We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of calm and luxury”
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
Ranked #10 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Al Badia in late Feb for 5 nights and would highly recommend a stay here. It’s a good idea to arrange with Laurent (the owner) via email for a private car taxi from the airport – we were driven almost to the riad and then our cases were carried the 100 metres or so to the door. The riad is situateda short walk down a dusty alleyway but this works in its favour being away from the noise of the street – as soon as you enter the door as if by magic the street noise disappears. The staff are brilliant, Bousta the manager is always there to help with advice and directions and the rest of the team are always there to help and always with a friendly smile. We ate there on the first night due to a late flight and Samira’s cooking was delicious.

Breakfast on the terrace was a lovely way to start the day – fresh breads, coffee and orange juice in the warming sun – perfect!

Our room was a junior suite – good size, tastefully decorated and the bed was comfortable – we slept well every night although that may have something to do with walking down every souk in Marrakech ! Throughout the décor is beautifully simple and tasteful. Huge wet-room style shower with lots of hot water and luxurious bathrobes too!

Location - The riad is at the southern end of the Medina, about 50 metres down a narrow alleyway from the main street – do not be put off by this - it makes for a very quiet location and we never felt unsafe getting to / from the door. It is 5 minutes walk to the nearest small square (Place des Ferblantiers) and then only 10 minutes more to the main Jemaa square. The Riad is also quite near to many of the old palaces and the Kasbah area – so in my view perfectly located.

Our 5 days in Marrakech was fantastic – it is an amazing experience and when we go again we will stay at the Al Badia – I think Lauren summed it up when he said ‘this is your home … ‘ - the staff could not have looked after us any better and we look forward to staying there again soon.

Room Tip: We had a lovely junior suite on the first floor - no external windows meant almost no noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NICHOLAS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for your lovely review. Bousta and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight having you these few days at the riad, your interest for Marrakech and South of Morocco, your enthusiasm for our cuisine and culture were all very much appreciated. Thank you so much for everything, we felt privileged to receive you and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Please do not change a thing, both of you are absolutely perfect guests and we wish you all the best for the nearest future. Hopefully it will bring you back “home” at Riad Al Badia. Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 593 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights here in the riad.
Excellent service of the super friendly staff! Lovely, quiet riad in the old city.
Breakfast is nice and very good to have on the terrace outside.
To see Marrakesh you don't need the full 5 days, but it's nice to enjoy the sights and the rest.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fanny_G_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Madam,
I thank you for your very kind review. Bousta and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. Your extreme kindness with everyone of us was much appreciated. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights mid-February. Liaised with Larent at the Riad prior to our trip - was given good advice around exchanging money and booked the airport transfers through them - previous visitors had commented that this was advisable as the Riad would be almost impossible to find otherwise. Introduction, map and advice from Bousta on arrival was extremely helpful together with guidance to the nearest landmarks. Perfectly placed to explore. We stayed in the Junior Suite - the Riad's website was very helpful in choosing a room to suit our needs. The Riad was very clean throughout. We enjoyed all of the traditional Moroccan food served and booked in for 2 evening meals during our stay. We enjoyed the used of the rooftop terrace during the sunny days. We booked 2 trips through the Riad which we really enjoyed. The Riad is a peaceful haven after the 'craziness' that is Marrakech!

Room Tip: Use the Riad's website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Madam,
I thank you for your very kind review, it has been a pure delight for the all team to receive your these few days. We keep a very enthusiastic souvenir of your stay among us and I thank you for mentioning of any future guest, our website permits to choose one’s room, to contact us directly… what makes things easier. We are extremely grateful so thank you again for everything and we all hope to be able to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights in February, and would definitely recommend the Riad Al Badia.

The staff were all fantastic - nothing was ever too much trouble. They were friendly and attentive, and hapy to suggest places of interest and show us how to get around.

The environment is calm and peaceful, and is a short of mins walk from the centre of the Medina.

We ate out mainly, but had one evening meal in the Riad, the standard was extremely high and would recommend you eat there at least once! Great value for money, if we find ourselves in Marrakech again we wouldn't bother looking around for anywhere else. Thank you for a great holiday!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank RugglynMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Madam,
I thank you for this lovely review and Bousta and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight for the all team to receive you and see you discover our city and our culture. We all hope to see you again soon, you are home at Riad Al Badia, you know it, any time. Thank you again for everything you gave us and take absolute good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in February. The Riad is nice but what they think of as attentive service was slightly overpowering for us. We felt our every move was monitored and had to try to avoid bumping into the ever caring staff or we would receive some 'helpful advice' on a trip to take or somewhere to visit, which for some may be what you want but we quite simply wanted to be left to ourselves to enjoy our holiday.

The rooms in the Riad are also very different for the same price. The Ivory room is on the ground floor, it is tiny and very noisy due to the night porter, guests coming & going in the evening and then breakfast served early morning right outside your door. The turquoise room is on the first floor & much larger and nicer than ivory but the bathroom was not great. The coral room, also on the first floor is the nicest by far, it is large the bathroom is nice & clean and its the quietest. These rooms are all classed as 'superior' but they are not equivalent, definitely request the coral.

The breakfast at the riad was really the low point for us. You were offered no choice and after 5 days of the same incredibly sweet bread based products by the last day we really could not stomach any more.

The riad is peaceful, clean and nice to come back to after the madness of the streets and main square but sadly due to the points I have made above really not for us.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Madam,
I thank you for your review. I was away most of the few days you stayed at Riad Al Badia, but I was in contact on a day to day basis. I would say that there is a “casting” mistake as clearly a Riad was not at all what you were looking for. You are more the people of a standardized hotel, anonymous, where omelette would be served as lunch or dinner. I was chocked when the staff reported me they made an omelette for diner for you, they wanted to be as kind as possible, as this “mis-location” was absolutely obvious, from the moment you entered the Riad, and the all staff decided to help as much as they could to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Honestly we do have an excellent chef, who makes a genuine fresh home made Moroccan Cuisine, I would never have accepted that we serve an omelette as this is not at all what we want to provide at Riad Al Badia. I would have though that with more than 200 reviews, praising the service and personal touch it would have been clear that we do not operate as a standardized hotel, we are exactly the opposite. We are not used to guests looking for “1 bed in Marrakech”. Our guests coming at Riad Al Badia are looking for a personal service and attention, looking to get everything organized as we can expect on holidays, and to experience the Moroccan hospitality and discover our Moroccan and oriental culture and cuisine. I saw you on departure, you probably noticed, maybe not, that I even did not come to include me nor came to say good-bye, as I felt that a “simple” and “educated” “Hello” would have been too much attention. A place where to stay is a matter of understanding of what we do propose to our guests. Then according your expectations you decide to book or not too book.Busically I do agree with you, a Riad and especially Riad Al Badia is not for you, this was a mistake at booking . We feel sorry that you did not realize where you were making your reservation when you choose your accommodation, next time travelling, a standardized hotel would maybe be easier for you to apprehend. We wish anyway all the best for the nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This place couldn't be any friendlier and more welcoming. Nice building with attractive roof terrace. The only downside is that the road from the main square is very full of traffic and not an enjoyable walk. But the place itself is lovely. One tip: make sure you have information about EXACTLY where the Riad is because it's not somewhere you can stumble across by accident.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Saul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Sir,
I thank you for your kind review. Bousta and his all team join me to thank you for this stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight to receive you these few days. The best tip for arriving at the Riad, as per nearly all riads in Marrakech, just send us a short mail prior to arrival. We will be able to provide our future guests with clear directions to reach the Riad as you experienced yourselves , this is very easy when you know. All riads are located in the small streets of the Medina, which is not difficult, it seems to be difficult first time, because everything is so different, but when you know where to go, this is very easy, second option, for 18 euros for 2 persons we do organize our driver who can collect our guests from the airport and accompanies them to the door of the Riad, which is even easier! This transfer option is available also from the Train Station or from a Bus station for 14 euros for 2 persons, just send a short mail, we will help you organize your arrival the best way. Having said this, once again thank you for everything, your happiness and your smiles will remain in memories. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed at the Riad Al Badia for three nights in February. The Riad is a hidden gem and an oasis of calm from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. From the moment we arrived the staff made us very welcome and provided the highest level of service. The Riad is small and there's a real personal touch to the experience. One of the best bits was breakfast and sunbathing on the roof terrace. We'd definitely recommend staying here for those people who want to experience the real Marrakech.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCGD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you for your kind review. Bousta and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight having you these few days among us. Your smiles and your great kindness with everyone of us were very much appreciated. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,058 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
873 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $112 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Badia is located in the southern part of the Medina, in the district of Berrima, the district of the storks and the palaces. Riad Al Badia offers six rooms of three different categories, a lounge, a dining room, a patio with refreshing bassin -swimming pool and two terraces. Riad Al Badia offers a Moroccan experience through its hospitality, the opportunity to discover our oriental culture, our traditional and fresh home-made Moroccan cuisine at «La Table Al Badia» but also the traditional Moroccan materials, such as bejmat, zellij or tadelakt used in the decoration of Riad Al Badia and finally, we do provide a daily assistance to let you apprehend Marrakech and Southern of Morocco. Staying at Riad Al Badia is to discover and to experience the genuine Morocco where the "Tailor-Made" service is our daily philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing