We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a DUMP stay clear!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Qodwa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Qodwa
Ranked #64 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a DUMP stay clear!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well, where shall I start!! I have no idea how most of the other reviews have rated this place as so good. It is NOT a hotel, more like a back packers lodge. Was expecting a few days relaxing in the sun by the pool but as our mornings started at 5.40am once having been awoken with their morning call for prayer from the mosque speakers it wasn't the best of starts.(Not that I mind anyone following their religion but wasn't quite expecting that!) Rooms good size but dirty, old & in definite need of refurbishment, we had lumps of toothpaste all over the sink, cigarette wrappers on the floor and a used dirty cotton bud on the window ledge!! Our bathroom was very dated, bad smell in there all the time, shower curtain torn & hanging off which matched the paintwork hanging off the walls. Bed linen & towels must be at least 20 years old and very well worn. One day we came back to our room to find the male cleaner having locked himself our bathroom whilst having a shower!!
3 male staff (1 English speaking) attempting to run this place but failing badly. Language barrier not a huge problem as I was able to communicate in French with them. There is no dining room/place to eat but in the gardens which is nice if sunny but you are on old garden furniture with broken cushions, cigarette stained table clothes and swarms of wasps & flies! Food was awful, over an hour to get a toasted sandwich, vegetarian taggine was full of beef, a friend had a burger which was freezing cold in the middle and as for breakfast...! There is no choice for breakfast you are handed the same stuff every morning which consists of bread, cold pancake, yogurt, orange juice - no fresh fruit or choice.
You can not get any soft drinks/icecreams during the day as they only have an old fridge outside which may have water in if you are lucky. We got a taxi to a supermarket and put some supplies in here for our stay.
Ok,the regular shuttle bus that is advertised leaves at 11am or 6pm and comes back from the town at 6.30pm or 9.30pm. However we were told we could have a shuttle bus at 5pm and waited until nearly 7pm for it to turn up and this was the standard of their time keeping! The 9.30pm bus back left at various times between 9.10pm and 9.55pm so if you weren't on it then you are left in the town facing a £15-£20 taxi back - if they can find the hotel, one of our shuttle bus drivers had no idea where the hotel was and luckily got directions form a German couple on board!
The pool is disgusting and I did not go in due to the thick,green slim all around the bottom and the clumps of hair & muck collecting on the waters surface - awful! I did ask them to clean the pool which took 3 days for them to then tickle it with a pool brush but not removing any slim. They do not use any chlorine or chemicals so hate to think what is growing in there - saw a frog swimming in it on my first morning, says it all really!
Many guests checked out as they refused to stay in such a dump, can't blame them but the other option is for a hotel in the town and we didn't fancy the noise levels that came with that.

Marrakech town itself is worth a visit but only for half a day or one day really. Very busy, noisy, smelly & quite dirty as you would expect but the traders within the madena are all friendly and not pushy or aggressive, I never once felt threatened. However, the ladies outside on the square pushing henna tattoos are very aggressive and overpowering - beware!
Food in the town cafes is very disappointing unless you want to eat a panini or a pizza (boring) as the tagines that I saw looked like a pile of slop with very tough old chicken in it! I did not eat any meat whilst there as I was not convinced what animal it would be, plus staying at the 'hotel' out in the countryside I saw a lot from the shuttle bus - like the local farmers with their herds grazing on the dump/tip land next right next to old men hooking out old water bottles to reuse and sell that evening in the square with their version of 'orangina' in it and as for the dead horse laying by the road side....!
I certainly would not take children to Marrakech.
All in all good to tick this country off my bucket list of things to do, would I go again? ..... NOT if you paid me!! Best part was when the plane left the tarmac!

Room Tip: lower ground rooms seemed to be slightly nicer but still wouldn't recommend this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBuddies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    84
    27
    18
    15
See reviews for
54
88
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is run by (what seems to be) 3 young men who were friendly however communication was difficult as only one of them spoke English. I don't expect everyone to speak English but there also seemed to be poor communication between the staff. Messages did not seem to be passed on.

The shuttle was sold to us as being flexible and regular. This was not the case and therefore (in 3 days) we found ourselves 'stuck' in the hotel a couple of times with nothing around for miles. This would not have been a problem if there was a varied menu or if there had been some entertainment however the one dinner we had at the hotel took 1hr to arrive (it was only a toasted sandwich!) and there no soft drinks that night so we were obligated to eat a sandwich and drink water....hardly living it up!

The shuttle was the main issue as it ran at awkward times which meant that you either had 4-5hrs in the main square and nothing to do for dinner or you spent the day and evening in the square and come back at a sobering time of 9.30pm. Taxi's were an option however they get pricey to use everyday and especially as the hotel was sold as having a good shuttle into square.

We did try and arrange a night excursion however the transport did not arrive. It appears that they had tried to contact the hotel 3 times and when on the 3rd time someone finally answered (pushed by us) the transport was too far to collect us. Which leads me back to the lack of communication.

The pool looked great from far however close up, there was mould and grime all around the edge of the floor. I did not get in!

I have to say that the young men do work hard and did endeavour to meet all our requests however everything needed to be requested rather just being included in the service. It became tiresome. I would definitely not rate this hotel at 4* and sorry to say but will not be recommending or returning there.

Room Tip: Room 12 was nice...showers don't have much pressure. Downstairs rooms as bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH812013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

What you make of this place really depends on what you are looking for. If you are coming for a relaxing holiday close to but definitely outside Marrakesh (25 minutes out by infrequent shuttle) to chill by the pool (not in it - see below!) then this is the place for you. The building is beautiful, the rooms are big and the garden is an amazing place to have breakfast every morning. You can eat whenever you want at the Riad and the staff are friendly.

But, if you really want to experience all the city has to offer for you then think again. The last shuttle bus leaves at 9.30pm so enjoying dinner in Marrakesh and seeing the famous square after sun down is difficult and you are extremely restricted by bus times (e.g. we weren't able to spend the day in the city, come back to relax and shower and go back in the evening unless we shelled out 200 dirham each way (ca. £13) for a taxi. The riad is 25 minutes out of Marrakesh so doing this journey 4 times a day really does take up a lot of your holiday time (and can be quite stressful thinking when the shuttle bus leaves), so much so we asked to be transferred to their central hotel. Also, the pool area is beautiful, but the pool is filthy (green grime all over the floor and no chlorine and not clean water). Finally, our driver was sleeping in the car park when we arrived so wasn't at the airport - make sure you have there e-mail address/phone number and contact them if nobody is there!

So, what you make of this place really depends on what you are looking for. A week sitting by the pool in beautiful surroundings - go for it, a week to see Marrakesh and enjoy what the city has to offer, or use the pool - forget about it!

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

''Wauw'', that was the first thing my mom and I said when we arrived at Riad Qodwa.
Everything was perfect... the room, the lounge, the food, the service from the staff.
We'v stayed here for one week, to short, It was all very easy going, just African style. You can order food every time of the day, from 7 til 23 o'clock. The shuttle service to the airport and to Marrakech was good, everything was possible, in consultation with the staff, they where all very helpfull.

In short: I felt like a princes in a palace with only nice people around me... just really enjoyed the stay @Riad Qodwa!

I would recommend it to everyone.

Shokran to everybody of the staff :)

Anna....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaHouwers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I went with 3 other people, we had an amazing week! Met amazing people & are returning again! We went in August 2013. The food, service & people are amazing. You are able to wake up & have breakfast whenever you want, we sometimes woke up at 11am, and had a brunch! The shuttle bus is also a great help, as you don't need to worry about hiring a car!!
This is a perfect holiday if your after pure relaxation & exploring. If your after clubbing & party, its not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the sister Riad Dubai in Marrakesh Kasbah District but came out on a free transfer for a day by the pool. Staff were very helpful, transfer was free and they gave us towels to use.

We set up by the pool which was a good size although inevitably there was a bit of sand on the pool floor. Sun-loungers were comfy and we had no trouble getting a couple of parasols to keep the sun at bay. Pool water looked clean enough and I got the wiff of chlorine so am assuming it was being properly maintained.

The reception area and surrounding public rooms looked clean and well maintained but I didn't see a bedroom so can't comment on those. This is not 5 star accommodation but it is so nice, so authentic and so friendly it more than makes up for the stars.

We had a lunch which was good value and well presented - again staff courteous & helpful.

It took about 25 minutes to get from our Marrakesh Riad to this one and it seemed pretty much in the middle of nowhere with not much around it. The free transfer to Marrakesh I guess allowed you to dip in and out of the city as you wanted. The shuttle seemed to be running pretty often so I wouldn't see that as a problem.

Nice to get out of the heat of the city for a while - highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkrBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

How charming and absolutely delightful it was at the Riad Qodwa during our week's holiday in March this year. Every consideration and kindness was shown to us.The Riad Qodwa is a beautifully furnished Moroccan house situated in exquisite gardens with abundant wildlife. The food was excellent and the service was superb. We recommend the Riad Qodwa for its comfortable accommodation and tranquility, its friendly staff and its large swimming pool area.
P&Psussex.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Atlas Mountains provide a peaceful atmosphere. Rooms with a view of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandPSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.2 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
#203 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
11.1 mi away
Meriem Hotel
Meriem Hotel
#339 of 511 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
9.1 mi away
Riad Fatouma
Riad Fatouma
#431 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Riad Boutouil
Riad Boutouil
#193 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Palmeras
Las Palmeras
#891 of 1,187 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
9.1 mi away
Riad Dubai
Riad Dubai
#396 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Qodwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Qodwa

Property: Riad Qodwa
Address: route 2012 Sidi Abdallah Ghiat Km 12 | Route du Golf royale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Qodwa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad has 4 suites of 55sqm with private room and of 6 rooms of 25sqm. All suites and rooms have air conditioning, TV and dressing room. 4 lounges, swimming pool, 500sqm of terrace and solarium. VIP area, shop presents Moroccan crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Qodwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing