attention to detail is very impressive. Our room, the Zanzibar, was very generously proportioned. I particularly enjoyed the oversized shower with the water falling from a spout in the ceiling.

Nordim, the major domo, and his staff are incredible. They are friendly without being cloying and extremely knowlegable. No request is too much trouble.

With this level of comfort and service the prices are a steal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#87 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.8 mi away
AnaYela
AnaYela
#153 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#41 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#55 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#136 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Property: Riad Joya
Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Joya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing