We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good deal with the lunch menu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Porte Du Monde

La Porte Du Monde
Ranked #189 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Telephone 06.12.24.71.15 or 06.69.89.75.71
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good deal with the lunch menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We got to that place following the recommendation of our host - the lunch menu is a good deal for 60dh, otherwise it is not that cheap.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vassil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    65
    32
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Check your bill before leaving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stopped just for a mint tea with moroccan pastries after having had lunch somewhere else. Therefore I can not account for the food. The tea and pastries were fine, but they overcharged us 10Dh (1€) because they said they had served the special "spicy" house tea. I protested that I had not ordered that, but left them go away with this dirty extra tip with the self-promise in mind of reporting this mishap on Tripadvisor. Having to argue constantly with sellers and waiters is soooo tiring!!
We ordered moroccan pastries (40Dh), and mint tea for two (2 x 10Dh), although they charged us for special "spiced" tea (2 x 15Dh; do not orther that. If they actually served this, there was very little "spice" on it as it tasted just like hundreds of other mint teas we had during our stay)
On the good side: nice top terrace (although with no particularly good views) to rest for a few moments from the hustle and bustle of the streets below.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank inmagyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went here because the blackboard showing a fixed price 3 course menu seemed just the job. The starter and dessert were good, but the tagine main course was not great with raw-tasting spices with very tough chicken. (Morrocan salad to start, orange slices or crème caramel to end) But it was cheap. Roof top terrace had views of other roof top terraces, which were not great. But it was close to our riad and I didn't want to walk to the square again! Cheap enough but I wouldn't go there again. Just OK.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank krommerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb food, lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We visited here a few times during our last trip to Marrakech. The staff were so pleasant and helpful. Food was excellent. This was an excellent place to spend our last night in Marrakeck: on the rooftop terrace.
Choices of food were excellent and so very tasty. Other reviews said service was slow. We were told that by the staff when we arrived as the food was freshly cooked. Why the necessity to hurry and have fast food. For those people there is a McDonalds in the New City!! This is ole real Marrakech with a different way and pace of life.
We can't wait to return on our next visit. Tagines were tasty and leaft you wanting more. The pastilla was just superb. Real Morrocan food served by real Morrocans.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenLipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Service OK, food not tasty at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The place itself and the service was OK, but we didn't like the food at all. Quite tasteless, dry food, chicken skewers smelled like if the meat was bad. We left almost everything on the plates. Would recommend a restaurant called "Un dejeuner a marrakesh" instead, which is just opposite - the food was so much better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mdmdmd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porte Du Monde also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Porte Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing