We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well located but not so clean Ryad”
Review of Ryad Laarouss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ryad Laarouss
Ranked #915 of 1,193 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Ryad is well located at a walking distance from Jamaa Al fena in the medina's ryad laarous district. The main problem with the ryad is cleanness, our sheets weren't so clean and I was seriously attached by insects bites the first night, until we asked from proper cleaning for the room and changing all the drapes (the experience was a little better the second night). The staff is very helpful and friendly and accepted the criticism.

Room Tip: The rooms with a street view are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eimannosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laarouss, Manager at Ryad Laarouss, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Sorry so much to our guest for all these problems. I care for managing better and try to make these events not repeating again at Ryad Laârouss. In Morocco insect is a big problem. All the bedrooms are treated against insect regularly. About the sheets we want to fix this other problem with the staff if this fault can be found out. But we ask to our guest next time for complaining to the Manager directly about so serious problem once at the Riad not after coming back home, in the way the manager could help usefully during the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 320 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Ryad is overall really nice, clean and confortable if you have to spend some days in Marrakech. We paid for 3 night/3 people around 120€ with taxes and breakfast included. There is a little swimming pool inside and anotherone really small outside in the terrace where you can take the sun.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo_7518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at Ryad Laarouss for one week in June 2013.

STAFF - Yousef and the staff are very helpful, they can book any excursions/trips for you and help with advice and getting around. We went to a waterfall - Cascade D'Ouzoud and a famous town (can't remember the name), also quad biking and a spa (the spa is 'part' of the hotel but is located round the corner - also can't remember the name). The spa is amazing, similar prices to London but quality is much better.

LOCATION - The big square (where all the food stalls/markets are) is about a 15 minute walk away, so not too far. Location is ideal.

HOTEL AND FACILITIES - The hotel is split into 2 parts - part 1 is where the main reception, dining area, small indoor pool with open roof, cold jacuzzi, larger seating and larger sunbathing area are, in addition to some rooms. Part 2 is across the road and has rooms, a tiny sunbathing area and small seating area, I think the majority of rooms were in part 2.

I didn't see anyone using the indoor pool whilst I was there, maybe because it was situated right near the dining area.

The hotel was very clean - no complaints there, however they did not clean our room during our stay only changed the towels daily.

BREAKFAST - Breakfast was a selection of cakes, crepes, toast every morning. Tea, coffee, orange juice and Moroccan tea were also served. Would have been nice to have some more options e.g. eggs, maybe even some fruit. Most days I just had fresh squeezed orange juice for breakfast due to lack of variety.

Overall I was very pleased with the hotel for the price I payed. Excellent value for money - 4/5 overall

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PancakesAndProsecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night and as soon as we entered the Riad were impressed with the design. I wouldn't call it very authentic but the rooms and lounge were furnished in one black-beige style. The best place in the Riad is a terrace where you can relax, see the lights of Marrakech and listen to the sounds of it. We really enjoyed a small buffet style breakfast with different pancakes and breads. Few minuses- when you take a shower pay attention at the water level as draining is bad and we almost have flooded the bathroom. We have found a cockroach on the floor in the morning, probably it came out during the night when the lights were turned off. We were not not surprised as we are aware of a cockroach problem in Morocco but it was a bit unpleasant.
Finally the Riad is not far from Jemaa el Fna (about 10-15 minutes) but if you are getting to Riad on your own remember that the whole street is named Ryad Larouss and for us it was very confusing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatrise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Ryad: The Ryad is located in the northern medina. It took about 15 minutes by foot to the Jemaa el Fna. The Ryad has a shuttle servic to the Jemaa el Fna and the Airport. The prices are absolutely ok. We payed 40 DH to the Jemaa el Fna and 100 to the Airport (for 2 People)

We stayed three times during a week in morokko in the Ryad Laarouss. The reason why we always came back to this ryad is the really friendly and helpful personell and the comfortable rooms which are clean. The Food, which is cooked "fresh" in the clean looking kitchen is good, the spaghetties were exellent. Overall, you cant make a wrong decision with this Ryad.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in Marrakech 5 days all together, with only first 2 booked at Laarouss, but we immedeatelly decided to cancel the other booking and extend the stay there. The ryad is beautifull, with extremely charming styled furniture, very kind and helpful staff. You can book various trips from the reception with very good prices... All together highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uros Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the ryad after having stayed at two other riads on previous nights. Ryad larrouss is poised distinctively along the main street, which made it "easy to locate". We were impressed by the comfy terrace that provides a pleasant view over the busy streets. But shocked us was our discovery of unclean linen over our quilts, with spots of substances that proved them potentially unwashed & unchanged. Though we got them changed immediately, this left us paranoid and we ended up not using the "new" covers at all. The inadequate capacity of the heating system, which left us with no hot water to shower at night also caused us much disappointment. This especially since we had "higher hopes", having paid more for this riad than the others before. Moreover, we were told to wait 5-10 minutes for it to come on but...nothing. I think we let the water run for at least 20 minutes, waiting for the hot water (which never came). A terrible waste.

As compared to other smaller/"more personal" riads, ryad larrouss comes across as more commercially managed. This also proved so as breakfast here is served in a ready-made buffet style, in contrast to one-on-one order & serving. Nonetheless, we acknowledge and good customer service and helpful attitudes that the staff exhibited throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elllykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#58 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#204 of 500 in Marrakech
231 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#270 of 500 in Marrakech
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#84 of 500 in Marrakech
564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Laarouss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Laarouss

Address: 46 Angle Derb El Gueza Et Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #915 of 1,193 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $37 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Laarouss 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ryad Laarouss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Laarouss Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing