We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marrakech sun in February” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech to your Saves list
Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech
av Abdelkrim El Khattabi | Guéliz, route de Casablanca, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #434 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Marrakech sun in February”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for eight nights b/b ok the hotel was basic but clean and bed comfortable clean towels daily I found the staff very friendly the walk to town was enjoyable then we were told by hotel staff about the local bus which was a short distance from the hotel the restaurant s in the nearby streets were very good and at a reasonable price compared to the main square I would stay here again

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ravvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Does what it says on the tin! Basic but very clean and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely fresh breakfast. Would definitely stay again. Ideal if you're on a tight budget and want somewhere central for sightseeing. A bit shabby in parts but sparky clean!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are on the main road so could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie7Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Let's focus On The positive first. We were given the apartment for a couple of days and it was lovely. Really big, lovely feel to it, nice green decor. Plenty of seating and sockets for charging things. The bedroom area had its own doors which was nice for privacy (we went with our daughter). The pool was another plus, and was great for sunbathing or just leisurely swimming in. We spent most of our afternoons by the pool. However when we moved into the second room there was a horrible smell eminating from the bed sheets. The air con didn't work properly and was either on constantly at night or not working during the day. The cleaners also removed our duvet which meant we were very cold at night. The breakfast appeared to be just mint green tea and white muffins. So not breakfast at all then. Worse was that it cost €5, more than most meals in restaurants. Avoid it. It is also extremely far away from the Djema el fnaa square, we tried walking but it nearly killed us. Also, don't go in Ramadan as nothing's open and everyone is bad tempered. Plus I was extremely hot as my wife and daughter were obliged to wear 'decent' clothing and therefore I did too (not wishing to propagate the whole 'one rule for men and another for women' bollocks that seems to be so apparent throughout the world). Maybe a hotel nearer town would have been good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougjohnston40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We signed up to Zahia as part of a Thomson holiday. It did what it said on the tin. Cheap, reasonably clean adequate bathroom and comfy bed, as it was cold in January we didn't use the pool but it looked fine. I would criticise reception staff for being very slow in telling you that they have a book of very reasonably priced trips out. We saw it three days into a weeks holiday and had already booked elsewhere. We booked one trip with them and it was cheap and well serviced. Also once we'd realised they did breakfast and not just coffee we had breakfast there and it too was reasonably cheap

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not suitable for those who have difficulty with stairs.
There was no inner door on the lift so perhaps not good for children either.
Back packers hotel really.
Really enjoyed walking around the city from there and into the old town - we were on holiday so we had fun looking at the sites off the main roads.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomIrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I needed a room for the night in Marrakech before our flight home. We found this 'hotel' on laterooms.com and booked it. It was a good deal only 21 euros for the night. When we arrived the hotel looked dull and dingy. The man behind the desk looked quite scruffy and didn't seemed bothered to greet us when we arrived. He says that he doesn't speak english but he did speak quite good broken english with us. We paid for the room (without viewing it - BIG MISTAKE!). He gave us the room key and dismissed us to the 4th floor. When we got to the lift we were scared it would break down it looked so old. It has no inner door so you literally can see every door and the floor whizzing past you. When we got to the floor there were no lights on the corridor as you have to keep pressing a button to get light. We arrived at the room and as we entered you could immediately smell the musty and rancid smell. The room seemed to have a layer of grey everywhere. The TV was sticky and didn't work. The bed looked filty with a hole in the cover of the blanket. They have a 1920's style dial up telephone. I was dreading the idea of having to sleep in that bed and could only imagine they may have bed bugs. The balcony looked and felt totally unsafe, it sloped and had cracks down the wall. The bathroom also smelt unclean and looked horrid. Me and my husband decided that we would not be able to have a comfortable night sleep in this place and left to The Red Hotel further up the road near the Theatre Royal in a much nicer part of town. Highly Recommend.

The 'hotel' Zahia is located in the new area of Marrakech so not near the medina (old city) where the jemaa el fna is (the square where everything is happening). Even this hotel is not really in the nice part of the new city but there is a supermarket nearby and a few cafes. It is very budget, scraping the barrel kind of budget, and if that is your thing then go for it. But if you want peace of mind and a nice clean bed and bathroom look elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sumayyah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 29/08/12 for 3 nights and again on 08/09/12 for 4 nights. Wish I could have cancelled last ,4 nights. I went to morocco with my partner and my son, it was for his 21st birthday. The room was clean, very tatty, cupboards falling apart ect. I brought t/bags, sugar and dried milk from uk, as there was a kitchen in our apartment for 4. We arrived at 9pm, but could'nt even have a brew as there were no cups, only 2 plates, 2 pans, 1 kettle, 2 ringed electric worktop thing with dodgy plug, but I managed with glasses. air-con not working properly, so very stifling in the room, had to shut bedroom door to keep main lounge area cool. guy on reception not interested, cracked on he could'nt understand me [he could]!.be aware of rotting wood on the balcony, it is loose, someone could fall. suite 18 first floor. All electrics are dodgy.

Room Tip: second floor suite slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gr20goody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#418 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#470 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#416 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#354 of 490 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#398 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech

Address: av Abdelkrim El Khattabi | Guéliz, route de Casablanca, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #434 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#