We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the right boxes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cecil Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Ranked #256 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ticked all the right boxes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Dates of stay - 1st - 4th and 7th - 10th October 2012.

Hotel Cecil was recommended to me by a friend who knows my accommodation needs, style and budget - she recommended well. I originally booked for 3 nights but I wasn't there long before I decided I'd book for my last 3 nights in Morocco too.

The location of this hotel could not be better, being just a few short steps from the Djemaa El Fna Square and a short walk from many souks and interesting roads and alleyways. Although there is a lot of hustle and bustle and noise on the square it was barely noticable in the hotel.

The staff were welcoming and helpful. The rooms, certainly judging by the one I had, are small and compact but very clean and provide all you can need on a few nights stay - cleanliness, basic comfort, security. Loved the shower - best temperature mix and water pressure I've found in a hotel in ages!

Breakfast - the only meal available - is taken leisurely on the roof terrace in a shaded area. It is a simple but more than adequate meal consisting of fresh orange juice/tea/hot milky coffee, pain au chocolat, french bread, butter, apricot jam.

I had arranged an airport transfer on arrival through the hotel contact, which unfortunately went a bit wrong. However, a word with the staff at the hotel and an email to the gentleman I had originally been in contact with and all was made well. Because of this, I would say that if you do book here (or anywhere else in the Medina area) please make sure you know exactly the transfer arrangements and how to get to the hotel because the tourist cars are not allowed onto the square after a certain time in the morning, although taxi's are.

Would I stay here again? Yes

Slight Downside - as with most properties of it's type there is no lift and you may have go up and down many stairs. If you have mobility problems it is better to be aware of this.
Big Upside - free wifi available in the communal areas.

Room Tip: Be aware that all rooms come off a central open square. The only ventilation and natural light come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boringFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    163
    50
    10
    7
See reviews for
28
133
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great hotel in the centre of Djemaa El Fna - typical Morroccan style. Rooms overlook the hotel squre with tall palm tree in the middle.
rooms are basic, so is the bathroom - there is no toilet paper and it does smell of sewage there, bo other than that it was great.
There are noises from the square at night - but you are located next to the busiest and exciting arket square in the wolrd!
Breakfast was served on top of the terrace - bread with jams and butter, orange juice, tea or coffee.
It is ok for a backpackers that need somewhere to stay and don;t excpect 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polish_Girl_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

During my last stay in Morocco I've been twice to Hotel Cecil, once with a friend and once alone. The riad is very nice, fsimple and basic furnished with a large palm tree in the center. I had a room on the ground floor with bathroom. When you fall asleep you hear the drums, but that's normal because you are just a short walk from one of the most exciting places in the world. Hearty breakfast served on the roof terrace and very helpful staff. They organize tours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurared_l16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The location, as everyone previously said is perfect, in the heart of Marrakesh stone's through away from Djemaa el Fna, what can be a little bit of a trouble during the night time due to the sound of drums. But you get easily used to it. The stuff was helpfull. The place was clean. The value for the money is very good: 10 Eur/PP for a double room with the breakfast. The only little minus is that we had to share the showers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panterix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

During my vacation, I went twice to Hotel Cecil. Rooms are neat, everything is very clean. First we had a room without airconditioning, this was a bit hot. Later we had one with airconditioning, perfect! 220 DH including breakfast!
Staff was very helpfull finding taxis and telling us what a right taxi fare should be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NL_Leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stumbled upon the Hotel Cecil trying to find a hostel off this square reputed to have a pool. After landing in 50.5 Celsius July 2012 temperatures and lugging a backpack, I gave this little Riad a shot. I was met by a kind manager, booked a single, very clean room for about $20 Canadian with a great new air conditioner, and got a delicious rooftop breakfast to boot!
Now, travellers who have been to Morrocco know what a great deal accomodations and restaurants are, but the fabulous location of this little gem, right off the Square but immune to the late-night noise makes it a real treat. And it is easy to find after getting lost in the Souks! Just look for the drink machine to the right of the terrace-topped restaurant at the far end of the square. I agree with other reviews that location is definitely the draw for this Riad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taghazout
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Cosy and comfortable hotel located right in the middle of marrakech medina. clean rooms, nice terrace on the roof. staff is helpfull. Breakfast is included, hot water 24/7, clean bathroom and toilete. next to the hotel u can find main city atractions. easy to find.

Room Tip: if its summer take a ground level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollycowSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#303 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#330 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#258 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#209 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#121 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aday
Hotel Aday
#267 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cecil Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecil Marrakech

Property: Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Address: Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cecil Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing