We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Saving the best til last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
Ranked #1 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $60
Cuisines: Moroccan, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A five course modern tasting menu with subtle Moroccan influences.
Horley
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Saving the best til last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Once you've sampled more than two Marrakech restaurant tagines they become boring and predicable so we saved MK for a special last Moroccan meal.
The Riad is very impressive and the dining areas varied and delightful. On the rooftop for drinks, canapés, the sunset and views from 7pm before dinner at eight. They handle up to 12 diners and everyone eats at the same time from a set menu with some choices and personal likes/dislikes catered for. Excellent, knowledgable and attentive service throughout.
The chicken pastilla had been really thought about and was much better than the ones we'd been getting earlier in the week and the duck confit main course was tender and memorable.
Although the dinner was an organised affair for the diners, it was well managed and everyone made to feel special.
It was the most expensive meal in Marrakech at 1600 dhms for two with two glasses of wine each - but well worth the experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chriswoodbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,327
    185
    79
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

loved the booths, free wifi and food plus the view as it has a terrace with amazing views, popped in for a snack and well worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leilaferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Superb experience being guided through the creation of delicious Moroccan food from shopping in the market to expert instruction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A wonderful day spent at Maison MK.We were expertly and informatively guided through the street markets, then patiently instructed how to prepare a sumptuous Moroccan meal.All the staff were charming and helpful.A top experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janiekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, meal and service, thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We has seen this restaurant was top rated on Trip Advisor and heard many good things so we decided to book to go here on our first evening in Marrakech. What can I say, everything about the night was perfect, the balcony at sunset was beautiful along with the gorgeous cocktails and canapés we had. Then we went downstairs for our meal and it was five courses of gorgeous food, my boyfriend thought the courses were small but I was truly stuffed! Then we chilled out with shisha and more cocktails until close, the staff are very friendly and always on hand for whatever you need, all in all a perfect restaurant and I would recommend it to anyone. Maybe don't go on your first night in Marrakech though as our all inclusive food was very disappointing in comparison!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I took my girlfriend here for a surprise on 22nd Sept and we both loved our experience here. The food was amazing, the staff very helpful and the Riad itself is beautiful. Food is served at 8pm and we got there for about 7pm and enjoyed a few drinks on the roof terrace. You get an amazing view over the medina and you can watch the sunset. This one night has made us want to go back to Marrakech again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing