We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hideaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hidden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Hidden
Ranked #312 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Beautiful and clean place to stay in the heart of the medina. It really is in the centre of it all, but considering how close it is to the centre, the riad is so quiet and very calm, just what you need after walking around the square all day. We booked the airport shuttle, and as a driver could drive through the square another man takes our luggage and leads us through the hustle and bustle of Jamaa el fna. As we arrived at night, it was very daunting as we were led down the back alleys, but having walked through there every night it is indeed safe. I would recommend booking the airport shuttle, especially arriving at night as we would never have found it on our own.
We initially stayed here from reading all of the reviews and the help that is on hand from Salma. However, we did miss Salma on a few occasions as she comes in for certain periods of each day now since she has moved out. This is a shame as she gives such detailed and useful advice on where, when and how to get to places in and around Marrakech , which only made us wish she was there to help us with our entire trip!
However, her staff Karim and Hassan made our stay more than excellent. They were so very helpful and went out of their way on multiple occasions to do and get things for us.
Each morning breakfast was served by Karim or Hassan on the terrace, delicious! It can be repetitive if you stay there for more than a couple of days but it was filling and served its' purpose.
The rooms are very clean, as are the bathrooms, but the shower on the ground floor did tend to flood the bathroom which was a bit of nuisance at times, particularly if you are sharing the room.
If you are on the ground floor, the rooms are not soundproof so if people are in the courtyard it can be annoying if you are trying to sleep at night.
Riad Hidden, is a beautiful and clean place to stay with an excellent location and the perfect staff and host. I will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level may be better in terms of noise. Shower on the ground floor tends to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This sweet place down a small street in the middle of it all was exactly as we had hoped and more. Lovely courtyard, peaceful and welcoming. Very nicely designed and cared for in a boho chicque kind of way. Our home made breakfast every morning on the roof terrace, the attention to our requests, felt so comforting after long days hassling in the souks! We loved it and would go back any time!

Room Tip: The bathrooms are really cool, but there is one where the shower does flood the floor a bit, didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lferrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great, clean place to stay. The host Salma is very pleasant and helpful, and fluent in English which was helpful when we wanted to book taxis and car rentals. This riad is very very central, it's so quick to get right into the centre, it's literally a couple of alley ways from the main Souk road, very easy to find. Don't let anyone try and show you the way - they will try and take your money.

Gorgeous place with beautiful rooms. Shower was great. The only thing to note is that the room on the ground floor is not exactly sound proofed so we were whispering a lot!
Not a lot of rooms are available here, which keeps it nice and private, it feels very much like a family home, from memory there is a room which you can watch TV/DVDs in. There is/was somewhere upstairs to relax in too.
Lovely views across the medina. Great breakfast foods, Salma serves a proper feast. I do recommend it for an authentic riad experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a gorgous Riad- with only 5 rooms and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of the city - if you want to be close to everything- 5 mins from the souks, 8 mins from the square. You've got the right place. Our room was wonderful- a double room with walk in closet following on to a single room and a good sized bathroom and kitchen. The breakfast is okay - mostly bread-based so can be quite stodgy. The hosts are fantastic - Abdul and Salma. Abdul is so friendly and welcoming, and Salma gives excellent advice and we went on a wonderful excursion she helped advise us (To the atlas mountains).
Beautiful place! Definitely would go back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We just spent 3 full weeks at this beautiful riad located in the heart of the Medina and we felt at home. Salma went beyond what I would call excellent customer service.
The Riad is very clean, great A.C. , nice shower and the Moroccan accents are to die for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Riad HIdden is really great value for money. I stayed there for 4 nights on my own and I felt really safe there as a woman travelling alone. The location is excellent, you can walk to all the different sights in the Medina. Even though I was alone, I had a room with a big king size bed and a single bed. The courtyard is lovely and the whole place felt like a quiet, peaceful oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Medina. Salma is an excellent hostess, very helpful and reliable. The only negative thing was that the entire bathroom got flooded every time I took a shower (but this is just the way Moroccan bathrooms are designed - it's the same in authentic Malaysian bathrooms) and the toilet didn't flush properly. Other than that, I really don't have anything to complain about. I would definitely recommend this place, it has a lot of charm and it is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I had the room between the two yellow chairs on the ground floor facing the courtyard. I loved this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upamiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed two nights in the Hidden. I was put in 2 rooms with a kitchnette even though I was by myself. The first day, I ran out of hot water in the middle of the shower. The shower was part of the bathroom (no separation) and because the drain did not work, one bedroom and the kitchenette were totally flooded. They gave me a different (beautiful) room for the second night but the shower was very poor with virtually no water flow.
The place is pretty and well located. The breakfast was good but the table/chairs a bit unconfortable.
I emailed ahead for help getting to the riad (not easy the first time) and I never got a response.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IleanaM180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Reve d'Or
Riad Reve d'Or
#239 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#306 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#90 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#152 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#250 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hidden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hidden

Property: Riad Hidden
Address: 117, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#161 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#172 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Hidden 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Hidden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Hidden Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing