We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Christmas Holidays @ Al Badia”
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Al Badia
Ranked #17 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas Holidays @ Al Badia”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Family holidays at Al Badia where fantastic. Perfect contact, perfect service, perfect organization.It was not so obvious because we where 13 persons between 10 and 70 ! Al Badia organized the Christmas dinner with Moroccan musicians and belly dancers, a trip for all of us to Essaouira, transfers to the airport ...The refinement of the Riad and the service was well above our expectations.The patio is covered and heated in winter. The size of the Riad (6 rooms) is perfect for our family, large enough and intimate at the same time.Very well exposed terrace has a beautiful 360 ° view on the Atlas, Coutoubia ...The service was perfect while being discreet. Moroccan food was varied and delicious, including the gargantuan breakfast.The nearest minaret is far enough away not to be awakened by the Muesin ...Special mention to Laurent, our host, who took care of us like friends. He was part of the success of this great family time!In May we return to Marrakech and did not hesitate to book here again!

Room Tip: 1 room on the patio, 2 on the terrace, 3 at the first floor with 1 suite. All very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenceM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Laurence,
We all thank you from the deepest of our hearts for this lovely review. What else can be added? We were all so privileged to receive you and your all family at Riad Al Badia to celebrate Christmas. Once again I I already said, this was such a delight for us having you at the riad, this was such a nice meeting with fabulous guests, all generations. This is where once again we really appreciate and understand why we decided to operate in the hotel industry. Thank you again for everything you gave us during this few days and we are very looking forward to being in next May to be able to see you both again. We also wish you all the best, full of success, happiness, health for you and your all family during this new year 2013. Take good care of both of you and see you in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
336
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

In the south of the Medina in Berrima, the Riad is a 6 bedroom house in a pleasant building. we were welcomed with sweet mint tea and pastries - ask if you prefer sugarless. Very friendly staff though occasionally oversolicitous. In December the building is rather cold. We had the Turquoise room: queen bed, table & chairs, dreadful painting and fairly plain decor. The shower lacked pressure - and the water wasn't always warm, but a pleasant bathroom overall. The breakfast consisted of pastries, flat bread, juice and yoghurt - all very good but the coffee was only 'catering' standard. The A/C in our room was broken, and the bedrooms were never made up until the afternoon. The worst thing was its position - to be honest I would have given it a 4 star rating if it had been closer to restaurants or Djemaa. The walk to it involved a long walk along a busy trafficked road by palace walls, and then through narrow puddled alleys. Fair enough it is the Medina - but the problem was going out at night and looking for restaurants - they were a good way away. At the end the staff were tremendously helpful carrying our luggage to a taxi which they hired for us at a sensible price. Finally they responded quickly to my email that I had left my Sigg water bottle behind and it was there a week later when I came back to pick it up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
I thank you for this review. I feel a bit frustrated that you mentioned all this points “not bad but...” after leaving. I suppose this is a matter of expectations. We are very focused on service to our guests and would like to provide them with the all information, tips, knowledge in order to insure they do get the best out of Marrakech, such a different place. Most of our guests I choosing riad Al Badia for the reason as it is mentioned by quite some guests in their review, it means that we have a contact with our guests but of course we do not want to be too present, if you felt so, we do apologize as we just wanted to know that everyting was goind well. What we though as you did not mention something special. We are located at about 10 – 12 minutes walk from Jemâa El Fna, at 5 minutes walk from the Ferblantier square by the Badii Palace and Bahia Palace. Of course it is always difficult to give distance as it really depends on how quickly everyone will walk. This indication mentioned on our website and all on line travel agencies is based on a gently walk speed. This is true that your A/C broke during your stay and it has been completely changed and replaced by a new motor and new machine the same day. Technical matters will not always give notice before breaking down, I hope we took action quickly enough and we do apologize again for the inconvenience you suffered with this technical break. I guess the work of finalizing the refurbishment of underground pipes in the street, made by the city of Marrakech participated to the feeling you had of this dusty long walk to restaurants and Jemâa El Fna, it is finishing within the end of January and yes, this is always a bit disturbing but must be done. I remember that you told me that you experienced this yourselves also for 6 weeks in your home street in the UK.
At the end we all would like to say that it was a pleasure for us to receive you at Riad Al Badia, and we would like to thank you for your stay with us. We wish you a very happy new year 2013, full of happiness and health.
Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My daughters and I just stayed at the beautiful Riad Al Badia and I can't say enough good things about Laurent and his staff. We felt completely at home here with immaculate and welcoming rooms, wonderfully delicious breakfasts and support in every activity that we did while in Marrakech. I will return again and again. Thank you so much Laurent for such a memorable stay.

Terry from Santa Barbara, California

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
My dearest,
We all would like to thank you all from the deepest of our hearts for your stay at Riad Al Badia. What a meeting, so emotional, so interesting, I really appreciated our conversations, and we all remember any moment of your stay among us. There again, difficult to find the words that will describe this impacting meeting, it was a pure delight for us and hopefully we will see you again soon. We hope that 2013 will bring you back to the Riad, for leisure or for business, anytime this will be a source of happiness for us to see you again. We wish you all a very successful new year 2013 and thank you again for everything you gave us all.
Take good care of all of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We found this riad through the many good reviews in Trip Advisor. We expected a nice place but they exceeded our expectations. We were greeted with mint tea and small pastries. The staff was very friendly and accommodating with everything. They called our tour guide to ensure his arrival, sat down with us to describe the city and mapped out points of interest. Our room was the junior suite that was quaint, clean and comfortable. Our breaksfast ready for us each morning at the time we asked; the homemade yogurt was fantastic. Upon our departure arranged shuttle service back to the airport (they will also arrange pick up from the airport which we recommend). This is an oasis in Marrakesh. I could go on and on but suffice it to say "we'll be back"!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flynkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Madam,
We all would like to thank you for this lovely review. Ahmed and his all team join me to thank you for your stay at Riad Al Badia. It was a pure delight having you these few days. As you said, “we’ll be back” is enough for us also to understand what you mean, some experiences are over the words, we can just say “whenever”. You are home at Riad Al Badia, you know it and we express you our heartfelt gratitude for this fantastic meeting. We wish that 2013 will bring you back to Marrakech, and that it will be a successful, happy, healthy new year.
Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My sister and I have just spent a week at the fabulous Riad al Badia. During our stay we received exemplary customer service by all the staff. We had high expectations of the riad due to the reviews on this page but the riad managed to exceed these. From relocating our room to the ground floor when I hurt my back to demonstrations on the art of serving Moroccan mint tea, our every need was catered for. After a busy day sightseeing it was a joy to come back to the tranquility of the riad to relax. We cannot thank Laurent and the 2 Ahmeds enough for ensuring our stay in Marrakech was perfect.

Room Tip: We experienced 4 rooms during our stay and we found each to be of a high standard. We slept well in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peeblesjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Ladies,
I deeply apologize for the delay in responding your absolutely charming review. The two Ahmeds and the all team join me to express our heartfelt gratitude for your stay at Riad al Badia, some meetings are over words, this is one of them. It was a pure delight having you “travelling” into the riad from room to room, our conversations will remain and were very appreciated. So thank you again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of receiving you again at Riad Al Badia.
We wish you all the best, lots of health, of happiness and success for this new year 2013.
Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Finally a trip advisor review that can be trusted!

Stayed in a fair share of places in both marrakech and the coastal towns, all offering different experiences- your riad is a lovely place for us to spend our final evening in morrocco. Attentive staff, clean, well presented. Excellent service- thank you for your time!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K85az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Madam,
We all thank you very much for your lovely review that went straight to our hearts. We felt really privileged that you choose Riad Al Badia for your last night in Morocco and we are so glad that you enjoyed it. It was a short stay, this is true, but we keep a charming souvenir of your stay with us. Your lovely couple remain in memories. So once again thank you for this privilege you gave us and we wish you a very happy new year 2013. Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here in October and was not disappointed. We found it a little difficult to find at first, but paid a local boy to walk us to the door. It is quite easy to get lost in the Medina, but that was the most fun!

Once we walked through the door, we were given a warm welcome by Laurent and taken up to the terrace for some mint tea. We were given a map of the city and shown key points of interest around the city. Our room was on the ground floor next to reception and was very nicely decorated. The rooms were equipped with air conditioning and a safe, and the bathroom was very clean. It was nice to sit and dip your feet in the plunge pool in the central courtyard.

We enjoyed some wine on the terrace at night, and breakfast again on the roof in the morning. Breakfast consisted of yoghurt, orange juice, mint tea and traditional Moroccan pastries.

Laurent was very helpful in filling out our departure cards for the airport and the staff were very friendly.

Overall, we would highly recommend here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAlBadiaMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Al Badia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Madam,
We all would like to thank you for your kind review, it was a real pleasure having you this few days at the riad. Once again, thank you for your extreme kindness with everyone of us, your smiles remain in memories . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad and Marrakech. Once again, for any future travelers , to make things easier at Riad Al Badia, as at 98% of Riads or hotels in the Medina, I can not recomment enough that guests send the hotel or the riad a short mail in order to get the directions to come or to organize a driver to take you right to the door of the Riad. Our streets are very easy but so differents, arriving it can seem to be very difficult when it is not at all.
Otherwise, as you experienced it you will always have kids by the Mosquee of Berrima to take you to the Riad…
Once again we all thank you so much for all you gave us and we wish you all the best for this new year 2013.
Take good care of both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 499 in Marrakech
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 499 in Marrakech
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Property: Riad Al Badia
Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Badia is located in the southern part of the Medina, in the district of Berrima, the district of the storks and the palaces. Riad Al Badia offers six rooms of three different categories, a lounge, a dining room, a patio with refreshing bassin -swimming pool and two terraces. Riad Al Badia offers a Moroccan experience through its hospitality, the opportunity to discover our oriental culture, our traditional and fresh home-made Moroccan cuisine at «La Table Al Badia» but also the traditional Moroccan materials, such as bejmat, zellij or tadelakt used in the decoration of Riad Al Badia and finally, we do provide a daily assistance to let you apprehend Marrakech and Southern of Morocco. Staying at Riad Al Badia is to discover and to experience the genuine Morocco where the "Tailor-Made" service is our daily philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing