We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in a bustling city.”
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
Ranked #20 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An oasis in a bustling city.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Riad Al Badia and their staff made our stay in Marrakech memorable. It's very beautiful and it provided a wonderfully peaceful place for us to return in the evening. In particular, the friendly, able staff made the Riad's hospitality and service perfect. We had dinner there one evening and the food was delicious. We hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was lovely so the superior ones must be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimsky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for your kind review. The all team join me to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It was a pleasure having you these few days, you are home at Riad Al Badia, so hopefully we will be able to see you again soon. Thank you for your enthusiasm and for everything you gave us. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
78
334
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Even before we arrived our expectations were high due to the efficient and polite email exchanges with Laurent when arranging taxi transfers to and from the airport and our first evening meal at the Riad.
On arrival at the Riad we were warmly greeted by Laurent at the door, and were introduced to Ahmed and Helen. Throughout the stay the whole team gave a whole new meaning to the phrase "going the extra mile" from an evening stroll (at our leisure) to gain our bearings, to booking restaurants and giving great tips on how to enjoy the whole Marrakech experience.
We enjoyed, dinner at the Riad, mint tea and pastries and the restaurants....Kozybar, Peppenero, Cafe Arabe and Earth Cafe.
This really was a haven to relax and enjoy in, listen to Laurent and his recommendation to play your part in the theatre that is the Medina.
We loved it and really hope you do too. We will return.
A BIG British Thanks to Laurent and Ahmed in particular (Laurent - rest assured we will never change and neither should you). Chris, Dave, Terry and Rozina

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Ladies, dear Gentlemen,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review, Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad Al Badia. We keep a very enthustiastic souvenir of your stay among us. This was a pure delight seeing you discovering our culture, our cooking and playing your roles in our big theater. Thank you for everything you gave us, your extreme kindness, your smiles, our very interesting conversations will remain in memories. So yes I repeat it, do not change a thing, your are all four absolutely fabulous ! Just take good care of all of you and we wish you all the best . we also hope to be able to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Staying in a Riad is a different experience to staying in a hotel, so if you are going to Marrakech I recommend that you stay in a Riad, and if you are looking for a really good Riad, Al Badia is the place to stay. We were there for 3 nights in October and it was absolutely wonderful.

Even though we knew it was a smaller room than others in the Riad, we decided to try a room on the roof terrace. It was lovely.

Laurent, Samira, Hanane, Fatima, Laïla, Lahcen, and Ahmed are the most kind, courteous and extremely helpful team that I have ever found. From the minute you enter the Riad and being offered mint tea and pastries, to Laurent carrying your bags to the taxi waiting to take you to the airport, they want to look after you. Laurant even asked for an email when we got home to make sure we had arrived safely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for such a lovely review. We all would like to thank you from the deepest of our hearts for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It has been a pure delight having you this few days and we keep a very warm souvenir of your stay among us. We all hope to have the pleasure to receive you again in a not too far future and we wish you all the best. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I travelled to Marrakech to loin my wife, who was on a tour taking in all the major centres in Morocco.
Because of work, I only had a short 4 night stay, but this Hotel made it one of the most comfortable and interesting visits that I have experienced.
I do not really like third world travel, the vast inequalities of wealth and living standards stand out to the extent that they affect my stay. What I have to say about Marrakech is that generally speaking, the people are kind, gentle,and tolerant of Tourists, welcoming us with open arms,and not being too "pushy" in their approach to the selling of their local produce.
The hotel was located near the Palace Al Badia, away from the tourist hotel area, which made my stay very interesting and educational as it was the feast of Eid Al-Adha.

The hotel breakfasts were superb, fresh yoghourt, jams, orange juice, coffee etc, all served on the roof terrace in the blazing sunshine-- Fantastic
If you are going to Marrakech, staying in one of the Luxury Tourist Hotels is reminiscent of a Luxury Tenerife Hotel, if that's what you want, OK, but if you really want to see the real Marrakech in luxury, look no further than this Riad

Room Tip: go for the top price rooms, all rooms are good, but give yourself a treat, for not much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duncanmoffatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your kind review. Ahmed and his all team join me to express you our heartfelt gratitude for this stay at Riad Al Badia. This was a nice meeting with you first and then with your wife. All your curiosity for Marrakech, our culture, our way of life, your enthusiasm for the festivity of the Aïd were deeply appreciated. We all would like to thank you for this interest and we all hope to be able to receive you again, with Madam at Riad Al Badia in a not too far future.
Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Excellent service. Excellent hosts. Excellent food. Excellent accommodation. Excellent location.

From booking our restaurant reservations, to drawing directions on a map and walking our bags to pre-booked taxis, the hosts really went out of their way to make this an extra special stay. The riad is in a great location, and whilst not too close to the main square you can walk there in about 15-20mins - with great directions and helpful tips from the Riad Al Badia.

The roof terrace is beautiful and everything about this riad says 'calm' - which is a welcome relief after a hectic day in the medina!

The only criticism is the breakfast - it is exactly the same each day (mainly bread) which can get a bit repetitive if staying for more than a couple of nights but overall a great riad.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the roof terrace - its such a quiet riad you will have the whole terrace to yourselve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_traveel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for your kind review, Ahmed and his all team join me to thank you for this stay at Riad Al Badia. It was a pure delight having you during these 4 days. Your extreme kindness with everyone of us was really appreciated. We all hope to see you again in a not too far future, take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

All the staff are really fantastic they went well over and above to make us comfortable, welcome and make the most of our stay in Marrakesh.

We would highly recommend a stay at Riad Al Badia and definitely try the evening meal, the food is the some of the best you will have in Marrakesh.

Thank you All for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
The all team join me to thank you for this review and for your stay at Riad Al Badia.
We all hope to see you again in a not too far future. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

From the moment we entered the riad the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. On our first morning Ahmed kindly came out with us to point out some landmarks to help us find our way round - invaluable. Having somewhere so peaceful and comfortable to come back to after experiencing the hustle and bustle of the city was wonderful. The food, too, was exceptional. A very tasty breakfast to set us up for the day and there is also the option of having dinner there, which we did twice - delicious home cooked tagines, salads etc. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We had the only suite which was very comfortable with plenty of room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchard1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent O, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you so much for such a lovely review. It has been a pure delight for the all team to have you these few days among us. Samira enjoyed very much making you discover her traditional Moroccan Cuisine where everything is home made with the fresh products of the Market of the day. Ahmed and the all team join me to express you ou heartfelt gratitude and we all hope to receive you again in a not too far future. We wish you all the best for the future and take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 500 in Marrakech
800 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 500 in Marrakech
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 500 in Marrakech
886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#35 of 500 in Marrakech
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Property: Riad Al Badia
Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Badia is located in the southern part of the Medina, in the district of Berrima, the district of the storks and the palaces. Riad Al Badia offers six rooms of three different categories, a lounge, a dining room, a patio with refreshing bassin -swimming pool and two terraces. Riad Al Badia offers a Moroccan experience through its hospitality, the opportunity to discover our oriental culture, our traditional and fresh home-made Moroccan cuisine at «La Table Al Badia» but also the traditional Moroccan materials, such as bejmat, zellij or tadelakt used in the decoration of Riad Al Badia and finally, we do provide a daily assistance to let you apprehend Marrakech and Southern of Morocco. Staying at Riad Al Badia is to discover and to experience the genuine Morocco where the "Tailor-Made" service is our daily philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing