We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't find anywhere better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Oulhoum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Dar Oulhoum to your Saves list
Riad Dar Oulhoum
8 Db Kori Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You won't find anywhere better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have just returned from a week of luxury at Dar Oulhoum with Guy and Bruno. What can we say? Every detail has been thought through from the varied, delicious and plentiful breakfasts, to the luxurious but traditional bathrooms. Guy is happy to act as tour guide and help you navigate the myriad of winding streets - you are then left to enjoy the day and furnished with a local mobile telephone to use if you get lost trying to find your way home (quite possible!) Knowing someone will come and rescue you if need be not only gives you peace of mind but is another example of the exceptional thoughtfulness of your hosts. The Dar itself is filled with exquisite furniture collected from their travels around the globe. Rooms are extremely comfortable as well as stylish and there are roaring fires to sit by on the chilly winter nights. There is little reason to have dinner anywhere else - they can accommodate anything and the three courses are always delicious. Despite all of these things, the highlight of the holiday still has to be the owners themselves. Never again will you be treated with such kindness (and humour!) Thank you for making our holiday so special and we hope we can return the hospitality in London one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRUNO D, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Oulhoum, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Google Translation
Merci... Thanks... Choukran.

Voilà un avis qui résume Dar Oulhoum. Votre satisfaction est la nôtre.

Vos cadeaux de Noël, et de remerciements, nous ont beaucoup émus..

2013 se termine... des avis se sont pas arrivés.... Néanmoins...Dar Oulhoum,
souhaite à tous ses hôtes une très bonne fête de fin d'année.

B.D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stumbled across this riad when looking for somewhere to book for a 4 night stay in Marrakech. The reviews that have gone before are 100% accurate and gave me a few smiles when looking at them again before posting this.

Both I and my wife had not been abroad (on our own) since our first child was born 12 years ago and so wanted to go somewhere different, but at the same time have some time to relax. Staying at this riad certainly gave us the tranquillity and relaxation during the night and morning, as wandering around the medina during the day is just ‘mad’, but very interesting.

Guy and Bruno had arranged a car to meet us at the airport and the cost is added to your bill at the end, which is great if you arrive with only a few coins in your pocket. They meet you at the drop-off point and take your bags through various alley ways into their riad, where we were presented with a choice of aperitifs.

We had ordered dinner for that night and all I can say is that the food is superb, locally sourced, fresh and perfectly cooked, especially when washed down with a cool bottle of local wine, all very reasonably priced. Although we always had lunch out, we ate at the riad for a further 2 nights and at a local restaurant on the last night, which was a Bruno recommendation and beyond excellent, although nothing too different from the excellent food from the riad.

Bruno and Guy seriously go out of their way to make your stay perfect and the riad cannot be faulted (we are very fussy when paying for accommodation), as it is clean, tidy and has been restored amazingly. Guy knows everyone, as he guided us through the souks on the first morning and delivered us to have a massage, which everyone should experience during their stay!

On the way back we got lost (every day), but if things did ever get really bad Bruno provides you with a mobile phone, although we never used it, instead we just paid the local children a few pence to help us finish the maze and get back to the riad (our sense of direction is hopeless).

In summary, we left after our stay with lots of great memories, as we were looked after by Guy and Bruno in such a professional and friendly way that we felt honoured to have stayed at their place. They do everything in their power to make you have a enjoyable stay, from start to finish, a good example being on the last day when our flight was in the evening, but there was no problem in us keeping the room, coming back at 4pm for a shower, change and final drinks on the roof terrace, before getting the car.

If we were every to go back to Marrakech, we would have no hesitation booking-up to stay with these special and genuine hosts, as they made a significant difference to our break and we cannot thank them enough…

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dtf3271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a brilliant time here. It was delightful and friendly. The house was beautiful and the hosts were so kind and enjoyable. I would return tomorrow if I could and I plan to in the future. Many thanks indeed and see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful house, decorated with exquisite taste in the Morrocan style with interesting African artifacts as well. It is a literal oasis in the bustling lanes of central old Marrakech. This city is daunting for the first time visitor and Guy and Bruno could not have been more hospitable and helpful. They even furnished us with a local mobile telephone and a series of laminated, numbered photos so we could find our way back through the souks! Having personally guided us there in the first place and pointed out some particularly good stalls.

We ate out once but soon worked out that the best Moroccan food was served right there on the roof terrace at Dar Oulhoum and cooked by the in-house chef and served with good local wines. We shall definitely be returning..... never have I stayed anywhere with 3 dozen fresh white roses in the BATHROOM!

Room Tip: Impossible to chose the best room! But I got the biggest with the only bath as opposed to shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookhousesalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a lovely riad, the courtyard and each of the rooms have been beautifully decorated. Guy and Bruno are perfect hosts and went out of their way to look after every part of our visit. We enjoyed the breakfasts on the rooftop terrace and the evening meal was great. This was simply the best place we stayed in Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maranking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 3-night trip to Marrakech - in planning our trip we looked through endless lists of all very attractive looking Riads, many with very good reviews. We settled on Riad Dar Oulhoum and I can honestly say that if I was returning to Marrakech I would book it again without hesitation - I wouldn't even consider an alternative! Everything about our stay at this Riad was perfect - Guy had arranged to meet us on our way from the airport, and on our arrival at the Riad we had drinks with our hosts on the beautiful rooftop terrace. On our first night at the Riad we dined in a cosy living room by an open fire, and the tagine was just divine! After dinner Guy and Bruno took us on a walk through the medina and the souks of Marrakech, introducing us to various points of interest. These hosts sure pay attention to every detail, and this Riad which they have renovated is well and truly a work of art. Our room was just beautiful and so comfortable, and everywhere in the house are interesting artefacts. Breakfast was a highlight - every morning we were spoilt with a variety of homemade yoghurts, pancakes, and freshly squeezed juices. In fact if you do book to stay at Riad Dar Oulhoum I strongly recommend that you dine here - you will find it hard to beat the cuisine they offer (we ate here on our third evening also - couldn't resist!). Everything about our stay here was truly perfect, and very reasonably priced considering the exceptionally high standards - I cannot recommend it highly enough. Thank you Bruno, Guy & Driss for a most memorable stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brambled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We wanted a luxurious getaway in a traditional Riad and we hit the jackpot with Dar OulHoum. Hosts Guy and Bruno have perfected their service. Attention to detail is evident in everything that they have created.
Before we arrived our hosts made sure that we had directions to our meeting point. Guy met us on arrival and guided us to our very convenient car park space. For just a few euros per day we could park the car within the medina and just a short 2 minute walk to the Riad. The car park was easy to find with gps when we returned from trips outside the medina.
The main square is approx 10 minutes walk from the Riad - near enough for a stroll in the evening but far enough away from the noise and hustle.
My wife particularly looked forward to breakfast on the roof terrace. Blue skys, view to the mountains, birds singing - freshly brewed coffee, pancakes, spreads, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, pastries etc. The standard of food at the Riad is top class - way better than you can get in the medina restaurants and excellently served by the Riad staff. We really enjoyed the delicate flavours of the tajines, fresh breads and colourful salads.

This is really a top notch place to stay. For a traditional luxury Riad in the medina don't look any further. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the"India" room. Highly recommended. This is a really spacious airy room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramble186646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#15 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Oulhoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Oulhoum

Address: 8 Db Kori Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Oulhoum tells me a story ... The mid-nineteenth century, under the reign of Sultan Hassan 1st (born Hassan ben Mohammed in 1836 in Fez and died on 7 June 1894 in Tadla), a vizier (high-ranking official, with an adviser or minister from Muslim leaders), chooses a prime location to build this beautiful Riad, near the mausoleum of Sidi Ben Slimane (one of the seven saints of Marrakech latter being the founder of Sufism in Morocco), a sign of power. The proximity of the holy mausoleum, gave him a high respect. In the late nineteenth century, before the French protectorate, this place was that of a Spanish bank and a British legation. During the restoration of the Riad, existing telephone line upon arrival in 2000 of the weapons found at the bottom of the well and an enamelled plaque written in Arabic and Spanish testament to the power of the family that gave its name to the Derb. Subsequently we will tell to the DAR Oulhoum ... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing