We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“First class establishment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
Ranked #18 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“First class establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

This riad is beyond good, it is exceptional.

The service from all the staff was 5 star. From the initial greeting where they sit you down with mint tea and go through how to orientate yourself in the maze that is the medina, recommend good restaurants (which were fantastic) and the must-see sights, to a tour of the riad.

The riad itself looks to be in a shabby side street and distinctly dishevelled from the outside. Once you step inside though, you enter an oasis of calm. It's warm at night when it was cool and cool during the day when the sun was baking. The atrium is very tastefully decorated with a little ornamental plunge pool and lovely columns. The breakfast room is elegant as is the rooftop terrace and sun deck.

Our room was spacious, well lit, with a safe and a lovely ensuite with its own little corridor. Shower was powerful and hot.

Breakfast was filling with lots of breads/pancakes, yoghurt, mint tea, coffee, orange juice and my personal favourite - fig jam.

For all its fantastic facilities and design, the real clincher in this riad is the staff.

Laurent, the manager, has clearly and obviously brought high-end French hospitality to this riad in North Africa.
All the staff were very friendly, helpful and interested but in that uniquely perfect French blend of being attentive but not in your face.

Little things really made a big impression on us:
- Ahmed taking us to the first main square from the riad to show us the route through the maze of side streets
- At the end of our stay, filling in our departure cards for us, all ready to slip into our passports.

In one word - exceptional.
Stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Doctor,
I thank you so much for your lovely review that went straight to our hearts. It has been a great pleasure having you these few days at Riad Al Badia. Your interest in our culture, in discovering Marrakech, our way of life and our cuisine through various restaurants was just a pure delight. We keep a very elegant souvenir of your stay with us. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for everything you gave us and we wish you a very happy New Year 2014, we hope this will be a succesfull year and maybe it will bring you back to Marrakech. Do not change a thing, you are both absolutely fabulous and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    24
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
303
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Recently returned from a four night stay in this Riad. The management and staff as friendly and welcoming as ever they cannot do enough for you. If you want a table booked or a taxi hired they will do it for you.

They seem to be a font of all knowledge about the medina and tourist attractions. If its your first visit they will escort you part of the way and point you in the right direction.

Well worth our second visit

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cornishpastie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir, dear Madam,
I thank you for this lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude it has been an equal pleasure to receive you this second time at Riad Al Badia, where you remain home, you know this. Time is going and nothing changed. You were as we reminded you, still extremely pleasant, always kind with everyone of us, interested in discovering always a bit more. Thank you ever so much for everything you gave us again this year and we wish you both all the best for 2014, that will maybe bring you back to Marrakech again, who knows. You are both always more than welcome. Thank you again for everything you gave us. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights recently, very friendly welcome, excellent introduction, with viewing of Medina from roof top, Ahmed is the information hub, gave us Short history, directions in Medina, some tips to see, shop, restaurant etc. very friendly staff, always eager to help U. Food prepared by Samira, to be ordered in the morning, fresh from the Market, real home cooking, excellent. Laurent is quite entertaining.
Very accommodating re breakfast times, we always had it on the roof terrace
Free WiFi, very helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stes0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Ladies,
I thank you for your kind review. Ahmed and his team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for this stay at Riad Al Badia and we all hope to be able to receive you again soon. We wish you all the best for this new coming year 2014. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had an amazing stay. Food was really good, bed comfortable. Great recommendations of things to do, and great introductions to Moroccan culture. They really did everything to make us feel welcome and ensured we had a great stay.

It was quite hard to find, but the locals were happy to guide us to the door. Its down a side street just past the Berrima Mosque, down the right hand side of a pharmacy.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the turquoise room, but just go for what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your lovely review and it has been a great pleasure for the all team to receive you. As you noticed, like for 90% of Riads in the Medina, Riad Al Badia is located in small pedestrian streets. Car access is less than 1 minute walk and it is easy to find when you got your bearings. We can not recommend enough any future traveller to contact us ahead and we can organize airport transfer with our driver waiting for you at airport or train station and accompanies you to the door of the Riad or we send you directions, at least you know where to go. Thank you so for all you gave us and we all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Our best wishes for this new coming year. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

A real old city Flavor.. new experience .
Straight description: excellent service from ALL team, and real Moroccan food.
Arrival: It is located in Berrima area, within the Medina, and across the city from Train Station, so you have to FARE DEAL with taxis.
Warning: It is not on main street, but into thin walking passages, so don't get scared... you are safe... guided by a local boy (deal with him the tip too)
Any question or concern?: AMHED (manager) will solve it ALL.
Suggestion: Do Not pre-book restaurants ( as I did), they have great suggestions.
Payments: they take it All: Euros, Dollars, Dirhams, Major Credit Cards, ... so, have a good trip!

Room Tip: Few rooms ( 6) , so book any you find available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armendariz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you so much for this lovely review. Ahmed and the all team would like to thank you for all the exchanges and they keep a very enthusiastic souvenir of your stay at Riad Al Badia. We all hope to see you again soon and we wish you both all the best for the nearest future. Take good care of both you and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked for my wife's birthday and we are both used to travelling for work so were looking for something 'extra'. We definitely found it.
This review has a mixture of advice and info which I hope will help someone like me who had not been to Morocco / Marrakech before.

First off we took up the option of transfers to and from the airport. Arriving at night in the south of the Medina and walking through small alleys to the Riad is a little daunting and I would not have liked to do this with an unknown taxi driver. We were well met by a very friendly driver at the airport and he explained some of the sights and districts on the way.

Upon arrival at the riad we immediately felt at home. The riad is small, but exceptionally clean and atmospheric. The welcome session was excellent and all the staff are a mine of great information about life in Morocco. I had no idea of what to expect in Marrakech and without the sound advice of Laurent, Ahmed and Bousta I think I may have found the hustle and bustle of Marrakech just too much. They explained tipping customs, how to avoid certain tourist traps (like the ever helpful guide who walks you somewhere when you ask for directions) and the ever perplexing customs behind haggling.

The room was delightful and breakfast was served whenever and wherever we wanted. There was more than enough food, it was all home made and it was presented in a style that would grace most five star hotels. We had two evening meals in the hotel and two evening meals out in the Medina. The food in the Riad was the best food we ate in Marrakech. The tagine we had on the first night was amazing and the food on our last night was incredible...salads we had never even though of and beef tagine with artichoke and peas!

The Hammam the riad organised at Les Bains de l'Alhambra was brilliant. Strictly for the tourists and done with brilliant over the top style (I shall never forget the rose petal bath next to my wife in a double tub.) The massages were also very good.

They booked dinner for us at the Dar es Salaam restaurant for my wife's birthday, which was beautifully kitsch with amusing waiters, good entertainment and good food (see separate review).

The Riad staff organised a ride in a Caleche (horse drawn carriage) for us and made sure the driver knew to go through the parts of town we had not yet seen. Every evening we arrived back at the Riad to a warm welcome and general interest in our day.

Marrakech is an exhausting and exhilirating city. The people are friendly in a way which requires understanding, as was explained to me by Laurent, it is all a little piece of theatre that is intended to be enjoyed on both sides. If I compared the experience of the Souks in Marrakech with Istanbul's Grand Bazaar, the Souk is so much more polite and done with an air of fun, but without this 'briefing' from Riad staff I would still have misconstrued what was going on.

Ahmed and Laurent both suggested we visit the 'centre artisanale' and this is good advice, if nothing else than to get ball park figures for asking prices in the Souk.

Two final suggestions for Marrakech - the Maison de la Photographie is amazing and the lunch on the roof was fantastic; second there is a small shop selling 'throws' on the way to Place Blanche Fer, the price is half that in the Souk and the lady is lovely. Ok sales pitch over, but get ready for more of the same in Marrakech.

Overall our stay in Marrakech was incredible. I am sure there are lots of good riads to stay at and different places suit different people. The little bit 'extra' for me at this hotel was the staff and the help they provided in being able to get the best out of Marrakech. As the saying goes life is what you make it, and in this case all the team (Samira, Hanane, Fatima, Bousta, Ahmed, Laila, Abdel Haddi and Laurent) made life in Marrakech that little bit better and easier to enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SDWLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for this lovely review that went straight to our hearts. Ahmed and the all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We all really enjoyed every moment shared with both of you during our time in Marrakech. It was a true privilege to receive you for Madam’s birthday and it was a pure delight seeing you every day discovering our culture and customs, so different from « western » and understanding our city and its people. Your true interest in our history, our culture, our cuisine, our customs, our values were very much appreciated and this is an other meeting that is over the words. You just reminded us why one day we decided to operate in the tourism and the hotel industry. Thank you so much to both of you, our very interesting conversation will remain in memories and we keep a very elegant souvenir of both of you. We all wish you the best for the nearest furture and hopefully this new year 2014 will bring you back to Marrakech, you are always welcome. Thank you for all this emotional moments you offered us and see you very soon. Take good care of both of you and please do not change a thing, you are both fabulous. Thank you ever so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Thank you to all the team at Riad Al Badia, especially to Ahmed for his wonderful recommendations and assistance. The customer service you receive is wonderful including a walk to the main square on your first evening to get your bearings. Our stay here was amazing and Laurent, Bousta, Samira and the rest of the team are professional and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Although the bathrooms are small, you are staying in a traditional Riad in the Medina. The reason this Riad is highly rated is due to the service and welcome you receive - it is not another soul-less chain hotel. Highly recommend Cafe Arabe and the Hamman.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lulupops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for this lovely review. It has been a great pleasure for the all team to receive you these few days at Riad Al Badia. The all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future, you are home at Riad Al Badia you know this. We all wish you all the best for the New Year coming and thank you again for everything you gave us. Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#27 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#19 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#1 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Property: Riad Al Badia
Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Badia is located in the southern part of the Medina, in the district of Berrima, the district of the storks and the palaces. Riad Al Badia offers six rooms of three different categories, a lounge, a dining room, a patio with refreshing bassin -swimming pool and two terraces. Riad Al Badia offers a Moroccan experience through its hospitality, the opportunity to discover our oriental culture, our traditional and fresh home-made Moroccan cuisine at «La Table Al Badia» but also the traditional Moroccan materials, such as bejmat, zellij or tadelakt used in the decoration of Riad Al Badia and finally, we do provide a daily assistance to let you apprehend Marrakech and Southern of Morocco. Staying at Riad Al Badia is to discover and to experience the genuine Morocco where the "Tailor-Made" service is our daily philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing