We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quaint place ideally located near Place Jema El Fna” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Zanzibar
Ranked #813 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quaint place ideally located near Place Jema El Fna”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We chose this particular place because it was among the cheapest in this area and conveniently located for our short visit (2 nights).
Despite a few drawbacks and lack of staff presence, we actually enjoyed the feel of total privacy : it felt like being at home, without intruding waiters or peddlers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenMasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    21
    5
    8
    2
See reviews for
27
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Most of they rooms are made for 4 to 5 peoples at +/- 18 Euros per client !! Just in the center, next door to Museum Dar Si Said, 2 minutes to Palace Bayia,,, a really nice place to anjoid few days in a very safe area,,,

Room Tip: If you are 8 peoples, try rooms TSAVO and Tarangire you will have a very balcon to share,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank transafrica4X4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I do not normally write reviews but this hotel deserves it! We literally loved everything, Best hotel I have stayed in by far, staff were super friendly and extremely helpful, awesome location, just 2 minutes walk from Jamaa al fanaa. Place was clean and tidy, we only stayed for one night but they went extra mile for us. I will definitely be coming back to this hotel if I get the chance to come Marrakech again

Room Tip: Ideal for family. Groups of female,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rashed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Zanzibar is a comfortable riad located about 10 mins walk from Jemaa el Fna, near Musee Dar Si Said. The rooms are clean and service good. Only 3 of the rooms have air conditioning which is relatively weak. Only French is spoken. This is not a luxury riad, but good value in a quiet area of the old town.

Room Tip: There are only 3 air conditioned rooms - 7, 8, 9. 7 and 8 have the bath (with shower) in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I read various reviews about this riad and booked as it was one of the only Riads in Marrakech that slept 5 in a room.
After reading some of the reviews i was a little concerned that this Riad wasnt up to standard, well i can tell you i was wrong to be worried!
This was a perfect spot, 5-10 min walk to the main square, a quiet, calm haven in a crazy town.
The staff were very welcoming and fantastic in organising trips and taxis for us, and i even had the most wonderful massage in their massage room, the best i have ever had.
We felt like it was our home there, very friendly, clean and nothing was a problem.
Staff treated us like family.
Decor was traditional Morrocan, which was perfect. Rooftop breakfasts were very welcoming and the weather perfect.
All in all a very happy stay for us in Riad Zanzibar, mum, dad, son aged 13, daughters aged 10 and 5

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madmumof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed in the Riad Zanzibar for a week over New Year and expected to find a well located guest house in a quiet area with reasonable, but not exceptional, facilities. To a great extent we got what we expected as the Riad is well located, some 5 - 10 minutes walk from the main square in the Medina (Jemma el Fna), and is in itself set in a pleasant old building. However, the standard of accommodation was below expectations - even though these were relatively low to start with! Our room had a damp issue which was evident from the smell and the effect it had on our clothes and any paper we left in the room; there was mould developing on the back of the toilet door; the shower had a problem maintaining its water temperature and was open to the rest of the room, meaning that you were on show at all times; the bed was incredibly hard; and our trip must have coincided with those of a number of families as there was quite a lot of noise at the Riad from children running around early in the morning and when we occaionally popped back in the afternoon. In addition, the breakfast is nowhere near worth the €4 charge per person per day, so I would recommend going out instead - you can get a freshly squeezed orange juice in the Jemma for around a 10th the price - and we found no evidence of the shuttle service to and from the airport, including getting no response from the owner when we e-mailed before our trip to try to arrange transport into the city from the airport (hop in a taxi instead which should not cost more than 100 Dirham, but you might need to haggle hard!). Overall we really enjoyed our trip to Marrakech, but I would not recommend staying at the Riad Zanzibar.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt-T78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#69 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
4.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#99 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#138 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,391 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zanzibar

Property: Riad Zanzibar
Address: Derb Si Said, Riad Zetoune Djid | Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #813 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Zanzibar is located in the heart of Marrakesh, a 10-minute walk from the Dar Si Said Museum and the Jemaa El Fna square. It offers an interior courtyard with a pool. All of the rooms in the Riad Zanzibar have private bathrooms, storage space and some of the rooms are air-conditioned. Wi-Fi internet access is available in the Riad's public areas and is free of charge. The Riad Zanzibar also offers an airport shuttle upon request and the front desk is open 24 hours a day. It is just 5 minutes from the Palais Bayia and 8 minutes from the Grand Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing