We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best and friendliest yet”
Review of Riad Balkisse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Balkisse
Ranked #332 of 1,144 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best and friendliest yet”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This charming and more modern feeling Riad was the perfect end to a trip to Morocco and the best of the Riads we stayed in. The owner/staff were friendly and understood the needs of the traveller better than many that focus instead on lavish decor and ambience and then have little substance to them. Honest information about Marrakech, local insights, help if needed and decent coffee in a riad - at last! The only downside was the rather poor shower in our room, but a minor issue in what was a lovely stay and a great location for exploring Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeworlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    70
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
93
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Like all Riads in Marrakech, Balkisse is situated in one of the tiniest ally ways about 5min walk from Jeema El Fna. So really, this makes it an ideal location if you want to stay out in the square till late at night. Surprisingly being so close to the square, the riad offers tranquillity in its maze like ally way.

The Riad has a very pleasent feel, very light, clean & comfortable. The owners is also very polite and lovely to speak to, both very adequate in English. The rooms itself was averaged size incomparison to other Riads i have stayed in. Very Nice traditional decorations but wouldn't say it has any wow factors. The room docoration isnt without its mini flaws...drills holes left uncovered, shower curtain not fitted in the correct place (so its useless), lights didnt work until 15mins of maintenence, aircon failure which led to a change of rooms. Despite all this, Balkisse will sort everything out without fuss, hesitation or extra cost...i.e when my aircon failed (when i first arrived and NOT during the night) they changed my room from a single to a triple.
Breakfast is nothing special, when you have stayed in Marrakech for a week, every Riad will pretty much give you the same deal, bread, bread and more bread.

As newly established owners, service is always with a smile! However, one thing I would suggest to the owner is to get an extra pair of hands. She is very good at what she does but when there are a few thing running simultaneously, service can be a bit slow.

All in all, the location of this Riad, the price you pay and the quality you get is nothing shy of a thumbs up from me.

How to get there:
From Jeema El Fna walk down Rue Prince Moulay Abdellah (or Rue Bab Agnaou), you should see Hotel Tazi on your left. Turn into this road (Riad Moukha) then it as simple as right, left, right...then straight through the ally way until you come across number 4 on your right.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Walnut_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

stayed here with my sister-in-law and daughter 20 years, and can't wait to return.
Andrea, her husband Adil and staff were very attentive even when we had a problem with sink not emptying in our room it was repaired same day. Adil was very informative regarding places we wanted to visit and arranged a guide for a couple of hours. The room was very clean and breakfast substantial which could be taken in riad or on roof terrace which was lovely.
The riad was in an excellent location for everywhere we wanted to see and would definetely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melvaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My wife and I, as well as our college-age daughter studying in Morocco, loved this riad. Andrea Courtney, her husband, and staff made us feel right at home. Very clean room and common areas with plenty of space for us and all our luggage. The interior decor was classic Moroccan. Wonderful breakfast, even if we slept in. Had our choice of eating on the roof top terrace or inside. Can't miss on either choice. The riad is located within walking distance of everything we wanted to visit. Finally, we can't thank Andrea enough for contacting us after we returned to the U.S. about her finding a lost item. Our son picked it up a month later while also staying at Riad Balkisse.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed in Riad Balkisse for a week in January. When we arrived, we were greeted by Abdel, the manager who is very friendly. Our room is a triple room on the first floor. The room is good size but lacking of light presumably to really experience the Moroccan way of life. Location is very good, just a stone throw from Rue Bab Agnaou which is as lively as Djemaa El Fna itself. Breakfast is plenty but after a week of the same, you'll be craving for a bit of change. The girls serving breakfast are excellent but due to lack of space, sometime you have to take turns having breakfast. One drawbacks is that the internet signal is not as strong in the rooms and while we were there, the free wifi was locked a couple of times that we have to ask for password/unlock. Apart from that, I have no other complaints.Overall, services are excellent and the location is marvellous.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keysersozei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Abdel Idel... is the best!!!!
riad BALKISSE.... is a stunning place to stay in!!!!
the Riad was beauitfully presented, it was so very private, and Abdel always made us feel special. it was my 30th birthday and i had family and friends with me. we arrived late and was welcomed regardless of the time, Abdel ordered us food and presented the food to us and made us feel like ROYALTY!!! loved it. i have never been to a hotel/riad and felt like royatly!!! a birthday cake, belly dancer, live music, everything was organised by him at the local restaurant, it was an amazing night to remember... i couldnt have asked for a better night. oh how can i forget that he also organised hammans for us, henna painting for us, gave us girfts, and was just an awesome friendly person, a very good assesst to the riad.
the stay at the Riad was excellent, nothing bad to say... a clean, spacious, place. its a HOME ABROAD!

i would seriously recommend this place to stay if you are going out there for a stort stay to a long stay!!! and we (my friends and i) are making plans to go out there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zahra24980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oirschot, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This hotel is nearby the famous square! It's a beautiful riad in maroc style. On the terace you have a nice vieuw of Marrakech.
Abdel is very helpful and a nice guy. He can also explain a lot of the maroc culture. :)
We enjoyed the stay! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBroekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Riad Chalymar
Le Riad Chalymar
#199 of 499 in Marrakech
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#245 of 499 in Marrakech
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#214 of 499 in Marrakech
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Amiris
Riad Amiris
#311 of 1,144 in Marrakech
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Choumissa
Dar Choumissa
#697 of 1,144 in Marrakech
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Samarine
Riad Samarine
#222 of 1,144 in Marrakech
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Balkisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Balkisse

Property: Riad Balkisse
Address: 4 Derb Charij | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 1,144 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Balkisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Balkisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing