We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Robbed on the last day!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Heritage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Heritage
Ranked #1,001 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Robbed on the last day!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I had planned to give this place a great review. The staff were extremely friendly during our 4 nights stay and the room was lovely of a bit small. The food they prepared for us on the last day was fantastic and we got to chill out by the pool. However, just as we were leaving for the airport we noticed some cash had been removed (around 200Euro) as well as some items such as a cheap bracelet, newly bought deodorant (I know!!! Very weird!) and upon unpacking when I got home two of my nice clothing items had been removed out of my closed suitcase!!! Very disappointed especially as I was planning on coming back. The owner was definitely acting shady when we said goodbye. I admit that we probably were too trusting by the last day but they made us feel so comfortable. During the week all our valuables were left in the safe. But on the last day we left our packed suitcases in the room and locked the door and left for about an hour before returning to leave for the airport. Seems like they waited until the last moment when they knew there was not much we could do about it as we had to rush to the airport. Also, not a nice feeling to think they rummaged through our suitcases like that and then to steal such ridiculous items like clothing and deidarant!!! I am a seasoned traveller but even I was surprised by this audacity after them putting in such an effort during our stay. Di not recommend anyone stating here! Such behaviour cannot be supported and they must realize that their reputation is worth more than some cash and items of low value being stolen!!! Lesson learnt!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zulajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We really enjoyed this nice Riad with its very friendly and funny staff, its small but refreshing pool, the nice terrace with its view on the park and the greatly decorated rooms.
The dinner we had (Lemon chicken Tajine) was delicious. Since the Riad is not placed in the middle of the Medina and not to near to "the place" (about 10min walk) it is really calm during night time and in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael72Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this place. In general, the riad is extremely clean, and the service is very good. It's in the Old Medina, so a lot of Marrakech's attractions are within walking distance. The rooftop is a really nice place to relax and take breakfast, and the beds at night are like clouds. I personally did not like the movie theme at all- it was like being in a Disney World hotel. If you're big into movies, I expect you will love it, because the rooms are beautifully done. However, if you're looking for a traditionally decorated Moroccan hotel, this is not the place for you to stay.

My major problem was with nighttime. First of all, since it's in the Medina, the area is surrounded by tons of deserted alleyways and winding small side streets. That's how anywhere in the Medina is- not the fault of the the riad's at all, but a feature of the neighborhood you should be aware of. If you don't do nighttime wandering, then this isn't an issue you need to be worried about.

The other major issue was being able to get into the riad late at night. We were in Marrakech both to explore the historical sites, and to enjoy the nightlife. The 1st night we went out and got back around 4am, we were unable to get back into the riad for a full hour. There's no 24-hour person stationed at the door, so they give you a number to call to be let in. Unfortunately for us, whoever was supposed to answer the phone fell asleep. We called repeatedly, and it took an entire hour of waiting outside in the cold to be let in. When someone finally came (past 5am), they were extremely apologetic, and we do understand these things happen. However- it happened AGAIN the next night, at 3am!! Again, it took an entire hour of nonstop calling and knocking to alert someone we were waiting outside. Nowhere on the website does it say there is a curfew, and given a lack of curfew (this isn't a hostel!) I should be able to get back to my room at any time.

The owner was away during my stay, and I know things weren't running as smoothly as they could have been. Since we were planning to do more nights out, we thought it was best to switch our stay to a regular hotel to avoid any issues getting in. The owner was gracious about letting us cancel, which I appreciated.

If you're planning a low key or family visit and enjoy a decidedly non-Moroccan theme, this is a wonderful riad. If you're looking for something a bit more traditional and plan to have some late nights, I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKNYC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed in the Godfather suite and in the James Bond suite. Both very nice! The interior is impressive! So many details! Staff amazingly helpful and friendly! The hotel is situated in a quiet area overlooking the park and in walking distance to Djema el Fna etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judithpudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This riad is really good value. Very nicely decorated with a lot of detailes and items related to filmstars from the 1950s. Clean and friendly and located not far from both Jamaa El Fnaa ang Guilez.

Room Tip: The Goodfather-room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frode M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elblag, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My stay there was a real pleasure. Interior design is really great and makes a very good impression. I stayed at the Godfather suite and as I am a big fan of that movie I must say it was a fantastic experience. I have no complains what so ever. I recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: If you like action/drama movies pick the Godfather or James Bond suite - it's great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janusz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Fantastic ... from the initial welcome through to the last day, our stay here was superb, our hosts and their staff could not do enough to ensure that we had a brilliant time. The rooms are great, the central courtyard lovely and the roof terrace wonderful. Located about 15 minutes walk from the square where the night market is held and also the souks, you will not be at a loss for things to do and see. We can also recommend a day trip to Ourika to see the waterfalls and have lunch watching the cascades. Don't pass up on the opportunity to sit in the early evening in the central courtyard with a bottle of red wine and chat with your hosts - its really friendly and really informative

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilliRedWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#145 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#150 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#99 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#53 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Heritage

Property: Riad Heritage
Address: Derb Sidi Mbarek 139, Sidi Mimoun | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,001 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Riad Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing