We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very friendly, very relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly, very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This place couldn't be any friendlier and more welcoming. Nice building with attractive roof terrace. The only downside is that the road from the main square is very full of traffic and not an enjoyable walk. But the place itself is lovely. One tip: make sure you have information about EXACTLY where the Riad is because it's not somewhere you can stumble across by accident.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Saul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your kind review. Bousta and his all team join me to thank you for this stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight to receive you these few days. The best tip for arriving at the Riad, as per nearly all riads in Marrakech, just send us a short mail prior to arrival. We will be able to provide our future guests with clear directions to reach the Riad as you experienced yourselves , this is very easy when you know. All riads are located in the small streets of the Medina, which is not difficult, it seems to be difficult first time, because everything is so different, but when you know where to go, this is very easy, second option, for 18 euros for 2 persons we do organize our driver who can collect our guests from the airport and accompanies them to the door of the Riad, which is even easier! This transfer option is available also from the Train Station or from a Bus station for 14 euros for 2 persons, just send a short mail, we will help you organize your arrival the best way. Having said this, once again thank you for everything, your happiness and your smiles will remain in memories. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    23
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
290
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed at the Riad Al Badia for three nights in February. The Riad is a hidden gem and an oasis of calm from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. From the moment we arrived the staff made us very welcome and provided the highest level of service. The Riad is small and there's a real personal touch to the experience. One of the best bits was breakfast and sunbathing on the roof terrace. We'd definitely recommend staying here for those people who want to experience the real Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCGD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I thank you for your kind review. Bousta and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight having you these few days among us. Your smiles and your great kindness with everyone of us were very much appreciated. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Fab riad, located conveniently in southern medina near royal palace. A 15 min walk to the main square. Riad arranged our taxi from the airport. Excellent attentive service. Good orientation chat, with suggestions of where to go and also guided us to the main road, pointing out landmarks so we could find our way back! Delicious breakfast. Bed was a bit too firm for us, but liked the duvet. Very clean, although our bathroom smelt of drains (but this is Morocco)! Wifi was handy. Staff arranged a massage at nearby Hammam. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you very much for your very kind review. Bousta and the all team join me to express you our gratitude for having chosen Riad Al Badia to celebrate your husband’s birthday. You really appreciated your extreme kindness and your interest in Marrakech and our culture. So thank you for everything. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Once you have negotiated the dirt alleyways and the obstacle course of heavy cables, rubble, and the odd motorbike, you step into another world. The riad is clean and comfortable, one can enjoy breakfast on a delightful roof terrace, but above all the staff could not be more helpful and accommodating. The room we stayed in would not have suited larger folk as the shower room and the approach thereto were miniscule.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pin-ears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you for your kind review and Bousta and his all team join me to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight for the all team to receive you these few days. I take the opportunity of your comment to remind that Riad Al Badia provides with 3 different types of room: The standard rooms (the smallest category) located on 2nd floor on the terrace, the superior double rooms (the intermediate category), located on ground floor and 1st floor of the Riad and the Junior Suite (the largest category) located on 1st floor. This gives more options to everyone. We hope to see you again soon. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

No Riad could better encapsulate the essence of Marrakech as much as this lovely guesthouse.After only seven days I left a little bit of my heart.Laurent and his team generate effortless warmth and anchorage in the heart of the teeming Medina.The tranquility of the accommodation and the level of attentiveness has been carefully designed to echo characteristic Arabic hospitality providing both comfort and respite from both climate and daily bustle of street life.All food created by Samira is a delight;breakfast is tasty and authentic and set us up for a day's strolling for miles.I also recommend her beautiful evening feasts which demonstrate the huge variety of taste and flavour within Moroccan cuisine.No two Tajine taste the same! For less adventurous or able guests it WOULD be possible to experience this as an "all-inclusive stay";however Laurent is a brilliant ambassador for the town and shares his genuine respect and love for the culture with lots of valuable suggestions as to how to eat well locally or to experience life in a less privileged way. Highlight of my visit was an afternoon spent learning Moroccan embroidery skills with the inspiring Hadiba at a day centre for people with disability located in the heart of the soukhs.As women of all nations do; we laughed,bemoaned our lots,dissed men,ate,drank mint tea and created beauty.Although this was arranged by staff at the Riad amongst a range of activities offered-there was no sales pressure and many of the activities are community enterprises which generate local income.Last but not least a visit to a Hammam is a MUST.Couple sessions are available in the tourist focused spas offering Hammam and massage using lotions and potions with the nicest natural ingredients at prices way below UK rates.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank mary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for this lovely review, the all team join me to express you once again our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It was a very nice meeting, and sometimes words are not enought to express what you feel. We were very impressed by your understanding of our culture, our city, our handcraft, your interest in visiting places and in meeting people in such a genuine, generous and simple way was extremely appreciated. Samira had a tremendous pleasure in cooking for you and make you discover her homemade, genuine Moroccan cuisine. We can not express how much we did enjoy any single moment that you shared with us, I keep a wonderful and very interesting souvenir of our conversations. Thank you for everything and thank you for you, we feel very privileged that you choose Riad Al Badia and that we have been able to meet you. Please do not change a thing, you are absolutely fabulous. We all hope to be able to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I experienced near royal customer service at this location and look forward to my next visit when I travel to marrakesh. As anyone can expect, Marrakesh can be noisy, crammed, and a little crazy; however, this place delivered a level of zen and the staff went out of there way to ensure a delivery of customer satisfaction that was beyond anything I could have imagined. This place actually had me pondering about opening up my own Riad.

Pros: customer service was excellent. They made you feel at ease and were always willing to help. They constantly offered to take us to the town center by person if we requested. Once we arrived late at night around 9pm and asked if there were any places we could buy fruits for the morning, they immediately sent a runner to the local market to bring us a wide assortment of fruits and vegetables so that we could pick from and to have for breakfast.

Con: The riad can be tricky to find. If you rely on google maps for most of your navigation, you'll find that google maps will drop a pin in the center of a gray area mass and is unable to provide resolution on which alleys and corridors you should navigate to in order to get to the hotel. I suggest finding a local kid or shop owner nearby that can take you there. If you decide on this method, remember to have some change on you as you will be charged a few coins (for tip of course)---remember that cash machines only allow you to withdraw in large denominations so ensure you break up your large bills before asking anyone for help so to avoid the awkward situation where you're trusting the random stranger to bring you correct change.

I decided to stay at this place because I noticed that the proprietor responded to each comment on trip advisor. Definitely a sign of someone who cares.

Room Tip: Know how to get there before you land. Bring small denomination of currency in case you ask someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your kind review and the all team join me to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia.
It has been a great pleasure for the all team to receive you. Regarding tip, I would recommend instead of looking for local kids, that any future traveler just contact us by e-mail prior to arrival, we can organize our driver to come and collect our guests at the airport for 18 euros, or if our guests prefer to come on their own, we can send clear directions to come to the Riad. This would be easier, GPS technology is not yet there. Thank you again for everything and we all hope to see you again soon. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights and were extremely impressed with the level of service and care taken by the entire team. The Riad itself has a very serene and peaceful feel to it, and which is especially important after a day in the Medina. The room was lovely and clean and the breakfast was delicious. Laurent, Ahmed and the entire team were really exceptional and we can't recommend the place enough. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.
Ben & Shira
Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsfriedland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Sir
I thank you for this lovely review. Ahmed, Bousta and the all team join me to thank you very much for your star at Riad Al Badia. We all keep a very warm souvenir of your stay among us. We really appreciated your interest in our cultura and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Ahmed left us to get married and went back to his home city but he saw your review and asked me to thank you. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#23 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Property: Riad Al Badia
Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Badia is located in the southern part of the Medina, in the district of Berrima, the district of the storks and the palaces. Riad Al Badia offers six rooms of three different categories, a lounge, a dining room, a patio with refreshing bassin -swimming pool and two terraces. Riad Al Badia offers a Moroccan experience through its hospitality, the opportunity to discover our oriental culture, our traditional and fresh home-made Moroccan cuisine at «La Table Al Badia» but also the traditional Moroccan materials, such as bejmat, zellij or tadelakt used in the decoration of Riad Al Badia and finally, we do provide a daily assistance to let you apprehend Marrakech and Southern of Morocco. Staying at Riad Al Badia is to discover and to experience the genuine Morocco where the "Tailor-Made" service is our daily philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing