We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,nice roof terrace” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Kahana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad La Kahana
Ranked #910 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
n ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location,nice roof terrace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This riad is about a six minute walk from the medina,down a very nice side alley.nothing to fear,the defensive exterior opens out to a welcoming interior. We arrived early,about 8.30, and were shown to some seats by a lady who appeared to be a chambermaid. We spoke our poor French to her but didnt know what was happening. Another lady lay sleeping on the couch beside us,under a blanket. Eventually we said we would leave our bags and come back later in the day when the room would be ready. The sleeping lady mumbled tat was ok.it turned out that this was the lady of the riad.we felt we could have been given a better welcome and having the manageress sleeping at the side of the dining room was a bit odd. The same thing happened the next morning too. Apart from that,the room and en suite was fine,clean,nicely decorated.breakfast was basic,coffee and bread but sufficient to start th day

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hutchNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in a peacful location yet only a few mins walk from the main market square. Clean and cosy, lovely rooms en-suite, pleasent roof terrace, traditional building nicely furnished, friendly hosts. Perfect in my view, ideal base from which to explore all the areas of interest the city has to offer. I will return one day and happily recomend Riad La Kahana to anyone looking for a morel traditional moroccan experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

have just returned from 4 nights staying at this riad, the location is really central, only 10 minutes from the bustling jemaa el fna. the rooms were always clean, one evening we were entertained with some excellent music and dancing which was such great fun. but the best thing of all were the hosts who went out of their way to make us feel at home and really welcomed us, i will definitely be staying here again, thanks for everything

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H-Ridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baselgas, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A very nice place to be with friendly people in a clean envirement. A good shower and a lovely roof terrace. Everyone in the Riad is very helpful. The famous Fna place ins very near. It's a very quiet Riad. There is a clima/heater unit in every room. If you visit Marrakech this is the Riad you need to be in. I can recommend it 100%!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Balz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonbie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A small, secluded riad in the heart of the city, an easy stroll from the square and souks. Very comfortable, friendly and helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending La Kahana to anyone looking for a base to explore the apparent chaos that is old Marrakech!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This Riad is in a quiet backstreet only 7 min walk from the taxi drop off point from the airport. It is also only a few minutes from the heart of the Medina. All sights can be easily visited from the Riad by foot. Upstairs there is a quiet roof terrace with views of the city. We had two different rooms, both were good with comfortable beds and a good hot shower en-suite. The breakfast area downstairs was nice and light and often there was North African music playing to add atmosphere. Samia looked after us very well and provided mint tea anytime we needed refreshment. She also organised an English speaking guide and took us to a local Hammam for a wonderful scrub and massage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jelleylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just a short walk from Jemaa El Fna square but situated up a small side street you lose all the hustle of the city and are warmly welcomed into a charming, family run riad. We stayed for one night, missed a night while on an excursion, then stayed a further two nights. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, and lovingly decorated with added luxury in the soft furnishings. There is a small roof terrace where you can relax and again it is so peaceful. The family were really friendly and helpful and it was a pleasure spending time there. We had a small hitch on our last day, when the local agent sent a random taxi instead of a prepaid company car. Our hostess walked with us to the pick up point, speaking on her mobile with the taxi driver to locate his position and then paid him (we had used all our Moroccan currency) The main company in England assured us that she was reimbursed the following day, but this lady is a star!

Room Tip: We had the junior suite, very large double bed and comfortable sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Both-like-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#63 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Hcekarram
Riad Hcekarram
#362 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
9.4 mi away
Riad Qodwa
Riad Qodwa
#57 of 248 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Dubai
Riad Dubai
#344 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Palmeras
Las Palmeras
#668 of 1,170 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Kahana

Property: Riad La Kahana
Address: Riad Zitoun Kdim | Derb Jdid no 39, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #910 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad La Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing