We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest! Great hotel but double charged and won't make it right.”
Review of Riad Hamdane & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Hamdane & SPA
Ranked #174 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed January 5, 2014

BLUF: DISHONEST!!!! They double charged us and 2 months later still will not make it right.

The booking and prearrival all went smoothly. We actually booked a 1 night stay then did a tour and returned for 2 more nights. Prior to arrival my card was charged for the first night so when we checked out for our tour we were only charged taxes. When checking out from two separate rooms the second time we were both told we had to pay for our stay since only the first night was charged. However, once I returned home and checked my banking statement I found they charged me via the same website as the first night for all nights. Prior to our stay they were very friendly and promptly answered every e-mail but now I can’t get a response. After warning them I would be posting this review I got a short response saying they would look into it but no response or action since.

The Riad is actually quite nice and the stay was pleasant. I would highly recommend if you stay here that you use their airport transfer as the Riad is well hidden in the back streets. The bathrooms are tiny and the unenclosed shower runs all over the floor. No air conditioning so it can be quite warm. Breakfast was good but one day wasn’t ready until an hour after the stated time. Great location close to the main square and not that hard to get to once you walk it once or twice.

If you stay here I highly recommend not putting a credit card down and paying in cash so you can’t be hustled as we were. 

Rooms are also very hot (only some had fans). Breakfast was also not ready until 45 minutes late one day.

I recommend having the hotel pick you up from the airport as finding the Riad would be impossible alone.

Room Tip: Try to ask for one with a fan as it gets quite hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad H, Propriétaire at Riad Hamdane & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback within this platform following your stay here at Riad Hamdane & Spa.
It was a great pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you found our Riad quite nice with great location.
However, we read with great desapointment the inconvenience caused by a billing error.
Upon discovering the error, we contacted you to resolve the problem.
Please be aware that we have honored our commitment and rectified the situation:
Please, be assured that corrective measures will be taken to fix all dysfunctions mentioned in your comment in order to make the stay of our guests easier in the near future.
We hope to welcome you again at Kenzi Club Agdal Medina.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 313 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Lovely hotel, cracking decor, food good, room was a bit damp/musty but OK. Very close to the madness that is Jemaa el Fna. I recommend getting them to meet you at the airport in thier car (20 Euro), you'l NEVER find it on your own if you've never been there before I promise you.
I will stay here again and have already recommended to mates.

Room Tip: Nothing on the ground floor, aim high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shadwell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad H, Propriétaire at Riad Hamdane & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Riad Hamdane & Spa with us and other Tripadvisor users.We are very happy to hear that you appreciated the riad and the decor and we thank you for your recommendation.
We read with great disappointment that you found the room damp and musty and we apologize for all inconveniences.However since your last stay on November, we fixed the dysfunction that you mentioned in your review.
Look forward to welcome you back again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have stayed 2 nights in Riad Hamdane et Spa in Marrakech, it was one of the best stays i ever had in my life. i'm as well a hotelier and i worked in a 5 stars luxurious hotels, but the service there and the approach of the team and the management i have never seen anywhere else. I would recommend all the travels who would like to experience something special to visit the Riad Hamdane et SPA , it's only 5 minutes walk from the famous square.

I wish you all the best and im pretty sure that whenever i fly to Marrakech, i will stay over in your beatiful Riad.

best regards

Room Tip: I would recommend all the travellers who wants to see Marrakech to stay over there, it's wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gnawa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad H, Propriétaire at Riad Hamdane & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post feedback further to your stay at Riad Hamdane & Spa.
We are very happy to hear that you had a lovely stay at the hotel, that you appreciated the riad great location close to the Jamae El Fna Square.
Thank you again for recommendation.We look forward to many other visits of yours.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend had the pleasure of staying here in late August. The Riad Hamdane is not only in a fantastic location (just a couple of minutes walk to the Jemaa Lafna squar) the most accommodating staff I have ever encountered.
We had no issues of finding things to do as Firdaws, Hamza and the rest of the staff always had helpful suggestions and pointers.
The breakfast every morning is delicious with homemade bread, fresh fruit and pastries.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Luuk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad H, Propriétaire at Riad Hamdane & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments posted on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
I was delighted to read that you appreciated the Riad fantastic location, our friendly and polite staff and found our services to your satisfaction and was pleased you enjoyed our delicious breakfast.
Look forward to welcome you again in your next trip to Marrakech.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Riad HAMDANE is a lovely Riad »guest house » with everything we needed The roof terrace is a perfect setting for the ample hot breakfast. Most staff were super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very generously. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the shower was fantastic!
big thanks to Hamza the owner of the riad and his staff

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philippe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you have in mind to visit the touristic objectives around Jamma El Fna Market, then you could take into consideration a location where to spend the nights as close as possible. The area is full of Riads and hotels and you can choose, but from my point of view, Riad Hamdane is a cozy place with nice and quiet interiors. The terrace on the roof is beautiful and gives you a view over the neighborhood.
The personnel is very friendly and helpful.
They are offering a parking place near by which is very important for those who come by car.
The rooms are not sophisticated but the beds are comfortable.
The breakfast on the terrace is good.
We've been three persons and we felt ok.
After checking out they allowed us to leave the baggage till late in the afternoon when we finished our visit program.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SlowDreamRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just got back from 3 nights stay at this Riad with my two young adult daughters. Had a fabulous time in Marrakech and this riad helped to make the experience a good one. Situated in the heart of the medina but in a quiet alleyway. Very comfortable, extremely clean, wonderfully friendly, helpful staff. The riad is exactly as the pictures portray. We had a room for 3 with a fridge and aircon and it met all our needs. The staff bend over backwards to give you information and assist in making your stay in Marrakech a fabulous experience. Recommend getting the riad to collect you from the airport (20 euros) otherwise you would never find it!!! A perfect place to stay if you want simple, clean, friendly place within easy access to everything the medina has to offer. Wouldn't hesitate to re-book

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saramichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#76 of 502 in Marrakech
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#110 of 502 in Marrakech
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad des Eaux et Spa
Riad des Eaux et Spa
#128 of 502 in Marrakech
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#219 of 502 in Marrakech
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#166 of 502 in Marrakech
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
#228 of 502 in Marrakech
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hamdane & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hamdane & SPA

Address: 88, Rue Bab Agnaou Derb Sidi Bouloukate 40030 Medina | Rue Bab Agnaou - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $63 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Hamdane & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes' walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square, this Moroccan riad offers traditional seating areas and a rooftop terrace with views over the Medina. There is also a spa with a hammam and massage rooms. A traditional Moroccan décor are offered in the rooms at Riad Hamdane et SPA. All rooms have free Wi-Fi access and also feature a minibar and an LCD with satellite channels. Riad Hamdane’s breakfast can be enjoyed in guest rooms or on the rooftop terrace while admiring views of La Kotoubia. Guests can also sample traditional dishes and tajines in the restaurant. Free Wi-Fi access, sun loungers on the terrace and luggage storage are some of the other facilities on offer in this hotel. Public parking is possible nearby and Marrakesh-Menara Airport is just 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Hamdane & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing