We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best food I've ever had!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
Ranked #1 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $59 - $59
Cuisines: Moroccan, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A five course modern tasting menu with subtle Moroccan influences.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The reviews speak for themselves on this restaurant.

Incredible food, incredible staff, incredible experience and at a reasonable price.

Canapes and cocktails (not included in the price) are served on the beautiful terrace, then diners are led down to the ground floor for their dinner. The food was absolutely faultless and without a doubt the best meal I've ever eaten. Staff are attentive and explain the dish to you before you begin. They also wait until everyone is finished until they clear plates or bring in a new course which is nice.

The chef came out after the meal to greet guests and ask for feedback or take questions which was also a really nice touch - it was nice to see the man behind the dishes.

Perfect amount of food as well - 5 small courses. They brought a birthday cake out for one of the other guests which I also thought was a really nice gesture.

After dinner we were able to try a shisha in a lounge area of the restaurant which was a nice experience.

Cannot fault anything in this restaurant and it was the perfect way to spend our final night in Morocco. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adamsk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,418
    202
    84
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food. But only worth it if your sick of the local flavors.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The food was impeccable. Worthy of a 5-star restaurant in most major cities around the world. Had it been in NY, they would easily be charging double, and people would be drawn to the restaurant.

However, when in an exotic city like MK, please do yourself a favor first and indulge in the local cuisine. Great Fusion can be found in any major city. AKA, I wish we did a more traditional meal that night because we only had so few nights. But if you're sick of the traditional meals, I can't imagine anything better than this experience. If you can afford it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“outrageously good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beautiful combination of tastes, inspired by moroccon cuisine but with other influences and made entirely new. An asparagus tart, an haute cuisine pastilla, a basil sorbet with molten chocolate cake. Bites that were memorable even weeks later. Definitely worth the price. Generous service, beautiful setting and no pretension. Nice touch for the chef to come out to say hello to the guests after the meal. Exquisite all around.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Exceptional food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We enjoyed a great meal at Gastro MK. First canapés and drinks on the roof terrace with a great view, then inside for several tasty courses, rounded off by an excellent dessert. The service was attentive but not intrusive; overall a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andyl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in Marakesh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife, god bless her, is a demanding and enthusiastic foodie. The minute we book a vacation, she begins her research: the best restaurants, the best cuisine, the best surroundings. Forget local culture and indigenous customs, her goal is gastronomical heaven: to partake in the best dining experiences a country has to offer.

Based in no small part to the stellar reviews on this site, the two of us were lucky enough to dine at Gastro MK this past June. Simply put, it was our best dining experience in all of Morocco; a perfect combination of local sensibilities and gourmet panache.

The service and atmosphere were likewise excellent, prompting my wife to give the semi-sarcastic pronouncement I know so well: “Ok, that was ‘it’. We can go home now ;-)”

If you’re looking for a premier dining experience in Morocco and Marrakesh, look no further than Gastro MK.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SheldonFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing