We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit formal”

Restaurant du Red House
Ranked #8 of 870 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Recommeded by Gault Millau, the restaurant of THE RED HOUSE invite you to enjoy some truly fine dishes, the very best Moroccan cuisine.You can also enjoy the traditional and authenticity decor. Every night, you can appreciate the show of belly dancer and life musicians. The restaurant is open from 11:00 to 15:00 and from 19:00 to 23:30.
london
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“a bit formal”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

we had a good meal here but it was all too oppressive and formal, the decor and the service and the food.

Helpful?
Thank geowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    101
    34
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful building but that's where it ends!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Not sure how this place warrants its excellent reviews on TA. True, the building is fabulous but the food is terrible (mains both cold on arrival) Service is sloppy! This place is not a patch on Al Fassia and charges double the price. Really sorry to be negative about The Red House but we were extremely disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinecrest, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having dinner at Restaurant du Red House is an experience by itself. You really feel like dining in a real PALACE at a fairly reasonable price.
We even went back for breakfast to take some pictures of that lovely "Riad". The Manager was kind enough to allow us to visit some of the rooms. Now we know where we will stay next time we go to Marrakech. We could have have a 2 bedrooms suite for 4 people for what it costs us to stay at the Sofitel Palais Imperial.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent set menu, musician and belly dancer to boot”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Eating out in Marrakesh isn't cheap and this is no exception, but at least the food is well presented, tastes good and doesn't give you tummy upsets! The amuse bouche at the start brought a smile to our faces. Staff are brilliant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent surroundings and food to match”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Great Moroccan food and hospitality. The salad selection to start followed by veal and chicken tagines were the best we had in Marrakech. The live entertainment was icing on the cake. Reasonably priced for Marrakech and a restaurant we would definitely recommend

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant du Red House also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant du Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing