We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Gastro MK at Maison MK
Ranked #7 of 886 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $65
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A five course modern tasting menu with subtle Moroccan influences.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The reviews on here are all spot on. Most amazing meal I've ever had. We decided to push the boat out and spend the night in the riad after our meal and it was absolutely the highlight of our holiday, so much so that we decided to stay for another night. Drinks on a beautiful terrace then we were led down to a stunning dining room. Being the first down we had the choice of the dining room, a beautiful private room or a table by the pool. Not being the most romantic of couples we opted for the dining room and I think this was a good choice as the private room and the pool area were stunning but incredibly warm whereas the dining room was air conditioned and very comfortable. Each course was absolutely wonderful and the waiter explained what each dish was. Service was faultless and yes the chef coming out after the meal for feedback may not be to everybody's liking but hell if I could cook like that I'd want to show my face. Absolutely 100% recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,538
    226
    96
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food I've ever had!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The reviews speak for themselves on this restaurant.

Incredible food, incredible staff, incredible experience and at a reasonable price.

Canapes and cocktails (not included in the price) are served on the beautiful terrace, then diners are led down to the ground floor for their dinner. The food was absolutely faultless and without a doubt the best meal I've ever eaten. Staff are attentive and explain the dish to you before you begin. They also wait until everyone is finished until they clear plates or bring in a new course which is nice.

The chef came out after the meal to greet guests and ask for feedback or take questions which was also a really nice touch - it was nice to see the man behind the dishes.

Perfect amount of food as well - 5 small courses. They brought a birthday cake out for one of the other guests which I also thought was a really nice gesture.

After dinner we were able to try a shisha in a lounge area of the restaurant which was a nice experience.

Cannot fault anything in this restaurant and it was the perfect way to spend our final night in Morocco. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adamsk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food. But only worth it if your sick of the local flavors.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The food was impeccable. Worthy of a 5-star restaurant in most major cities around the world. Had it been in NY, they would easily be charging double, and people would be drawn to the restaurant.

However, when in an exotic city like MK, please do yourself a favor first and indulge in the local cuisine. Great Fusion can be found in any major city. AKA, I wish we did a more traditional meal that night because we only had so few nights. But if you're sick of the traditional meals, I can't imagine anything better than this experience. If you can afford it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“outrageously good”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beautiful combination of tastes, inspired by moroccon cuisine but with other influences and made entirely new. An asparagus tart, an haute cuisine pastilla, a basil sorbet with molten chocolate cake. Bites that were memorable even weeks later. Definitely worth the price. Generous service, beautiful setting and no pretension. Nice touch for the chef to come out to say hello to the guests after the meal. Exquisite all around.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Exceptional food, great service”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We enjoyed a great meal at Gastro MK. First canapés and drinks on the roof terrace with a great view, then inside for several tasty courses, rounded off by an excellent dessert. The service was attentive but not intrusive; overall a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andyl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing