We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb dining experience.”

Gastro MK at Maison MK
Ranked #7 of 886 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $65
Cuisines: European, French, Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A five course modern tasting menu with subtle Moroccan influences.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A superb dining experience.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The cucumber sorbet was amazing. The roof terrace was out of this world. The staff were charming and very attentive. Well done to the staff of this wonderful restaurant. Do not miss this place if you are visiting Marrakech.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmperthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,538
    226
    96
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A TRUE EXPERIENCE TO TREASURE”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This experience was one to cherish. Having been fortunate to experience through our lives many wonderful places to eat, this was one of THE delights of our lives. From the minute we arrived and enjoyed with the charming and delightfully attentive staff, our pre dinner drinks on the roof terrace, to enjoying the most incredible gastronomique delights, served to us in the private room adjacent to the main eating area, by the wonderful Faysal, Abdou and Simo, the romantic evening was the highlight of our weeks visit in Marrakesh. No words to describe the food simpy stuning and all produced by the incredible OMAR who is only 27!!!!!!!!!!!! He undoubtedly ranks with many of Britains finest chefs, and we met him at length at the end of the evening, charming as are all the team there. If you want something truly unique this is the venue and place. We will return when next in Marrakesh without doubt. Thank you Gastro MK for the delights and ambience you showed to us last Tuesday evening 16th October. Dave & Sue Burningham England

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davesueBOURNEMOUTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

It was hard to review this restaurant, as my wife and I had slightly different views.
With canapés on the roof terrace the atmosphere was excellent.
The food was really excellent although a fixed 5 courses, there was a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian for the main course and they easily made adjustments for my wife's gluten free requirements.
The only small concern is the actual eating area. A line of tables in a long narrow room. Which I thought lacked atmosphere and was a bit austere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 58PDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding flavours and service”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited this restaurant to celebrate my husbands birthday and our first anniversary and were not disappointed.

You start off the evening with drinks and canapés on the roof terrace which has a beautiful view and provides a delicious start to the evening.

We had the taster menu which offers a fantastic selection of dishes which have amazing flavours and are each beautifully presented. Unlike some other expensive restaurants who provide tasting menus each course is a suitable size and you're left comfortably full. The cost was also very reasonable as you rarely get such high quality and good service for €55 per person.

Staff were attentive but not intrusive and the chef even makes the effort to visit every table at the end of the night.

Top tips:
If you're celebrating a special occasion why not ask to use the private room which adds an extra hint of romance to your evening.

If you're travelling in the evening I would recommend walking to Maison MK from outside of the main square as the route from the square can lead you down a few dodgy roads which aren't that nice late at night.

I would (and already have done!) recommend this to anyone visiting Marrakech but make sure you book up in advance of your trip as sittings are limited to only 12 people.

Enjoy!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personal touch. Tasty and fresh food. Good value for money. Wonderful staff, polite”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Let The World Know Of This Little Paradise. There was nothing to dislike unless you hate refined western hospitality served on plates cultural embellishments.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 205ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing