We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Warm Welcome in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hamdane et SPA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Hamdane et SPA
Ranked #295 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After arriving in the heart of Marrakech relatively late in the evening, the Riad Hamdane was the perfect place to find the calm and relaxing side to the city, with a traditional Moroccan feel. The Riad is situated very closely to the main square, however it can be difficult to find for the first time. The Riad offered to arrange a collection from the airport, which on this occasion we didn't use, I would advise guests to do this as it quite difficult to find otherwise (of course you can ask a local to guide you which adds another type of adventure).
Breakfast was served on the roof terrace which is a lovely suntrap (with shaded areas) and the Riad staff were very flexible with the timings of breakfast, which for a big group (12 of us) worked extremely well. The breakfast was very generous and we were definitely all full for a day in the City.
Marrakech can be a confusing city to navigate your way around (be prepared to get lost), however the Riad staff went out of their way to help us and ensure we found the places we were looking for. We loved the hand drawn maps and they didn't let us down. The staff even escorted us to the main square to get a good deal on a horse and cart ride as well taking some of the group to another Spa.
Although I didn't have a treatment at the Riad, other members of our group and all raved about it and certainly looked relaxed afterwards!
The staff all took time to get to know us and I cannot commend them enough for making us feel welcome at the Riad and Marrakech. When the guide books say that a Riad is like being welcomed in to a friends home, they got it right with Riad Hamdane. This is somewhere I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have air conditioning so if you are heading to Marrakech when the weather is ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhiRhi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    62
    19
    9
    15
See reviews for
46
61
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were in a group of 4 and the room was adequate. Breakfasts on the terrace were fresh and typically Morroccan. Excellent location within the old city whilst being very quiet at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Drake186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

starting with the postive side:
- the staff was very friendly, polite and helpful
- the Riad was beautifully decorated in warm colours

negative side:
- we stayed in for a couple of nights in the Suite and one night in a standard room - both rooms were not satisfying
- we payed a lot of money for the Suite. Western price - but no western comfort. Now dont get me wrong. We chose the Riad because we like to have more authenticity + we are willing to scale down our expectations. Because we know that we are traveling into another country and fully respect the differences in standards. But if you - as the owner of the Riad - ask so much money for the room, I think its not acceptable to hang up my clearly visible dirty (!) towel (which I through down on the floor) back to its old place.

There were constructions going on right above our head. The NOISES in the morning were horrible and we couldnt sleep at all. Beside the construction you could hear everything going on around you so clearly. The door slamming, people talking, steps from outside and above your head (because the terrasse for breakfast was just above us). Maybe the noise is an result of the construction of the Riad - but still...no fun when you dont get a good sleep!

There were smells coming from the pipe in the washroom. The shower was (half)blocked & (half) broken. The water swashes on the floor. Far from the -as they called- "luxury massage shower"

Many little things that were annoying (especially when you are in you holliday and want to relax!). We were tired, couldnt sleep and didnt feel comfortable. Not worth its price!!!

- The standard room was even worse. No decoration, very dark, shower kind of gross.

- The breakfast was boring -EVERY day: bread, 2 marmalade, honey, cream cheese, 2pancakes, 1 piece of cake (at least there were great fresh orange juice + the staff was kindly bringing us omelette + tea)

All in all its a nice place to look at and the staff was friendly & polite. BUT no comfort. Its up to you whether you like to enjoy your holliday in comfort or you would give it up for a little pretty decoration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SummerH0ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this charming Riad. Staff were friendly and attentive and it was a nice touch to be offered tea on arrival. We commented that we wanted to eat out and did not know where to go...not a problem...we were promptly guided to a beautiful rooftop restaurant for a lovely meal. The riad is beautifully decorated and our room was spacious enough for the 5 of us and very quiet.
The riad is hard to find initially but conveniently located.
We had a wonderful stay here and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Excellent stay in this authentic, comfortable, friendly traditional and accommodating hotel which is a stones throw from the central square, the markets et al. Clean and comfortable with nice towels and free wi-fi. What more do you need? Oh do take a walk up to the rooftop terrace. Not THAT easy to find initialy down the maze of walkways. Get a really good map or get someone to show you (in return for a few Dihram).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were offered mint tea when we reached. We had a room on the ground floor and it was not noisy. The room was nice and cosy but it's a pity there is no heater - I must admit though that the room wasn't too cold so we were fine without heater. The bathroom is nice and bright and we appreciate that a lot. There is a tv as well but there is no English channel which was a pity again. The riad is very near to the Djemma El-Fna, only about 2mins walk at most. It was a pleasant walk.

The staff were nice and once we wanted to order mint tea as we were not well and they gave it to us for free. The staff were always smiling and that made us feel welcome. One huge thing we appreciate is that they were not pushy.We ate out daily and they didn't mind that. Breakfast was nice but unfortunately there was a cat hanging around at the terrace and I'm afraid of cats. They were very kind and allowed us to have it at the courtyard. The staff serving the breakfast was also very nice and obliging. They were always helpful and answered our questions when we need help. The room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels given.

They had a performance for new year and asked us to join but we were not well so we stayed in our room instead. We highly recommend Riad Hamdane - it felt very homely. On the last day, they even help us get a person with a cart to carry our luggage. I would definitely stay here again if I'm in Marrakech. We stayed 4 nights here and felt it was too short. We love Marrakech and Riad Hamdane.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank the_spinsterella_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Quite near Jama El Fna square, the center of the old city of Marrakesh! This beautifully constructed Riad reminds its visitor the authenticity of the Moroccan civilization. For five days, I had the chance to have a panoramic view on the Jamae El Fna square while eating my breakfast on the terrace. A few minutes walking were enough for me and my family to reach the center of the city of Marrakech. The beauty of the city of Marrakesh and the quietness, emplacement, hospitality of the staff and furniture of the Riad are enough reasons for me to think about going back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cartern1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#211 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#161 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#204 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#321 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#63 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hamdane et SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hamdane et SPA

Property: Riad Hamdane et SPA
Address: 88, derb Sidi Bouloukate. | Rue Bab Agnaou - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Hamdane et SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au coeur de la Medina, et dans le quartier le plus prise de la Medina de Marrakech (Sidi Boulokate) decouvrez un lieu calme, authentique et chaleureux. Facile acces a pied, notre riad chambre d'hotes est idealement situee dans la medina pour rejoindre rapidement les celebres sites touristiques de Marrakech : la celebre place Jamaa El Fna, la Koutoubia, les jardins de Majorelle et de la Menara, les palais Bahia et El Badi, la medersa Ben Youssef, le musee de Marrakech et les fameux souks de Marrakech. Vous tomberez sous le charme de notre maison d'hotes, qui par sa decoration et son mobilier, reflete l'art et l'artisanat traditionnel marocain. Le RIAD HAMDANE ET SPA a ete renove dans la pure tradition locale et offre confort et excellent rapport qualite/prix. La convivialite du RIAD HAMDANE ET SPA en fait l'endroit ideal pour vos vacances en famille ou entre amis. Des votre arrivee, vous serez chaleureusement accueillis par Notre staff, Ce dernier se fera un plaisir de rendre agreable votre sejour a Marrakech en vous faisant decouvrir sa culture, les traditions de son pays et la cuisine marocaine. Le riad dispose de 2 suites pour 2 et 4 personnes et 14 chambres repartis en 2 etages, chacune de ses chambres joliment decoree dans un style zen et epure, revelant le savoir-faire artisanal marocain. Vous pourrez effacer la fatigue de la journee en profitant au riad du Hammam traditionnel, suivi d'un massage a l'huile d'argan. Le salon vous accueille autour du patio calme et paisible. La terrasse vous offre l'opportunite pour profiter d'une vue imprenable sur la Koutoubia et la Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Hamdane et SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing