We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Omar should be bottled!”

Gastro MK at Maison MK
Ranked #6 of 862 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $62 - $62
Cuisines: Moroccan, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A five course modern tasting menu with subtle Moroccan influences.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Omar should be bottled!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Gastro MK offers a unique experience in Marrakesh. It is within a small riad in the heart of the Medina. The food is world class - a fusion of Morroccon and Western and a nice relief from the classic Morroccon offered by other riads. The setting is very intimate and relaxed. Nothing formal and starchy. Ask to sit in one of the two tables overlooking the small pool. It is magical with the water and lights. The service is outstanding. We did a cooking course with Omar, the chef. He is so dedicated and passionate, yet so humble. We wish him every success. He deserves it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingpolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,533
    225
    95
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect package!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent lots of time flicking through different restaurants reviews before we decided on Gastro MK, and I'm so glad we did. Everything about the experience was first class. I've been lucky enough to eat in various Michelin star restaurants over the last few years, but for all round satisfaction this has to be one of the best places ever. Its a little hard to find, but once you do, the door opens to a little slice of heaven. The Riad itself is beautiful, such a romantic setting, a mixture of contemporary chic with tradition mixed in. We were invited to have a drink on the roof terrace to start where you can enjoy a chilled bottle of wine whilst you watch the sunset, then at 8pm we were taken down to dinner, where we had a fabulous table by the dip pool. Covered in petals and candles, it was lovely.

We were treated to a 5 course menu, all of which was very tasty and stunningly presented. The service was also second to none and the fact that they had only 13 guests dining made you feel very special.

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone and if i'm lucky enough to go back to MK one day I'd like to stay in the Riad too.

Congrats MK, you ticked every box for my perfect birthday weekend dining experience. Let me know if you decide to open a venue in London, i'll be first in the queue.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erooney23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a last night in Marrakech”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went to MK because of their #1 rating on Tripadvisor and experienced an excellent night out. Great friendly service, exquisite dining experience and nice setting. It's priced above Moroccan standards but it also offers you a 'European/French' quality meal. Would definitely recommend to stop by if you like fine dining.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food. A MUST try”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

When in Marrakech we recommend at least one night to dine at Gastro MK. You would probably need to book in advance because the reputation of this restaurant ensure it gets fully booked. They take bookings from outside so recommend a prior booking. The chef Omar cooks to very high standard and takes great pride in his work. After the meal he came into the dining room to meet the diners which was a nice touch. All five courses were of Michelin star standard, and a picture on the plate. Would definately return again. Very Very good value for money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mickeyandminnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Experience”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I don't get to eat out like this all the time but it was the most amazing experience. The staff were so friendly and attentive. the restaurant/hotel/bar is stunning and the food was the most delicious food I've ever eaten. I will always remember my experience here - tell them if it's your birthday, they make you feel extra special :-)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Loubear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro MK at Maison MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gastro MK at Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing