We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food, great service - a must in Marrakech!”

Gastro MK at Maison MK
Ranked #7 of 870 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $63
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A five course modern tasting menu with subtle Moroccan influences.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, great service - a must in Marrakech!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent a weekend in Marrakech a couple of weeks ago and ate here on one of the nights. We were staying just outside of the city (at Les Cinq Djebellas - a fantastic hotel) and decided to venture into the Medina for a nice meal. We booked the night before, but i think we were quite lucky to get a table at such short notice.

It wasnt easy to find but a local showed us (for a small fee!) and it was a relief to get up to the calm roof terrace and have out pre dinner drinks as the sun started to set. The canapes were delicious. After drinks and canapes we were taken back downstairs (after being shown one of the hotels bedrooms, which looked lovely) to our table. We chose to sit near the small pool in the centre of the riad as it was beautifully lit with Moroccan lamps. The only downside was that this area was not airconditioned so was quite hot, but there is an airconditioned part to the restaurant which might be more comfortable on hot evenings.

The food was brilliant, by far the best i have had in Marrakech. We also thought that it was good value - canapes and 5 courses for around £60.

After dinner we had drinks with some of the other diners on the roof terrace again and everyone else seemed to have enjoyed their meal.

I would definitely go back here next time i am in Marrakech.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An oasis”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We took the opportunity to visit the restaurant during our stay in Marrakech. With it being the top rated restaurant within the city, and us liking our food, it was a must.
From booking the table to leaving the restaurant the service was impeccable.
Get there for 7ish and you cam enjoy the sunset with a cold drink and some lovely canapés.
It's nice as they don't cram too may people in, numbers are limited which make the service all the more.
The menu was great, a choice of 3 mains, meat, fish or vegetarian to suit all tastes. We both chose the duck, and were really pleased with the dish, nicely cooked, hot which is always a challenge with shredded duck, and really flavoursome. Everything we were served had such great flavours.
We made a real evening of it and finished with a night cap back on the roof top.
Drinks were not too badly priced, food you are paying for the quality.
This place is a must if you are in Marrakech. We were tempted to go back a second night but they were fully booked unfortunately!
The Uk should take a look at this restaurant, it has put my faith back in eating out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was restaurant was reviewed & recommended in the Daily Telegraph. So as it was my husbands birthday & we were staying in Marrakech within the old city we telephoned to book a table. We were not disappointed, it was a fantastic evening starting with drinks, nibbles & pre-starter on the terrace before we were lead downstairs to our table. The food was beautifully presented looked fantastic & tasted delicious, the server explained every dish as it was put in front of us. We also had a really lovely Morrocan wine with our meal which I can highly recommend too! We will certainly book again on our next trip, now that we know where it is!(We did go on a route march the day before to find the restaurant as it is a little out of the way & not that easy to find)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank weekends_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“No genuine atmosphere. Overpriced for what it actually offers.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked here because of its position of Trip advisor. £63 plus cost of drinks for a dinner which is down to a fine art.

You are met and taken upstairs to roof terrace. You buy your drinks and then after half and hour you go down to eat the set menu. During drinks upstairs you choose the main course out of four options. The rest is like it or leave it. The food was good, well presented, well cooked. What was lacking was real atmosphere. If you go to a rooftop cafe/ bar you get much more from Marrakesh. This is Marrakesh without the essence of what makes Marrakesh special. It was like being in a Jamie Oliver restaurant. Too much confidence that what they are offering is really special. It is just ok. Not awful but not really that authentic of special. A good evening but nothing more and with a bit of a spirit of adventure you could spend less and get more by eating elsewhere. Marrakesh is amazing, this isn't Marrakesh, it is like eating out in ''London''.

Visited June 2013
Thank spaggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_at_maisonMK, Owner at Gastro MK at Maison MK, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Spaggia. Thanks for taking time to put up a review for gastro mk. I just wanted to say that I was sorry that you only felt that you had an “average” evening with us, as that is what 3 stars indicates. Obviously we are always aiming for 5 stars so a 3 star review is quite a long way short of that for us. However, several of your comments makes me feel you didn’t know what to expect, which is a little surprising, as we go to great lengths to point that out, and that you were expecting something completely different to what we offer – so in that respect I’m actually quite relieved you had an average time as we must have had to go some great lengths to get you up to 3 stars.

I don’t like to be pedantic, but it is important to comment on some of your points, for the benefit of you & also other users of Tripadvisor. An important note for anybody reading also, if you are booking indirectly (typically via your hotel) please offer them your email address, any special dietary requirements and a contact mobile number so that we can prepare and guide you. We email your hotel if we don’t have these details, but most hotel receptions don’t pass on the details for us so its really best to book directly.

Cost – it is 650 dirhams for the 5 course tasting menu including canapés & coffee. That is £50.20 at todays exchange rate (aug2013), not £63. This is in line with the other Moroccan tasting menu restaurants in Marrakech such as Tobsil, Yacout, etc. But it is considerably less than the other fine dining restaurants such as La Mamounia, Amanjena, Royal Mansour. So most clients feel that the dinners are fairly priced (and we do send all guests a sample menu & also the price before they book). It is nice that you found the food good, well presented, and well cooked , thank-you for mentioning it.

You mention that we have dinner “down to a fine art” and I think that is a fair comment – thank-you, as this indeed is a compliment in Marrakech! We have a small kitchen & staff & we only take a maximum of 14 covers each evening. Our staff are dedicated, and passionate and chosen for their warm heart and good intentions. Our staff hold our guests in such great regard, and they strive to please so much. They have to communicate across many language and cultural barriers and have to have a little confidence to do this sometimes - however it shouldn’t come across as a negative thing and judging it is also so subjective - but we will check this out too. Our intentions are honest and good.

With regard to the food, we have taken a long time (we have been open for 2 years now & have been number one on Tripadvisor for the whole time) to refine the service & the balance of the meal so that we are able to offer the best possible experience to our guests. Yes, we could offer simpler food, less courses, squash in more people, etc, etc but this current arrangement allows us to deliver a great gastronomic dining experience to 14 people every night and in a beautiful atmosphere – most people are coming for a special evening.

At maison mk, our boutique hotel which houses gastro mk, we encourage our guests to go to a real variety of places to eat to experience what Morocco and Marrakech has to offer, in many guises. At gastro mk, we are certainly offering something different and memorable which is probably why we are popular and thank-you for the comment about Jamie Oliver – he made his programme “Jamie does Marrakech’ at maison mk, so I do take it as a compliment – thanks. This backward compliment is in fact why our foodie guests relate to us so well I imagine. Some only want to eat with us and no-one else whilst in Marrakech, and others take in the full experience from the souks to the mountains and back to us to see how we use the Moroccan ingredients in a western way.

I do hope we don’t have false confidence in what we are offering – we ask every client for their feedback on the night, Omar the head chef comes out every night and talks to guests about the food, and we follow up virtually every tripadvisor review that is 3 stars or less with a long, long answer ! We are continually tweaking, changing, & improving what we offer to guests – often based on their feedback (and our own ideas & new experiences).

Any feedback is always gratefully received – we genuinely enjoy responding. I am sorry that you felt that your night was lacking in atmosphere - we know it isn’t and from our guest feedback we are assured - but we do feel from your review that you were looking for a ‘different’ atmosphere. If only you were a maison mk guest and we could have guided you and your expectations throughout your stay to get the most from Marrakech.

Paul (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great cookery course! Lovely people and great food”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am so happy that me and my husband decided to do this fantastic cookery course today. We had so much fun and the food was out of this world good. Visiting the market and the local oven was eye opening and fascinating. The staff could not have been nicer and the road is beautiful. Really worth doing if you are visiting marrakech!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lungitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing