We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance defined”
Review of Riad Joya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Joya
Ranked #95 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2011

cool, calm and elegant, Riad Joya is the newest luxury Riad to open in Marrakech. Situated in one of most central positions I have experienced and with a brilliant team of staff it is a fantastic new find. The chef also cooks authentic Italian making a welcome change. I would definitely like return with friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 298 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2011

This gem is hidden down one of the many narrow cobblestone alleys and a world away from its surroundings. A short walk to the main square through clean and thriving markets make its location ideal.

This is a new riad, and we expected the staff there to be proud of their hotel and eager to show their best hospitality. We were welcomed at the airport by a nicely dressed and polite man who escorted us to a waiting car. It was an SUV sort, of which the name escapes me, but it was pleasant and scenic. There was local music playing softly on the car radio, in respect for our comfort.

When we were ushered into the riad's guest lobby, we were brought fresh moistened towels. There were hand made pastries served with sweet mint tea.

We gasped when we entered our room. It was in muted colors, with walls so cool and smooth and a whispery gauze curtain separating the lush sitting room from the sleeping area, giving it an exotic feel. The thick walls made it refreshingly quiet. The beds and pillows were ideal -- we really felt refreshed when we awoke.

We saw other rooms and found each one more breathtaking than the next.

We had every amenity one can imagine. Our butler cleaned and straightened our room, leaving our cleaned folded clothes neatly on the bed. Fresh fruit was presented every day, and bottles of cool fresh water provided. When our wifi internet signal was a bit too weak, he brought us our own wireless router!

The bathroom was pleasing to our sense of elegance and sophistication, with an old-world decor and modern first-rate fixtures.

The dining room was laid out with fresh tablecloths and fully set tables. Our waiter brought our favorite drinks (we pre-arranged, on their request, what we wanted off of a menu). Our meals were exquisite, lovingly prepared by the chef, a young man, trained in the finest hotels, showing us beautiful presentations and tasty and succulent dishes. The chef came out of the kitchen each evening to seek our comments; he truly wanted to please us, as his guests.

One morning we were surprised by a rooftop breakfast. The morning sun was shaded, making it a refreshing way to start our busy day. Breakfast of freshly baked croissants, bread, two kinds of pan cakes, yogurt, fresh squeezed juice, and coffee, were all made that very morning.

Our butler was pleased to escort us around until we became more comfortable, even going so far as to hold our umbrella! The tour guide they arranged for our first day was competent, confident, and very knowledgeable. He met us in the morning and together we walked the most interesting corners of the medina. His English was excellent and we were pleased.

I have nothing but praise for this wonderful riad. It would be a five star hotel anywhere in the world. Even sweeter in contrast to the experience of old Marrakech.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daveargecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Riad Joya was a fabulous choice! From the moment we got off the plane in Marrekech we were taken care of by the staff of Riad Joya. Everything was perfect! The suite was gorgeous! The food was wonderful! The service was top notch! We have stayed at many 5 star hotels and resorts worldwide but none have come close to their personalized service and luxurious facility. This was our first trip to Marrakech and we are look forward to returning. We would not consider staying anywhere else. We had pre-planned a tour, dinner on arrival and amenities - everything was handled perfectly. Email communications before and after our visit were replied to professionally and promptly. I have previously been employed in the travel industry and event planning and I have very high standards in hospitality. I was truly pleased with everything! Thank you Riad Joya for making our vacation to Marrakech so special!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bloom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I just returned from a trip to Marrakech to attend a good friend's wedding. I stayed 3 nights at the wonderful Riad Joya.
From the minute I reached Marrakech I was welcomed by the amazing, professional, friendly and attentive Riad Joya team. I couldn't not have had a better experience. They showed me several rooms and gave me the option to decide which room I wanted. I also got to see every single room in the riad and every room was different but each one was exquisitely appointed. The decor is very understated and tasteful - not one of those cliche Morrocan places with loud colors. The colors are soft. I particularly liked the bathrooms which all have very large showers. The minute you walk into the riad - you are transposed into a very peaceful and elegant world. My family (we have two daughters) and i travel extensively (our last trip was Bhutan in April where we stayed at the Aman hotels) and Riad Joya met (exceeded) all our expectations (and we are very picky.....) I am sure that Riad Joya is also a perfect place to stay with children. Well done to Sophie and her fantastic team (Khalid, Nordine, Mohammed just to name a few). We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dubaitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I stayed at Riad Joya between 28th of April to the 30th of April. The atmosphere is very friendly and the staff tend to your every whim. I was even allowed in the kitchen's restaurant to learn how to cook tagine. The rooms are beautiful and spacious.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roonsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome from all the staff. Just the right amount of attention and help was provided for a relaxing and interesting holiday in this wonderful city. The riad has been designed to a high standard and is very peaceful and beautiful. Its location is perfect for exploring the medina. The food was delicious and the setting perfect both in the dining room and on the roof terrace. All aspects of our stay in Joya could not have been better and the staff are outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arjedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Riad Joya for a special anniversary and enjoyed every single moment there. From the welcome of the staff at the airport we were treated in a warm and friendly yet professional way and throughout the stay we never heard a no to our requests and were treated like family. Riad Joya is so beautiful that we did not want to leave. One night we decided to have a candle light dinner on the roof terrace under the stars and the manager organized for us some gnaoua music to entertain. What an experience! During the day we went out on several excursions organized by the manager and when we went back to the Riad we have always found an incredible peace. Our Suite Ambregris was beautiful. Large bathroom and huge shower. Water pressure perfect like a European city standard! Large separate walk in closet and safe. The room was done impeccably every day by a smiling beautiful moroccan lady and we found a nice fruit surprise upon every evening service. Try the hammam and ask for the possibility to reserve it privately.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltheworld71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#85 of 500 in Marrakech
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#6 of 500 in Marrakech
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
El Fenn
#49 of 500 in Marrakech
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#18 of 500 in Marrakech
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#80 of 500 in Marrakech
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $219 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Joya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing