We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Let down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia Aguedal

Al Fassia Aguedal
Ranked #44 of 769 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended on Tripadvisor, by our hotel and a series of locals and so we went for our last night meal.

Certainly seems to be the place to be seen at the moment. But the ambiance, service and quality of the food was all very poor.

Tangine or Couscous were the only real options on the menu and none of the dishes, especially the couscous had any flavour.

We had eaten at far better places and were disappointed to leave Marrakesh on a low.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baggiesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    215
    81
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ate dinner on our last night in Marrakech, we were keen to find authentic food but in a modenr setting and this suited our needs perfectley. The food was incredible and the restaurant really impressive. Portion sizes were verging on the ridiculous, they must waste so much food! The Royal Couscous could easily have served 3 people, I've never felt so stuffed after a meal in my life! Very reasonable prices however the servcie was not good, the waitress barely attended to us at all and we spent all night filling up our own drinks and having to ask if we ever needed anything - a bit of a let down in such a nice place. Overall I would reccomend Al Fassia, the food is great but don't bother with starters or you'll have no chance with your main course!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very good dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Once more we decided to choose this restaurant because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and this time we were very satisfied. It is located in a new area of the city in front the Aguedal gardens and it has a nice atmosphere. The Moroccan food served is very good and the service of the waitress team, very efficient. Relatively expensive, but worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheGreenApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had read many reviews of this restaurant, and booked a reservation for our last night in Marrakesh as a special treat. The ambience is nice, but the restaurant is outside the Medina. Although we had a driver and this was not a problem, I would not recommend making the trip there. The menu is traditional Morrocan, but I have tasted better kabobs,tagines and other dishes elsewhere in Morroco for less money. The service was o.k. but nothing special. All in all this restaurant was good but nothing really special. I would not Return or another meal there,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best Moroccan restaurants, if not the best, in Marrakesh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

In fact, one of the best Moroccan restaurants, if not the best, in Marrakesh. We are living in the Red City for 3 years and since the day we arrived we were looking for good restaurants and after trying many restaurants, almost 90% of them were bad. My husband and I joined a local friend for dinner at Al Fassia Agdal. After so many disappointments in Marrakech, our hopes were quite low. Finally here we found THE RESTAURANT! They serve Moroccan food and everything was EXCELLENT! The finest and tastier couscous ever!! Full of flavour and well presented. Good service by a charming team of ladies and pleasant setting. Not cheap, but It was such a relief to find a good restaurant in Marrakech.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia Aguedal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia Aguedal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing