We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cheap bare essentials!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cecil Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Ranked #274 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap bare essentials!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This place was perfect for me since i dont like to spend a load of time in my hotel room. Very easy to find, close to the djemaa el fna. I had room number 5, wifi in room, shared bathroom.. But it was clean! No funny smells.. I found some beard hair on my bed.. Breakfast included fresh orange croissants bread butter coffee. Friendly staff.. Helpful.. Little english. Only 110mad a night!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ladykim68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    173
    55
    12
    7
See reviews for
33
139
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located, clean and comfortable beds- with breakfast- worth £20 a night, if you can stand the smell of the drains!
We stayed 2 nights and had to leave because of the smell coming from the bathroom- we were on the first floor, maybe if you are higher up the smell might not be so bad?

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MeenaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

You can see the huge palm tree from all over the square, it grows from inside the ground floor courtyard, really fabulous building if you want something traditionally Moroccan (the buildings over 200 yrs old) the price was unbelievably cheap and is about 20yards off the main square. The roof terrace was great, big thanks to Mohammed who works the night shift who couldn't do enough for us. Spotlessly clean really authentic absolutely loved it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittywitch19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in a single room. The room was pretty decent- with an ensuite bathroom, comfortable bed and air conditioning. The free breakfast served on the rooftop terrance was nice- mostly assorted breads, cofee, tea and orange juice. The man at the front desk was friendly, and check in was simple. The only minor complaint was the nose- which came from the central coutyard, and the window to the alley. Lots of people talking loudly- so you might want to sleep with ear plugs. The best asset of this hotel is the prime location- right in Djemma El Fna square. Overall this was a great value for the price, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

gorgeous building, fab location right on the main square (on the square- find le grand balcon cafe and its the alleyway on the right, through an arch).
room was clean, had air conditioning. the roof terrace where you have breakfast is great for chilling out on during the day / evening too.
very friendly helpful staff.
you can't escape the noise from the square (which didn't bother me), but if you are a light sleeper- take earplugs!
i highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a great stay at Hotel Cecil last month. So close to Djemaa el'Fna, location couldn't be better. The air-con worked perfectly, was the best feeling to come back to the room after a hot and muggy day in Marrakesh. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We went on a Sahara tour for two nights and the hotel stowed our luggage away safely for us until we returned. Breakfast was lovely, served on the rooftop terrace. Couldn't ask for much more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrkckny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is very close to Djemaa el Fna, only 20 meters to the square. We booked double ensuite room with AC, and the room we had was a big one, with two single beds plus one double bed! and private bathroom. Our room was in third floor, but unfortunately no lift in the hotel. The breakfast was more than enough (they provided bread, milk, Moroccan tea, and orange juice all at once that we couldn't finish them all!).The roof terrace was very nice, we had breakfast here and we could see the square from the terrace. There's also (free) left luggage in the hotel. Knowing we're going to other country by plane, the hotel staff was offering us (a little bit compulsing if i could say) airport transfer cost 70 dirham. We thought the taxi would be grand taxi and it will be parked near the hotel. But apparently, the taxi was petit taxi, and we had to walk to the main street where we could find many taxis with much much cheaper cost. It was dissapointing. It's better to walk a little bit and get the taxi on the street, no need to book at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Titry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#211 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#329 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#139 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aday
Hotel Aday
#350 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#212 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Layla Rouge
Riad Layla Rouge
#170 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cecil Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecil Marrakech

Property: Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Address: Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Cecil Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing