We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Oasis”
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
Ranked #10 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just returned home after a 5 day stay in this amazing Riad. An oasis of calm in amidst the madness that is Marrakech. Personal service from Laurent and his team really made us feel special. Accommodation and food excellent. Rooms spotlessly clean and I have nothing negative to say about this place. If you want to stay somewhere really special forget the rest this is the BEST..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeteCaerdydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Sir,
I thank you for your kind review. Bousta and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for you stay at Riad Al Badia. It was very nice meeting you and your family, your extreme kindness, your sense of humor, your interest for Marrakech and south of Morocco were very much appreciated and we keep a very interesting souvenir of our conversations. Thank you all for everything you gave us and we all hope to see you again soon. Take good care of all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 574 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have just arrived home today. We have had the most amazing time, such a lovely chill out place and such lovely people to look after you, very clean and attention to detail. Don't be put off by the entrance to the Riad as this is typically Morrocan. We met some amazing people and had wonderful food. Thank you.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Agathe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Madam,
I thank you for this review and we are very touched that 2 months later you still remember your stay at Riad Al Badia. We did not forget you either. Bousta and his all team keep a very warm and friendly souvenir of your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight seeing you discovering our city, our culture and our cuisine during these few days among us. We wish you all the best for the nearest future and we all hope to see you again soon. So thank you again for everything you gave us. Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hi

We stayed here one month ago and it is without doubt the most kind, assuring and attentive service that I have been on the recieving end of anywhere in the world. From the moment the door was opened to being waved away in our taxi, we were encountered by genuine warmth and sincere affection. In what can initially be an intimidating city we were immediately welcomed and comforted, the genuine sanctuary of the Riad itself coupled with the kind advice and recommendations of the wonderful staff cannot be over emphasised.

To be honest, our stay crossed over with Emily K's from Lytham St Anne's and without being too personal she was clearly the antithesis to this kind of human goodwill and is probably better off ensconced in the safety of a locked room in her house, recieveing nothing but hand written notes and postcards - never to be spoken to again.

Bravo Laurent and team.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for your lovely review. Bousta and his all team join me to express you once again our heartfelt gratitude for your stay with your all family at Riad Al Badia. It has been a very nice meeting again, with everyone of you in your family and we felt very honoured to receive you to celebrate Madam’s birthday. I realized that you met “Mrs Emily K” previous reviewer on this website, we did answer her and I really do believe they just booked a Riad with no knowledge at all of what a Riad is. We feel extremely privileged, this type of misunderstanding in making a reservation is extremely rare, les than 1%, but unfortunately can still happen. 99% of our guests, do book Riad Al Badia with the knowledge and therefore have their expectations that we will satisfy as much as we will be able to. This comments coming from mistakes made in booking a Riad or false reviews, are unfortunately part of the game, Tripadvisor does not check the accurary of messages, this must be accepted and this is not that much, I suppose! Anyway, I thank you for your testimony and the all team join me to wish you all the best for the future and we hope it will bring you back to Marrakech. Take good care of all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We returned last week from a three night stay at the Riad. We had a fantastic time. Riad al Badia was just perfect, quiet, clean and comfortable with friendly helpful staff who went out of their way to ensure our stay was memorable. Our thanks especially to Bousta for his attentiveness, for showing us the best route to the medina and his knowledge of places and restaurants to visit, and to Laurent who accompanied us to the local chemist to translate as our French is limited.
Breakfast on the terrace each morning was lovely, and we ate in at the Riad one evening which was excellent, inexpensive, beautifully presented home cooked food. We would thoroughly recommend booking the first meal in at the Riad before braving the madness of the medina. We also arranged the taxi from the airport direct with the hotel which we would also recommend as the hotel is a little outside the medina, which was great as it was quieter and far less claustrophobic than those inside the alleys of the medina and souks. Early March was a fantastic time to visit Marrakech lovely and warm during the day, cooler in the evening, a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robbos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you for your absolutely delightful review that went straight to our hearts. It has been a great pleasure to receive you at Riad Al Badia, Bousta, Samira and the team are really looking for receiving again in a not too far future, as it has been such a pleasant meeting. Your kindness and smiles everyday, your interest for our culture and our city all was much appreciated so thank you for having made us meeting with you. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Riad Al Badia. The place is a lovely cosy retreat from the chaos and vibrancy of the streets outside, but what makes this riad a lovely place to stay are the wonderful attentive and very pleasant staff. Bousta, Samira, Hanane, Fatima, Laila and Mohammed made us feel so welcome. This is a small riad situated down a narrow alleyway from the busy road, and at first we wondered where we were going as the lane had a lot of building material on it, but as you enter you are met with a beautiful, cool and relaxing interior, a lovely retreat from the bustle of the outside. We had a lovely room off the roof terrace, and enjoyed breakfasts each morning in the lovely sunshine! We would definitely stay here again and recommend it. It is a short walk, about 5 minutes to Place des Ferblantiers, where you can buy metal work, and lanterns hassle free and the prices are good value. Also there is the Kosybar, a really nice place to unwind in the evening, which sells alcohol, and you can look out over the city from the rooftop. It closes at about 1am. The Margorelle Gardens is a lovely retreat with a beautiful tea room. The 16 November square in Gueliz, is a 25 minute walk from place des Ferblantiers, and worth doing, passing the magnificent Koutoubia mosque and Ensemble Artisanal, where gifts are a fixed price. It is also a cool place to have a refreshing tea. Behind the post office at 16 November Square, down a road which leads off from the back of the post office is a fabulous fish cafe, Snack Al Bahriya, which is packed with locals. You sit at long tables and eat your food while enjoying the atmosphere. A few other good food places to eat. On the Place Jamaa el fna, chez chegrouni has wonderful chicken tagines, although the chicken with lemon was slightly salty. The kashbah cafe is worth a visit, with a roof top cafe. The best way is to wander and watch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Sir,
I thank you for your lovely review. Bousta and his all team join me to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pleasure for everyone to receive you these few days. Your kindness and enthusiasm will remain in memories and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future, maybe when our neighbours rebuilding their houses at the moment will have finish their new homes ! Thank you again for everything and take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked a week here back in March 2013, and had an amazing time. We had one of the less expensive rooms, up on the roof. We had an amazing time - breakfast on the terrace every morning. My other half doesn't usuall eat breakfast, but the yoghurt, the mint tea and the pastries even got him out of bed. The location was a little out from the medina, but that was fine for us as we like to explore. We had dinner at the Riad a coupe of times, ordering in the morning, and the food was out of this world - more expensive than the restaurants around the markets, but the 3 courses were all lovely. We had a lamb and date tagine one night,and a chicken one the other time. Only recommendation would be that they serve wine by the glass - as a non martini/beer drinker I struggled for choice. Wonderful service and very happy memories.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cathhhyyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Madam,
I thank you for your lovely review, Bousta and the all team wish to thank you from the deepest of their hearts. It was a pure delight having this week at the Riad, which is located inside the Medina… the Medina is the old city, inside the walls. We all hope to see you again soon, Samira has a lot more tajines to make you discover! Thank you again for everything and take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked the Riad after looking at the previous reviews on tripadvisor.
Booking was simple and all our requirements met, we arranged a taxi through the hotel which I would recommend, the path to the Riad is a bit daunting but once you get used to it it all adds to the experience.
We stayed to celebrate my mothers 70th, we had a special meal on the first night and Laurent also arranged musicians, it was a really lovely evening, the meal was beautifully cooked and we were talked through how to eat it - soup with a honey type biscuit - lovely!!
The next day Laurent and Bousta showed us maps of the medina advising us where to go and to enjoy ourselves along with other tips such as how to talk to the stall-holders etc, Laurent then took us to the square which was very helpful.
My husband, myself and my daughter had the two rooms at the top of the building - sorry can't remember the colour names - the bathrooms were quite small but everything that you needed was there. There was no internet on the top floor which was great, this ment my 13yr old who was in a room on her own, couldn't stay on her i-pad till all hours and had to go downstairs for internet access.
Laurent told us it was our home and it certainly felt very welcoming and homely.
Overall - we had a wonderful stay - the Riad was lovely, the staff friendly and helpful and I would deffinately stay there if I ever go to Marrakesh again.

Room Tip: The coral room looked the nicest, the standard rooms on the top floor are probably a bit noisier whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Purplecarrots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Madam,
I thank you for your delightful review. Bousta and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We were very honoured to meet your family and receive you for this very special event, your Mummy’s birthday. What a privilege for us to organize this evening. The all team keep a very warm, and enthusiastic souvenir of your all family we all hope to be able to see you again in a not too far future, just send us a short mail and we will organize everything you need. Thank you all for these fantastic moments you offered us and we wish you all, the best for the future. Take good care of all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
1,297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 502 in Marrakech
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
843 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.9 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $107 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Badia is located in the southern part of the Medina, in the district of Berrima, the district of the storks and the palaces. Riad Al Badia offers six rooms of three different categories, a lounge, a dining room, a patio with refreshing bassin -swimming pool and two terraces. Riad Al Badia offers a Moroccan experience through its hospitality, the opportunity to discover our oriental culture, our traditional and fresh home-made Moroccan cuisine at «La Table Al Badia» but also the traditional Moroccan materials, such as bejmat, zellij or tadelakt used in the decoration of Riad Al Badia and finally, we do provide a daily assistance to let you apprehend Marrakech and Southern of Morocco. Staying at Riad Al Badia is to discover and to experience the genuine Morocco where the "Tailor-Made" service is our daily philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing