We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fusion food in a lovely Riad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
Ranked #1 of 788 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $58
Cuisines: Moroccan, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A five course modern tasting menu with subtle Moroccan influences.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fusion food in a lovely Riad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was really looking forward to our meal at MK and was not disappointed. The dinner started out with aperitifs and appetizers being served on the terrace. Unlike most terraces in marakkech, this was modern and trendy. For dinner, we decided to sit on one of the tables near the pool.

The food was served over multiple courses, each a fusion of flavors. We ended the night with a nightcap and sheesha in the bar!

Great food and ambiance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RadParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,415
    201
    84
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knokke-Heist
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

After having read the positive comments on tripadvisor, we made a reservation to go to this restaurant. Arriving at this riad (and restaurant) we were welcomed and taken up to the roof where they serve you some apetizers and drinks. It was a real nice place to sit in the evening as you can oversee the souks from there. The food was, allthough a bit expensive, of very good quality and sometimes presented in an inspiring way. You should also try some of the more 'local' restaurants where you can have a whole supper for no more than 100 dirham per person. We did and we enjoyed it, but Maison MK plays in another 'division' and definitively was the best restaurant we visited during our stay.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marckh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a superb meal as good as any London restaurant but at 680 MAD a third of the price, service impeccable, menu a great combination of taste in really beautiful surroundings. Be sure to reserve a table well in advance and get there on time for canapés on the terrace at 7.30. Not a difficult Riad to find just a couple of minutes from the square.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyrose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A must go to in Marrakech - always outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We came here for the 2nd time in July 2013 - having enjoyed a superb experience last September. Everything from the setting, to the service, to the amazing food is first class. I booked MK for my wife's 30th birthday, and the restaurant took the time unprompted to look up our previous booking from last year to establish her name, and used this on the complimentary birthday cake at the end of the evening! All of the 6 courses were fantastic and perfectly balanced, while the restaurant setting itself is spectacular. At some point we need to stay in one of the rooms - they also look first class. A must go to if in Marrakech!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Absolutely brilliant experience from start to finish. You can hardly believe it when you leave the street outside and step inside an absolute oasis. The food was beautiful, every single course and we loved drinking the mint tea in the smoking room afterwards. We didn't want to leave and will look to return and stay there next time.

Sitting on the roof terrace with a pre-dinner drink, hearing the call to prayer from the surrounding mosques will be something that stays with us for a long time.

I would highly recommend this place, particularly for a romantic meal for two.

The location isn't TOO bad to find, just follow the directions on MK's website. We decided not to go through the souks to get there and went the other way that the website suggests and that's by far the better way. When you get 'guides' coming up and asking if you want directions to MK, you know you must be close anyway.

Can't wait to return!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rotherham-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing