We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ideal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech
Save
You added Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech to your Saves list
Ranked #457 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ideal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Does what it says on the tin! Basic but very clean and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely fresh breakfast. Would definitely stay again. Ideal if you're on a tight budget and want somewhere central for sightseeing. A bit shabby in parts but sparky clean!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are on the main road so could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie7Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    10
    3
    15
See reviews for
7
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Let's focus On The positive first. We were given the apartment for a couple of days and it was lovely. Really big, lovely feel to it, nice green decor. Plenty of seating and sockets for charging things. The bedroom area had its own doors which was nice for privacy (we went with our daughter). The pool was another plus, and was great for sunbathing or just leisurely swimming in. We spent most of our afternoons by the pool. However when we moved into the second room there was a horrible smell eminating from the bed sheets. The air con didn't work properly and was either on constantly at night or not working during the day. The cleaners also removed our duvet which meant we were very cold at night. The breakfast appeared to be just mint green tea and white muffins. So not breakfast at all then. Worse was that it cost €5, more than most meals in restaurants. Avoid it. It is also extremely far away from the Djema el fnaa square, we tried walking but it nearly killed us. Also, don't go in Ramadan as nothing's open and everyone is bad tempered. Plus I was extremely hot as my wife and daughter were obliged to wear 'decent' clothing and therefore I did too (not wishing to propagate the whole 'one rule for men and another for women' bollocks that seems to be so apparent throughout the world). Maybe a hotel nearer town would have been good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougjohnston40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We signed up to Zahia as part of a Thomson holiday. It did what it said on the tin. Cheap, reasonably clean adequate bathroom and comfy bed, as it was cold in January we didn't use the pool but it looked fine. I would criticise reception staff for being very slow in telling you that they have a book of very reasonably priced trips out. We saw it three days into a weeks holiday and had already booked elsewhere. We booked one trip with them and it was cheap and well serviced. Also once we'd realised they did breakfast and not just coffee we had breakfast there and it too was reasonably cheap

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not suitable for those who have difficulty with stairs.
There was no inner door on the lift so perhaps not good for children either.
Back packers hotel really.
Really enjoyed walking around the city from there and into the old town - we were on holiday so we had fun looking at the sites off the main roads.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomIrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I needed a room for the night in Marrakech before our flight home. We found this 'hotel' on laterooms.com and booked it. It was a good deal only 21 euros for the night. When we arrived the hotel looked dull and dingy. The man behind the desk looked quite scruffy and didn't seemed bothered to greet us when we arrived. He says that he doesn't speak english but he did speak quite good broken english with us. We paid for the room (without viewing it - BIG MISTAKE!). He gave us the room key and dismissed us to the 4th floor. When we got to the lift we were scared it would break down it looked so old. It has no inner door so you literally can see every door and the floor whizzing past you. When we got to the floor there were no lights on the corridor as you have to keep pressing a button to get light. We arrived at the room and as we entered you could immediately smell the musty and rancid smell. The room seemed to have a layer of grey everywhere. The TV was sticky and didn't work. The bed looked filty with a hole in the cover of the blanket. They have a 1920's style dial up telephone. I was dreading the idea of having to sleep in that bed and could only imagine they may have bed bugs. The balcony looked and felt totally unsafe, it sloped and had cracks down the wall. The bathroom also smelt unclean and looked horrid. Me and my husband decided that we would not be able to have a comfortable night sleep in this place and left to The Red Hotel further up the road near the Theatre Royal in a much nicer part of town. Highly Recommend.

The 'hotel' Zahia is located in the new area of Marrakech so not near the medina (old city) where the jemaa el fna is (the square where everything is happening). Even this hotel is not really in the nice part of the new city but there is a supermarket nearby and a few cafes. It is very budget, scraping the barrel kind of budget, and if that is your thing then go for it. But if you want peace of mind and a nice clean bed and bathroom look elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sumayyah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 29/08/12 for 3 nights and again on 08/09/12 for 4 nights. Wish I could have cancelled last ,4 nights. I went to morocco with my partner and my son, it was for his 21st birthday. The room was clean, very tatty, cupboards falling apart ect. I brought t/bags, sugar and dried milk from uk, as there was a kitchen in our apartment for 4. We arrived at 9pm, but could'nt even have a brew as there were no cups, only 2 plates, 2 pans, 1 kettle, 2 ringed electric worktop thing with dodgy plug, but I managed with glasses. air-con not working properly, so very stifling in the room, had to shut bedroom door to keep main lounge area cool. guy on reception not interested, cracked on he could'nt understand me [he could]!.be aware of rotting wood on the balcony, it is loose, someone could fall. suite 18 first floor. All electrics are dodgy.

Room Tip: second floor suite slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gr20goody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

When we got hotel Zahia at night, the man at reception, altho seemingly nice, could not speak english. The corridors were so dark, we had to use our cellphones for light to find our room. The room was pityful, we didn't even wanna use the bathroom or get into the sheets. The hotel is far from the djemaa el fna, u have to take a taxi there. The next morning when we complained and wanted to check out, the manager put up a big fuss and refused to refund us for our intented stay!! Hotel Zahia was a terrible experience for such a beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mahlika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#409 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#431 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
22.9 mi away
Le Coq  Hardi
Le Coq Hardi
#464 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#459 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amine
Hotel Amine
#460 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#274 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech

Property: Hotel ZAHIA Marrakech
Address: Avenue Abdelkrim Khettabi | Guéliz, route de Casablanca, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #457 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing