We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely hospitable house in the hills”
Review of Ourika Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ourika Garden
Ranked #182 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2010

This hotel is situated in the steeply riven Ourika valley, surrounded by Berber villages from which you can hear periodic calls to prayer. The dining is traditional, uncomplicated and yet generally excellent - the couscous was the best we tasted. The Moroccan salad platter was perfectly sufficient for lunch.

We took several short walks (2-3h), guided, at the recommendation of the manager, by Omar, a young man who lives across he road. He speaks very little English and intermediate French but his warm character communicated all that was needed. We visited him at his home which was fascinating - they seemed to be having a lot of fun! Lives are simple in terms of technology but rich in community and landscape. It was interesting to see the women in their domain. Generally your dealings are with men. You'll really miss out of if you don't visit the villages.

The hotel is quite rustic - not a luxury establishment but something more fitting to its mountain environment. We decided the furnishings were "Flintstonesque". The staff were incredibly friendly and concerned for our comfort but also gave plenty of "space". The patron said on our arrival "we are family here, not commercial like Marrakech" and frankly I was sceptical. But in fact it was true! Our bill at the end was exactly correct but they had not charged us for upwards of 20 mint teas, two loads of laundry and even a packed lunch for our trip to Siti Fatma.

The garden is very pleasant as is the pool. In our trips up and down the valley we noticed nowhere nicer. You can pop over the road to buy water and snacks so you don't have to buy everything at hotel prices. We were there in Ramadan and this didn't adversely effect our stay. The hotel is a little rough round the edges but for friendliness, traditional food and mountain location I would highly recommend Ourika Garden.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 109 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

This place is just fabulous getaway hidden among the Ourika Valley. The staff went the extra mile to make our lives easy, the best part though is the food, in my entire life , I haven't had better , fresher vegetables than the ones they serve here. the food experience was just out of this world. The rooms are quite exquisite and exotic, while simple and clean. A small pool was handy for the little ones to jump in. the setting of the rooms is facing huge mountains, which is at the same time daring and relaxing. Now that I think of it, I actually want to go back, and now

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carabasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lupic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank franckMeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank PATRICKLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nissa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
2.5 mi away
Auberge Le Maquis
Auberge Le Maquis
#2 of 3 in Ourika
73 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 3 in Ourika
602 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chez Larbi Ourika
Chez Larbi Ourika
#1 of 9 in Ourika
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
28.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 502 in Marrakech
2,086 reviews
28.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ourika Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ourika Garden

Address: Agbalou | Ourika Valley, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the valley of Ourika, this intimate inn offers breath-taking views, native-styled guest suites which feature, mountain views, fireplaces, sunset setting, soothing sounds of nature. Looking for a romantic weekend or family adventure, this warm guesthouse combine a heavenly experience with modern amenities. Using vegetables grown in our own organic garden, our skilled chef will custom-make delightful meals, along with serenity and warm set up will ensure you can resource yourself. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing