We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at Riad Balkisse”
Review of Riad Balkisse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Balkisse
Ranked #348 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our stay in Riad Balkisse was a pleasant one.

Foad was really helpful and insightful. When we arrived, he gave us a map and shared with us places we should visit. He also helped to arrange for excursions and ensured our requirements were met.

The staff here is really hospitable, friendly and kind. They took time asking how our day went and spent time getting to know us.

Breakfast is served at the terrace daily and what a treat you will get! The breakfast menu changes every day and it was quite a spread too! The most memorable part of my stay has got to be the quiet and tranquil mornings having breakfast at the terrace with only the cheerful chirps of the birds interrupting your thoughts- definitely nothing to complain about!It is also a good time to meet and get to know fellow travellers from all over the world.

Wifi works pretty well too. The room is clean and the dim lighting only serve to enhance the ambient of the whole place, if not Marrakech itself. The interior of the riad is really fantastic. Be amazed by the decor, the stucco and plaster work and the open air terrace.

Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shabana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 205 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

My review will be based on Riad Chalymar. I was supposed to stay in Riad Balkisse but upon arriving, Foad the manager told me that there was something wrong with the water pipe in the room. So they had me transferred to another Riad - Riad Chalymar - owned by the same owner who owns Riad Balkisse, at no additional cost.

Riad Chalymar was, in my opinion, as good as, or if not better, than Riad Balkisse. Breakfast were the same everyday, with very slight variations, but good to keep you going in the morning. Service staff, Mohamed the manager and his assistant Youseff were excellent!

Location was very good too. It was in a central location, just a 5 minutes walk away to Jemaa El Fna. Will definitely go back there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Syahir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay of more than a week at Riad Balkisse. The location was excellent; a short walk to everything yet away from the noise. Our room was fairly small without much space for our bags, but besides the bed we had a chair, a small table and a wardrobe. There was little natural light available, as our colored-glass window faced the courtyard. The overhead lighting was quite dim. The bed was firm, which appeals to some but not to me. I found it painful. Wifi wasn't terribly fast but always worked in the room. Breakfast was served promptly upstairs on the pleasant rooftop terrace. It was mostly breads and pancakes, with one source of protein added daily - yoghurt, an egg or a small triangle of cheese. Orange juice was fresh squeezed and coffee and black tea were available in pots. The staff were always friendly. For the most part, it was quiet and we heard nothing from the outside and little from the staff or other guests. Excursions were offered as soon as we arrived but we checked outside prices before committing and found them to be much cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chixcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Foad was an excellent host and was so welcoming, as was everyone at the riad. He went out of his way to make us as comfortable as possible. The riad is in a great central location to explore the medina. All of the main sites were within an easy walking distance. There are a lot of restaurants nearby. Breakfast on the terrace every morning was a treat! We had dinner upon arrival, and it was quite nice. They had wine and beer available for purchase as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank llguynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

If I had a Guesthouse/Riad, FOAD would be my manager. The Riad comes recommended and does not disappoint. The staff, Rita and Hafida are gracious and helpful. It is well positioned close to the Souq within walking distance as is the bus/taxi rank and many other areas. The Rooms are comfortable apart from a few minor defects which we mentioned to Foad as well as the owner who was visiting from France. We would most definited recommend Riad Balkisse to anyone looking for slightly above average accommodation and would not miss an opportunity to stay there again.
Ruth & Maureen

Room Tip: Rooms on the first and second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We've just returned from a week in Marrakech, staying the entire time at the Riad Balkisse. We chose this modest guest house for our stay because of its location and affordable price. It is, in our experience, above "budget" accommodations. There were a number of minor deferred maintenance items that did not adversely effect our stay, but keep us from rating it excellent. In its favor were value for the price, excellent location, comfortable accommodations and an outstanding staff all around. Fouad, the manager, made sure that all our needs were addressed as well as provided guidance and recommendations about our adventures in Marrakech. Ritta made sure that we had a lovely breakfast each day before we began our wandering and, upon our return, Hafida had set our room right. The property is a 5 minute walk from the Jamaa El Fna, less than half an hour from all the other major sight-seeing spots in the old city, and about the same distance to the heart of the modern Gueliz business district.
We would stay there again without hesitation and can recommend this riad as a great spot in its price range.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor may have windows to the outside, whereas first floor rooms open on the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjnbandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went for Riad Balkisse for our Marrakech trip because of the good TripAdvisor reviews and great value - and weren't disappointed! Foad was in touch as soon as we booked to arrange an airport transfer, and to find out what food we wanted on arrival. When we arrived we got a great welcome from his really friendly colleague, who brought us tea and breakfast while we sat in the courtyard, drinking in the startling quiet and the beautiful surroundings. (Tip for those who only speak English - Foad and Yusef speak English, but his female colleague spoke only French and Arabic, so it might be an idea to brush up on a few French phrases!) It's a bit of a cliché to talk about Marrakech riads as being oases of calm, but the contrast whenever we walked indoors was remarkable - it's in a fantastic location, only 5 minutes from the chaos of Jemaa el Fna, but utterly peaceful within the shelter of the riad. We enjoyed breakfast in the sunshine every morning on the roof terrace, fending off inquisitive songbirds while eating homemade pancakes and crumpets. Our room was cozy, with a beautifully-tiled ensuite bathroom. The riad also arranged a couple of amazing day trips, one to Essaouira and one to the Ourika falls, which only cost EUR35 and EUR 25 each.
The only potential disadvantage was the fact that we couldn't get the Wifi to work while we were there - but we didn't really miss it, and for anything really urgent there's a laptop for guests' use in the TV room.
For anyone looking for a welcoming place to stay in an ideal location, I'd definitely recommend Riad Balkisse.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank small_faraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Riad Chalymar
Le Riad Chalymar
#189 of 502 in Marrakech
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#59 of 502 in Marrakech
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Dollar Des Sables
Riad Dollar Des Sables
#210 of 502 in Marrakech
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Benbrahim
Dar Benbrahim
#128 of 1,170 in Marrakech
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Balkisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Balkisse

Address: 4 Derb Charij | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $47 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Balkisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Balkisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing