We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent location with good service, only minor drawbacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Balkisse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Balkisse
Ranked #372 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location with good service, only minor drawbacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed in Riad Balkisse for a week in January. When we arrived, we were greeted by Abdel, the manager who is very friendly. Our room is a triple room on the first floor. The room is good size but lacking of light presumably to really experience the Moroccan way of life. Location is very good, just a stone throw from Rue Bab Agnaou which is as lively as Djemaa El Fna itself. Breakfast is plenty but after a week of the same, you'll be craving for a bit of change. The girls serving breakfast are excellent but due to lack of space, sometime you have to take turns having breakfast. One drawbacks is that the internet signal is not as strong in the rooms and while we were there, the free wifi was locked a couple of times that we have to ask for password/unlock. Apart from that, I have no other complaints.Overall, services are excellent and the location is marvellous.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keysersozei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    61
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
83
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Abdel Idel... is the best!!!!
riad BALKISSE.... is a stunning place to stay in!!!!
the Riad was beauitfully presented, it was so very private, and Abdel always made us feel special. it was my 30th birthday and i had family and friends with me. we arrived late and was welcomed regardless of the time, Abdel ordered us food and presented the food to us and made us feel like ROYALTY!!! loved it. i have never been to a hotel/riad and felt like royatly!!! a birthday cake, belly dancer, live music, everything was organised by him at the local restaurant, it was an amazing night to remember... i couldnt have asked for a better night. oh how can i forget that he also organised hammans for us, henna painting for us, gave us girfts, and was just an awesome friendly person, a very good assesst to the riad.
the stay at the Riad was excellent, nothing bad to say... a clean, spacious, place. its a HOME ABROAD!

i would seriously recommend this place to stay if you are going out there for a stort stay to a long stay!!! and we (my friends and i) are making plans to go out there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zahra24980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oirschot, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

This hotel is nearby the famous square! It's a beautiful riad in maroc style. On the terace you have a nice vieuw of Marrakech.
Abdel is very helpful and a nice guy. He can also explain a lot of the maroc culture. :)
We enjoyed the stay! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBroekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

we spent a great weekend in this Riad!! its location is perfect since it is in the city center where you find all interesting sites to visit. the rooms were clean, air conditionning and good service. all in all, i recommand this riad for those who want to have a great moroccan housing experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristelle006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Riad Chalymar
Le Riad Chalymar
#181 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#152 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#259 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#268 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#40 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Adriana
Riad Adriana
#36 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Balkisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Balkisse

Property: Riad Balkisse
Address: 4 Derb Charij | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Balkisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Riad Balkisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing