We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What a lovely welcome to Morocco!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Badia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Badia to your Saves list
Riad Al Badia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a lovely welcome to Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The intimate Riad Al Badia in Marrakech was the perfect welcome to Morocco. The owner and staff are above and beyond helpful. Our rooms were beautifully decorated, very clean and had the most comfortable beds of any hotel on our trip. The riad is very quiet and tranquil, and has a lovely view over the city from its rooftop where we were served a delicious breakfast. We very much appreciated the time the staff took on our first evening to escort us to a (very good) local restaurant booked for dinner, rather than just leaving us to wander about in the dark and get lost! The Riad is well located and an easy walk to main square and market.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheZanzibarChest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    23
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
290
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hospitality shown by Laurent, Ahmed and all the staff at the Riad Al Badia was truly amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and Laurent gave us the confidence to make the most of our stay in Marrakech. Our room was lovely, the food was excellent and the Riad beautifully decorated to create a calm and relaxing atmosphere. We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at this delightful Riad in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

If you've read the previous reviews, you will have understood by now that Laurent and his team are amazing - but it's worth repeating. The Riad itself is lovely, a real oasis in the hustle bustle of the Medina. the time and trouble that Laurent takes to make sure that you get your bearings, find the amazing palaces, tombs, parks and other fabulous sites really made our visit. We were only in Marakech for 5 days, but with his help and guidance, we certainly made the most of it. Dine at least once in the restaurant - Semia's (I hope I have spelled that correctly) food is amazing ,and she is really generous with her recipes (we've tried the courgette salad already). Don't stay anywhere else in Marrakech!
Adam and Heather - Stayed December 2011

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heather f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Our stay at Riad Al Badia was a highlight of our trip. It is well-located on the edge of the medina. As others have said, Laurent and his staff really go out of their way to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Laurent was infinitely helpful with everything from directions to restaurant recommendations. The Riad itself is beautifully decorated and a welcome oasis from the chaos that is Marrakech. We stayed in the standard category room which is located on the third floor terrace. The room offered plenty of space and we felt quite comfortable there. I can only imagine the suites are spectacular. We were particularly touched by the night watch person, Ahmed. His command is the English language is still developing but despite this, every night when we came home after quickly opening the door for us, he went out of his way to talk to us about our day and our experiences.

There are many excellently reviewed Riads in Marrakech. Believe me, I read almost all of them before booking here. That said, should I return to Marrakech in the future, I would definitely look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderluster94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay, the staff were all very, very helpful. The room was lovely. A real gem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Laurent and his team are the warmest hosts I've encountered in a long while. Rooms are clean and you're in the heart of the Medina (location-wise excellent). But what takes this Riad from good to great is the service. The staff, esp Laurent, go out of their way to help you. Honest and warm.
I read about his hospitality before deciding and it's only right I recommend on forward.
It may only equal the best Riads in the Medina but surpasses them when it comes to service. Laurent went out of his way on several occasions to make it just that little bit better.
No brainer. And I'm quite picky.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arundhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I have been lucky enough to travel to many amazing places however this is the first time I have reviewed a hotel on trip advisor. I am not a fan of Trip Advisor however I did use it when looking into where I should stay in Marrakech as I was finding it a real minefield and struggling with all of the options, so I hope this will help others who are in the same situation.

The Riad Al Badia completely made our stay and from the moment we stepped into the oasis of the Riad we were made to feel very special. We arrived late in the evening and from the outset Laurent the manager made sure we were comfortable and in the morning spent the best part of an hour walking us over the map of Marrakech, helping us figure out what we needed to see and do in the time we had. Then to our amazement, on our 1st foray out of the Riad, Laurent and Yusuf walked with us until we were comfortable with our surroundings and made sure we could find our way back to the Riad.

The Riad Itself is lovely. I did not look in any other Riads but I can't think of a better example of a Moroccan Riad. The rooms were extremely comfortable, clean and decorated in beautiful Moroccan styles and colours. The breakfasts were fantastic, everything being homemade , including the best yogurt I have ever tasted..seriously good.

We believed the Location was brilliant. It is a 10 minuet (easy) walk to the Main Square but you are in a quieter area, which is just what we needed after days getting lost in the souks.

It was however the service of this Riad that made our stay so special. Nothing was to much and no question lay unanswered. When we asked for restaurant recommendations we were not just offered the more expensive options closer to the Riad but also some fantastic local options which turned out to be fantastic.

This Riad was a treat for me and my wife but I have to say that it is one of those few places that is absolutely worth every penny.

Room Tip: Rooms on the terrace are smaller (but you pay less)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Skymon_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#23 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Badia

Property: Riad Al Badia
Address: 135 Derb Ahl Souss | Berrima, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Badia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Badia is located in the southern part of the Medina, in the district of Berrima, the district of the storks and the palaces. Riad Al Badia offers six rooms of three different categories, a lounge, a dining room, a patio with refreshing bassin -swimming pool and two terraces. Riad Al Badia offers a Moroccan experience through its hospitality, the opportunity to discover our oriental culture, our traditional and fresh home-made Moroccan cuisine at «La Table Al Badia» but also the traditional Moroccan materials, such as bejmat, zellij or tadelakt used in the decoration of Riad Al Badia and finally, we do provide a daily assistance to let you apprehend Marrakech and Southern of Morocco. Staying at Riad Al Badia is to discover and to experience the genuine Morocco where the "Tailor-Made" service is our daily philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Riad Al Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Badia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing