We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Went to Sky bar. Didn't stay at hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Renaissance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Renaissance
Ranked #389 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Went to Sky bar. Didn't stay at hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel so can't comment on that. However, we went to the rooftop bar- Sky Bar at the hotel and it was very nice. Very nice view over the city and a very relaxing atmosphere. The service is good-staff are nice and polite and the drinks were nice too- both cocktails and wine. I would definitely recommend Sky Bar.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Honestlyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    120
    57
    38
    49
See reviews for
29
143
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked double room, room was cosy, really good views. Location is excellent. Not very good selection of food, however no problem as rows of restaurants doorstep of hotel. Breakfast again was very good. Fridge was really needed in the heat in the room. Safe in room. So always left all valuable in the same. Staff really helpful, booked us tour guide and transport when we required. Language barrier with a few staff. But got there in the end. Would definitely stay again. Disadvantages really lacks space to sunbathe on roof top and swimming pool with thirsty pigeons not very welcoming!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixie9888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I checked into this hotel 2/3rds into my holiday from a previous poor experience of another hotel (imperial plaza). This modern hotel is very welcoming, chic, offering beverages during check in. The staff are lovely, the food is very nice and the atmosphere is calm. Mostly everyone speaks English, and is very polite. The room was nice, no complaints other than the fact we booked a superior double room - which we was under the impression it was a small suite . Don't book it its the same as a double room, even when we asked to compare rooms they're virtually the same . Other than that lovely hotel with a sky bar, two restaurants and a pool (yes it does unfortunately house pigeons).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Extremely underwhelmed, not sure what was superior about our superior room, this is a basic 3 star at best. Swimming pool was actually a pigeon pool that we would not use, the filter was full off pigeon feathers!!This hotel is very over-rated. Do not recommend the restaurant either, also very over-rated. Disappointing...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skye83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

in total 1200 dh was stolen from my boyfriends suitcase, this was on a course of two days. on the first day we noticed 800 dh missing but thought it was merely our miscalculation, however the next day a further 400 dh went missing after carefully counting the amount before we set out. Me and my boyfriend went to speak to the manager about the issue and instead of him to resolve it he began to shout at us calling us liars... He then went in to say the only people who have had access to our room is the cleaner and us... he stressed the fact that the cleaner has been working there for 35 years so she is trusted.....however the cleaner herself looked nothing more than 35 years herself. Instead of sympathising with us we were shouted and the manager walked away from us whilst doing rude gestures. I have never been so disrespected by a manager of a hotel in this way before.

on top of this, our doors did not look properly, the fridge in the room was hot and did not work and the swimming pool was full off thirsty pigeons.

worst hotel experience ever

Not 4 star standard - staff , decor or food

DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Zeezikora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
america
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very helpful with directions. Breakfast is ok. We walked up to the Medina and to a smaller souk about 6-8 blocks from la renaissance. Walked everywhere. Felt safe although when you take 2 streets behind hotel in either direction there are more indiginous Muslims but you are in Morocco. Enjoy the amazing diversity of cultures, bargaining and some of the happiest people on the planet. Cover your legs and be respectful of the culture. But also remember you're not in Kansas anymore. You are a traveler (dig in) not a tourist at a resort. Fun...fun...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethix4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The bar is open to non-residents, the roof top bar is lovely. Great for cocktails ( 90 Dinah = £7.50). There is a small pool for a quick dip. It's in the newer part of Marrakech a short stroll to the Plaza where there are a few European shops such as Zara and McDonalds. We hired a taxi from our hotel ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie its a set price of 150 Dinah in the evening (£12.50) each way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MotherManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Bab Hotel
Bab Hotel
#315 of 512 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nassim Hotel
Nassim Hotel
#332 of 512 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Sea Le Printemps
Blue Sea Le Printemps
#347 of 512 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#154 of 512 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meriem Hotel
Meriem Hotel
#338 of 512 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fashion
Hotel Fashion
#213 of 512 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Renaissance

Property: Hotel La Renaissance
Address: 89 Angle Bld Zerktouni et Mohamed V Gueliz | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Renaissance 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Renaissance is situated in central Marrakesh. It has a rooftop bar and swimming pool overlooking the fashionable Gueliz district and with views of the Atlas mountains.Each guest room at the Hotel La Renaissance has air conditioning, a private balcony, TV and free Wi-Fi.Guests of the Renaissance can sunbathe on the terrace and relax in the Hammam, which also offers massage treatment.The hotel’s Dahab bar serves a variety of cocktails and offers a live DJ in the evenings.The hotel’s Aqua Pazza restaurant serves fresh Italian cuisine and offers top-floor views over Marrakech. La Renaissance Bresserie offers gourmet, Parisien style cuisine.Hotel Rooms: 45. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing