We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A modern interpretation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastro MK at Maison MK

Gastro MK at Maison MK
Ranked #1 of 768 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $62 - $62
Cuisines: Moroccan, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A five course modern tasting menu with subtle Moroccan influences.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A modern interpretation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We decided to try this place after reading the reviews on here and all I can say is we weren't disappointed.

I had been a little concerned when having already booked for the evening someone tried to accost us outside and persuade us to come in for lunch. I'm not sure if this person was an employee or whatever but it's a habit I detest and if I hadn't already booked it would have made me think twice. I feel anywhere of quality has no need to do this and it feels cheap and nasty.

However, when we arrived in the evening any fears were very swiftly knocked aside. It's a modern but very nicely designed and comfortable setting and we were led to the roof terrace for a drink and canapes. This was a great setting and made even more atmospheric when the call to prayer rang out around the city, magical. The canapes were good and interesting.

The rest of the meal (downstairs and inside) was also really really nice. The food is admittedly 'different' to the norm in Marrakech and does feel more like a European interpretation so if authenticity is your thing then it's probably not for you. On the other hand if you want some great service in a place that looks, feels and tastes something along the lines of a one star restaurant in a smart European setting; I think it makes a very nice change of pace from what the rest of your time spent in Marrakech will be like.

We probably spent more than twice as much here as anywhere else on our trip but I still feel it was worth it, as it probably was twice as good. It's the one place we went that i would be 100% certain we would come back to if we were here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,359
    190
    81
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

While the rooftop settings and pool side dining was beautiful I was quite disappointed by the food. While the amuse bouche, the soup and the main course were good the rest was just about average. The food lacked flavor and imagination and seemed a bit confused. The service, however, was fantastic. I don't think that it was terribly expensive, especially compared to London prices but I had food in Marrakech which was far superior in taste for a much lower price point. All in all a pleasant experience but I don't think it deserves to be the no. 1 dining spot in Marrakech.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IIraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_at_maisonMK, Owner at Gastro MK at Maison MK, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi LLRAA – firstly let me say thank-you for doing a review on gastro mk – as you know we always ask for feedback so that we can improve what we do.
I am very happy that you loved the roof & the poolside setting, the service, and also that most of the meal was good for you.
The starter, pre-dessert & desert (which you don’t mention) are generally loved by people dining. When you visited us, the starter was aubergine millefeuille with
Camembert pesto, the pre-desert was spiced sorbet, with juiced mango
and a verbena foam, and the dessert was fig tiramisu with fresh mint ice cream. I eat the entire meal regularly & I wonder what it was about the 3 courses you liked compared to the three that you didn’t like ?
It does sound like you had a generally lovely time, but for us a 3-star review is a long way away from where we want to be. (even a 4 star review is a disappointment to us).
We have continuously been number one on Tripadvisor from one month after we opened (now over 2 years ago) so hopefully all those reviews suggest that we do deserve to be number one. But, we want every guest to feel that they have had a great time & great food, so I am sorry that we only managed to hit ‘pleasant’ for you – we aim to achieve much more than that ! If you would care to give us any more information directly on thèse courses or on what was felt confusing we would be very happy to read through this too

Regards,
Paul
(owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overrated by Tripadvisor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice place, great staff, poor food. The MK team have the ambition of being a destination restaurant, and they get it mostly right, except for the food. It was mediocre from start to finish, and at $75 per head, pretty darn expensive for mediocre.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EsSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_at_maisonMK, Owner at Gastro MK at Maison MK, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Erich – thanks for the review on Tripadvisor although I am slightly surprised that you chose to give us a 2 star review because when I had a look at the feedback you left for us on the night and it said : Food : very good, Service : excellent, Recommend? : Yes , Overall : Excellent.
As you know, we ask every client for feedback and we do depend on honest feedback.– we learn a lot from it & are constantly looking to improve – did something happen between the night you were with us & the time you wrote the review ? I did try to contact you on Tripdavisor to ask for more information, but I have not heard back from you so far.
I am very pleased that you liked the place, and found the staff great, and that we mostly ‘get it right’. You have not given me much to go on – I am not sure why you felt that the food was mediocre – it’s a shame because most clients find the food interesting & creative & the common comment that we receive is that it was the best meal they had in Marrakech.
Before they arrive, we do send people a sample menu, photos of sample food, the pricing, how to book, the timings, and directions – so this generally allows people to know exactly what the food is like & the price, thereby avoiding any surprises. I notice that you also found the other Marrakech meal that you reviewed “expensive” – there is certainly a difference in price between the cheap & cheerful restaurants and the high quality best restaurants in Marrakech, but this is also reflected in the levels of service, the quality of the ingredients, the décor & style of the restaurants, and the skills of the chefs and all the staff involved.
So I am sorry that it was not to your taste, but I am not sure what else I can add, except to say I hope you had a lovely stay in Marrakech.

Regards
Paul
(owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Its ranked 1 and that's where it belongs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife, some friends and I recently went to Gastro MK in Marrakech because it was number 1 on Trip Advisor.

Frankly that's where it belongs.

The food is sensational. It might not have a Michelin Star but who knows why not.

If I was in Marrakech again, I'd go back in a heart beat.

And I am ignoring the service and the view. Both exceptional.

Really this place is second to none in Marrakech.

Try it and you won't regret it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MXKBrisbane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Sucha memorable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I booked MaisonMK for my boyfriends 40th birthday as it came highly recommended to us! Totally out of this world service, atmosphere + food. The waiters really couldn't do enough for us and the building itself is beautiful. Will definitely be going back.......for our honeymoon. Thank you MaisonMK x

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Weekesywatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing