We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Crystal
Ranked #109 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wonderful oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It is a wonderfully run hotel by a family who really care about the small things, ranging from the wonderful food, the welcome drinks to the fantastic pool, an absolute must on a 50 degree August day.

Great value for money. I would recommend getting them to arrange a pick up from the airport as it could be tricky for a first time visitor to find.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the roof - great view of Marrakech
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    78
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
73
108
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

After 3 days trekking in the High Atlas our group of family and friends (12 of us ) arrived in Marrakech in a minibus withour air-con in temperatures in the mid 40s. We were dropped off outside the gates of the Palais El Bahia and guided/taken by a baggage porter through narrow, smelly streets and alleyways that seemed to get progressively narrower into the mellah where we eventually came to the very low profile door of the Dar Crystal.We entered sweaty, tired andnot a little anxious.but we need not have worried for we were greeted with an oasis of calm, courtesy and total relaxation.Sadly we only spent one night there but the service was impeccable ,the rooms were full of a cool individual character and the dinner and breakfast were of a very high quality.Our younger members thought the pool was 'brilliant' and their rather noisy appreciation of it was greeted with a smile by the wonderful staff who brushed aside our apologies for the youthful exuberance and encouraged us all to consired the Dar Crystal our temporary home.Service of this kind is very rare and management and staff can take a well deserved bow!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterJanetSelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Dear Bruno and all the staff of Dar Crystal,


We have enjoyed our stay in Marrakesh so much. And especially at the Dar Crystal! Thank you for that, because after the great rescue at inmigration where we entered without a visa for my Costa Rican husband, you also offered us a stay through which we felt totally welcome and at home. The beautiful small treasure you hold of peace and serenity in the buzzling city of Marrakesh and the friendly and warm service of the staff was a dream come true. Marrakesh is magical and will hold a special place in our hearts. Thank you for our stay at the riad and please remember to be very welcome in Costa Rica as well.


Special regards from our little son Paulo as well!


Hope to see each other again here or maybe at the Dar Crystal again. I have added some pictures from our experience.


Kind regards,


Noortje, Franklin & Paulo

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleonore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Where to start........ Bruno and Mathilde offer to arrange transport from the airport and I recommend you use it as we would never have found our way there otherwise. Once there Brahim gave us a map and explained a lot about Marrakech....where to go...what to see and often extras not mentioned in the guide book.....all recommendations were great and this crash course helped us to avoid getting lost.

The raid is very peaceful and tastefully decorated although a bit tired in places. The inner courtyard with a welcome cool plunge pool was a nice place to hang out. We stayed in the suite on the roof which was super....views from the rooftop terrace over the city were amazing. Our only negative remark would be that the pictures on the website made the rooftop terrace look much nicer than it actually was. In fact the photos on the hotel website gloss over the tired look of the furnishings. But please don't be put off this raid is certainly charming.

Breakfast was amazing with more than enough food to start your day. We especially liked the Morrocan pancakes and the sweet potato jam. Brahim and Youseff served us on the roof terrace and that was a real treat.

The location is perfect to have a first hand experience of the madness that is Marrakech. You are only a few minutes walk from all of the main sights.

I would definitely stay here again........

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Swissmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

A riad inside the medina is not supposed to be easy to find, and Dar Crystal was no exception. However the welcoming was superb and we almost imediately forgot the caos of the past 30 minutes or so. We really felt in a little paradise!! As my husband is Moroccan and it was my 6th time in Marrakech I didn't expect many more surprises but it was a great experience altogether.
In spite of the pool be really small my children had great fun and were not told off for being splashing water outside it. The roof terrace was something and the full moon was an extra guest for our night. Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rassasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

A beautiful Riad, renovated and decorated with taste and refinement. Big contrast between the outside (entrance is on a narrow pedestrian road) and the cosy inside, which makes one immediately feel good and relaxed, and very soon pampered! The place is beautiful, the bedrooms are all different and can accommodate many different family combinations (we tried!), the roof terrace is a must for sunset drinks or morning breakfast. The Riad is perfectly located, we had so many things to visit in the surroundings (Palais Bahia, Palais El Badii, the souks, Jama El Fnaa..) that we didn't have a chance to try the hotel spa/hammam. But above all, the staff is very helpful and sweet, and the owner/manager, Bruno (we met also his wife Mathilde), is just great. He can organize pretty much anything for you in the hotel and outside, he's diligent, efficient and considerate. Writing this, I realize that the whole place exudes the charm of Mathilde and the warmth of Bruno... nice way to conclude and summarize this review. I miss Dar Crystal already !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnaud A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#123 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#126 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#191 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#85 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#52 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#128 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Crystal

Property: Dar Crystal
Address: Derb El Fath no5 | Es Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Crystal 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar crystal, luxury riad in marrakech dedicated to relaxation & sobriety.this prestigious house is an exclusive cocoon of 8 bedrooms with ensuite bethrooms, pool, hammam, massages room & a fantastic sun-bed terrace, linking contempory look & traditional materials.5 mn walk from souks & palaces (bahia, baldi), 10 mn from jemaa el fna square & 10 mn drive from three golf courts. gorgeous breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Dar Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Crystal Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing