We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bug nightmare”
Review of Riad Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Bahia
Ranked #246 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I spent a traumatic night in this riad - i was attacked by bedbugs - still covered in dozens of uncomfortable bites and my right eye swelled closed due to the severity of the attack. In defence of the manager, he was sympathetic and apologetic. After being contacted by Booking,com, i was given a full refund and the manager drove me to my new riad. The rooms are dark and dingy, the place is a bit grubby and run-down. I'd rather chew glass than return there! Have had to fumigate my suitcase and wash everything that was in it - a total pain. it also put a damper on my holiday as i felt unwell and upset.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bevbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Riad Bahia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 150 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

First time in Marrakech, never been staying in a riad, we didn't know what to expect. From the first time we arrived, the staffs have been very helpful despite the language barrier (Google's translator will come handy for this :-)) . Special mention to Issam,the one who has helped us a lot during our stay.

Overall, a good stay and has made our trip to Marrakech memorable.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Despite the paper signs tacked to the wall asking people to be quiet, we had a sleepless night as the windows to the room are straight onto a small courtyard that is very echoey. The rooms are small but fine. We had no hot water in the morning and were woken up at 730am by someone knocking to clean our room! We asked to be moved for the second night of our stay in Marrakech.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank VictoriaVelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We couldn't resist not writing a review before leaving the hotel so here we are in Sultan suite writing our comments :-) Our first impression from outside the hotel was not that pleasent however going inside made us change our mind at once. The staff were very welcoming, the very clean and spacious and the food at the terrace was exquisite. We had lamb tagine, beef couscous royal, chicken skewers & couscous with vegetables. At this point we would like to thank all the staff involved including Mahdi the Chef de cuisine, the servers Maraym, Rabid, Halim,Hassan, Hhadija, the receptionists & porters. Thank u all for a great short stay! :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraSchembri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautifully decorated interior, air-conditioned rooms, attentive and reliable staff- a very nice place to stay. Superb location (15 minutes to Jemaa el-Fnaa) but removed enough from noise so that the Riad is practically silent most of the time! Breakfast isn't spectacular but provides the necessary energy to tackle the heat outside. There is also a hamam in the riad and lovely Moroccan tea served.
One word of advice: brush up on your French and bring a phrasebook. A couple of the staff do speak English so please don't let that put you off but a little bit of a French goes a long way, both in the riad and the city itself. We had a delightful time here, thank you very much Riad Bahia!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne147Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stay 4 night in this riad and now we love Morocco and his beautiful person.
In the riad we stay like at home ... with a family, a good family. The room are clean and the service very very good and 24h of 24h.
The breakfast is excellent.
See you soon Morocco...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 80Beba80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Having never stayed in a riad before, I wasn't sure what to expect. The reviews were good , so my friend and I thought we'd give it a go!
Issam, is extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are perfectly functional, but feel a bit odd with no windows other than onto the central courtyard. Which I am reliably informed, is normal for a riad!
The breakfast includes lovely fresh orange juice, coffee and croissants.
There is a roof terrace with fabulous views, and a lovely space to relax and soak up the sunshine. All the staff are very friendly with Mohammed and the lovely housekeeper making us very welcome.
The riad is on the edge of the mellah, which means it's about a 15/20-minute walk from the djemma el fna, but we felt it was all the better for it.
Overall, lovely stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celia591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#245 of 502 in Marrakech
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#204 of 502 in Marrakech
294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#193 of 502 in Marrakech
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#119 of 502 in Marrakech
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#239 of 502 in Marrakech
186 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
#275 of 502 in Marrakech
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahia

Address: 66, street Imam ghazali, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $35 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Bahia 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for good value accommodation Riad Bahia is the best choice to spend a memorable vacation and delightful comfort.Its original style and decor that unites Morocco with the Far East takes you back to the warm of oriental nights. Ideally located in Marrakech, at the heart of the old Medina, just 10 minutes on foot from the magical palace of Jamaa el Fena and the Souks and very close to the Museum of Marrakech and near to the old jewish square Mellah, 50 meters from the Bahia Palace, 5 minutes walk far of Saadian tombs. Also just 5 minutes in car to reach golf royal palm ... Its seven spacious rooms are built around a luminous patio. Decorated in a highly Oriental atmosphere.The rooms are extremely proportioned and generously provide all the refinement and prestige that a visitor would expect . Savour the finest Moroccan cuisine experience, the restaurant is informal and excellent, with typical Moroccan dishes cooked and served to perfection. Our SPA is available for good treatments done by courteous and well-trained people. In all our treatments we use fresh natural products and always of excellent quality. Enjoy a moment of pure pleasure in traditionnal moroccan hammam with relaxing massage makes Riad Bahia a piece of paradise on earth. Available to traditional treatments. Finally a sunny terrace a marvellous environment for relaxation offers panoramic views of the Medina's roofs and the famous Atlas Mountains. It's a solarium during the day and a cool heaven at night where you can enjoy a romantic dinner by candles. Riad Bahia is situated in a calm quarter in the Medina, well suited for a stop and an ideal starting point for exploring the city on foot ( just 10 minutes on foot from Jamaa el fena square ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing